We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service from Samantha”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Bemus Point,NY
1 review
“Excellent service from Samantha”
Reviewed 15 October 2009

Samantha did an excellent job of helping us out on our first visit to Santa Barbara. She took great care of us by giving us a quite room during a very busy Sunday night where there was very loud concerts going on in the area. She directed us to a nice quite place to dine that evening and where to visit the next day.The room was updated recently with a very comfortable bed and decor. It was a great hotel to stay in thanks to Samantha.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichBemusPoint_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    218
    139
    45
    46
See reviews for
100
262
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa MEsa
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2009

If your looking for a nice place to stay in SB, this is it. The Avania is close to the 101 and just around the corner from the wharf. Our little room came with a cute 3rd floor balcony, a very comfortable bed, and plenty of parking. The service was friendly and very accommodating. This was a business trip, but I brought my wife along so we could stay an extra day and do some shopping and visit the SB Zoo. We had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturalJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We had a horrible experience with a neighbooring hotel so I called Avania, spoke to Samantha. She was understanding, gave us a decent rate. Showed us 2 of the rooms (1 with A/C one with out.) We were so surprised. Rooms were big. clean, nice and many of them had a little balcony. The outside of the Motel doesnt look too upscale but never judge a book by it's cover. We had a great time in this spacious hotel room. Pool & hot tub were very clean too. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lik2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After reading the other reviews about the service at this hotel, my girlfriend and I decided to still book a room for labor day weekend. It was an impromptu trip and it was the best rate we could find.

We arrived early and asked to check in early, but there were no rooms available yet. After a quick walk to Stearn's Wharf to browse, we came back and eventually got a room. We stayed one night and it worked for us. We wanted a relaxing weekend and wanted to be close to the beach. It was blocks away from the beach and the incredibly small pool was decent to just splash around so we got plenty of sun.

Overall, decent rooms, service wasn't too bad since I was expecting worse from the other reviews I read, and great location.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdm209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

Travelling the Pacific Coast Highway from San Francisco southbound, stopped here for one night-Originally it was the free Milk and Cookies that got our attention!
Unfortunately, the receptionist on check in, grunted they didn't have any-Only bad point to hotel stay!
Large comfortable rooms with flatscreen tv, could do with new paint job/TLC, but perfectly comfortable and a 5 min walk to the Pier.
Free waffles and coffee for Breakfast eased my girlfriend's disappointment of No cookies and Milk in the evening! Yum!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpnup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We made a mistake and thought our check-in time was earlier than 3pm. No big deal, we'll just come back at 3, right? WRONG! The lady became very argumentative and defensive and her terrible attitude was shocking. She proceeded to demand that we tell her what our name was so that she could have our room ready at 3pm. I was afraid she would sabotage our room or something. What a Psycho. If we could get a refund and go somewhere else, we would. AWKWARD!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5oceans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

los angeles, ca
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2009

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AT ALL

I came to Santa Barbara for my birthday with friends. We decided to book this place because from pictures it looked decent. But when we got there, the manager was psycho. First of all, we got there around 11pm, but had to notify them because they don't have around the clock front desk clerks. When we arrived, the lady was furious with us and really rude (and the place is ugly). From the beginning she was not hospitable at all and made no effort. The rooms are whatevers and the service makes it definitely not worth staying. We wanted to leave that night but had no other options..it was the biggest waste of money. Hotels should be all about making your guests feel comfortable and welcome (I grew up in the Hotel business) and nothing they did was to that extent at all.

DO NOT STAY HERE. i'd rather sleep in my car. or on the ground.

WORST SERVICE. HORRIBLE MANAGEMENT.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizkang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 52 in Santa Barbara
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Castillo Inn at the Beach
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3810 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing