We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Avania is a good budget motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Berkeley, Ca.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“The Avania is a good budget motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2010

i stayed at the Avania for one night. My room was clean and quiet, if slightly oddly decorated in green and brown. It was next to the parking lot, but the rate was only $79, a pittance in Santa Barbara even on a March weeknight.

The Avania is just a few minutes' walk from the train station, where I came in. It's maybe 10 minutes' walk to State St., not an unreasonable distance. There are a number of hotels along Castillo St. where the Avania is located. There's a very good brewpub restaurant--The Brewhouse--nearby on Monticello St., where there's also a small grocery store (not just a convenience store). It's a block and half to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    211
    137
    45
    45
See reviews for
100
253
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2010

When we booked this hotel on Expedia we booked a king room with a balcony. We were given a room without a balcony. Thinking it was a simple mistake we went down to reception to see about another room. The lady at reception started shouting at us at the top of her voice that you can't book a balcony unless you call the hotel directly and it is not included on Expedia bookings, even though it clearly states it is. In the end she gave us a room with a balcony and a staircase directly next to it. So we had to keep the curtains closed the whole time or people going up the staircase could see us in bed! This is a very shabby hotel. The bed was hard. The corridors that connect the rooms are flthy. The pool was tiny and right next to the road. It is too far to walk to the bars and restaurants on State St. Also the beach is a working beach with tractors and fishing boats. There are signs on the beach saying don't go in the water or you may get a bacterial infection. Lots of nice hotels in SB.This is not one of them.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missyantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Shoreline, WA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2010

Great location with clean rooms decorated in an attractive chocolate brown and aqua color scheme. Avania Inn is within walking distance of downtown and restaurants, train station, Stearns Pier and walking path along the beach, brew pubs just around the corner as well as a small grocery store plus ball field right across the street. Sam was very helpful, even more so in person than over the phone. She answered our many questions with excellent recommendations. Avania was by far the best deal for accommodations at a fraction of the cost with all the same amenities as other places we compared. The one suggestion I would make would be to add oatmeal and/or bagels and light cream cheese to the breakfast bar. I would recommend sending away for the Santa Barbara Magazine for Visitors before your 1st visit. It had great maps, winery information, and we discovered Cocoa Loca (chocolate lovers' paradise/Buddha chocolates) plus yummy Backyard Bowls' for oatmeal breakfast, just to name a few highlights.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

Excellent value for the price. Easy walking distance to everything. Nice breakfast buffet with topnotch coffee (I'm a caffeine snob). Dorm refrigerator in room was a pleasant surprise and a great convenience for us extended stayers (7 nights). I believe I tried out all the inroom amenities (hair dryer, coffee maker, fridge) during the week and everything actually worked! (no odd hours calls to the desk for help). I also enjoyed the new turquoise and brown themed decor thruout the establishment.
Can't say enuf good things about the manager, Samantha. She was a great resource on Santa Barbara and just a wonderful human being (even allowing my friends to heat up leftovers in her microwave - shhhhhh!)
As a solo female traveler, I felt comfortable and safe during my stay at the Avania Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabLoverOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

I had the pleasure of staying in Santa Barbara for a training conference for 8 days in February 2010. When I arrived early, my room was ready and it was no problem getting settled right in.

My room accommodations were comfortable and cozy. On the following morning after I arrived, I was surprised with hot breakfast in the lobby (the mini waffles were delightful).

If you ever have an opportunity to visit Santa Barbara for business of pleasure, I would highly recommended the Avania; just ask for Samantha, she is awesome!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamille2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakland county, michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2010

If you want a great bargain, this is it. Within walking distance of the ocean and pier, even into downtown Santa Barbara. Nicely updated, spotlessly clean rooms. Beautiful lobby of modern robin's egg blue and brown color scheme made you want to linger a bit longer at breakfast. Very helpful and friendly staff - Samantha at front desk was great! We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAF52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle,wa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

I had a great stay at the Avania Inn. Very clean rooms and common areas, comfortable beds, great staff.
We like to be able to walk as opposed to driving and this location was perfect for us.
Continental breakfasts are something I usually pass on but the make-your-own waffles, orange juice and coffee made for a good breakfast.
At the front desk you will find the ever helpful Sam. She never steered us wrong, be it directions or recommendations for sights or meals.
When we return to SB we will certainly get a room at the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4thesun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Santa Barbara
Days Inn Santa Barbara
#34 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avania Inn of Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avania Inn of Santa Barbara

Property: Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Address: 128 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101 (Formerly Country Inn by the Sea)
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Avania Inn of Santa Barbara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara Hotel is located 1 block to waterfront. Offering a Free Hot Breakfast buffet, Free Wireless Internet. Rooms offer Pillow Top Premium Beds, Fridge/Microwaves in rooms, coffee makers, iron/ironing boards. On site Heated Pool & Spa. Also on site Redwood Sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avania Inn of Santa Barbara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avania Inn Of Santa Barbara Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Hotel Santa Barbara
Avania Santa Barbara
Country Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing