We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was our first time in Santa Barbara the area was absolutely beautiful and the hotel was in a great location right across the beach and close to downtown - everything where it should be when on vacation.

However, we were very disappointed with the hotel itself. We are Diamond members with Hilton so we try to stay within the Hilton Brand not only because of our status, but because we have always had great experiences with all the Hilton Brands except this particular Hotel. The staff was exceptional - yes exceptional! Whatever we needed we were immediately accommodated.

Upon Arrival we were upgraded, but the upgrade for being a diamond member was not the standard. We were put in a room with a view of the ocean, a King bed, we have three in our party so we had a cot brought in. The room was on ground level in front of the building where we had people looking in our room in the morning and the evening. People letting their dogs alleviate themselves in front of our room and watching us at the same time. Also, we couldn't sleep with the doors open on the balcony because we didn't feel safe because we were next to other guests with no division between us and also on the main road. The gentleman next to us was smoking constantly outside on the balcony so the smoke kept going into our room. We wouldn't have minded if our room wasn't so dark and didn't smell like mold.

The room - All the furnishings were up to par - Hilton standard. As we were entering the building to our room the hallways were dirty and run down. We weren't expecting the Ritz! but they could at least keep up with the maintenance! It had more of a Motel feel than a Hotel feel. Our door was damaged, but functional. A first bad impression and we were hoping it would be better inside. Now the inside. As we walked in the room, it had this old, mold smell to it. The room was very dark with Panel wood walls, sliding glass doors to the balcony that were not very sturdy and worn they were apparently very old. The carpeting was dirty and needed a good cleaning! I didn't want to take my shoes off :| The only issue we didn't have that made it bearable was the furniture it was upgraded. Because of the cleanliness of the hotel, we didn't feel comfortable eating here.

This place just needs some TLC - a diamond in the rough!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geegalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,116
    965
    624
    299
    136
See reviews for
1,011
1,049
88
521
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We had the very basic room - no frills - it was spacious and clean. Close to the pool which was super crowded but still fun. This hotel needs a major remodel - many places, rooms and lobby et al are really run down. But as noted before, we really enjoyed our stay, wish we stayed longer & will be back . The staff were awesome as well!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
301 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Location was great; restaurant was great; check in was so easy; rooms were fantastic...loved the Fess Parker Double Tree in Santa Barbara. Hope to return soon. And did I mention the view? Right across the street from the ocean...wow.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Nice hotel, great linens, comfortable beds. The pool area is inviting and luxurious. All is good until you order in-room dining. One word of advice: don't! Horrible food and service. In fact, don't eat at the hotel. Santa Barbara has great restaurants close by. Grab a coffee and some fruit or a muffin at the lobby Starbucks for breakfast if you know what's good for your wallet, and your tastebuds, sadly. Other than that, we like the hotel, and the fact that they are dog friendly, too! Woof!

Room Tip: "Mountain side rooms" are code for "parking lot and late night loud train". Spen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

We checked in for a Girls Weekend trip and found many others just like us had come to get away from the guys! The front desk was beyond good and upgraded us and gave us a cot to make sure the three of us were comfortable. Close to the famed State Street where shopping is mecca we found lovely little cafes along the promonade as well as fabulous stores. This hotel was ideally suited for exercise as it was right across from the Pacific Ocean. While it wasn't beach weather we actually had rain we took a wine tour that picked us up at the hotel into the Santa Inez Valley and had a great day of wine tasting and picnic lunch as well. All in all this was a great weekend and only about a 2 hour drive from LA.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Calif.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having never stayed at Fess Parker Double Tree, yet have visited SB many times, the hotel is very hard to find off East Cabrillo Street. The Hotel has no signage on Cabrillo, and looks like an office complex from the road. The outside appearance and quality is very nice, yet the rooms are extremely old and in need of a major overhaul. I am a Hilton Honors Gold member and was upgraded to a nicer room, yet for what I paid, was extremely disappointed in the common area hallways (smelled of urine very bad) and my room decor and condition was poor at best. I will not stay at this hotel again unless the rooms are upgraded.

Room Tip: My room was 377. Next to the stairwell where you must exit to get to your car. the urine smell was o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indexbtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.Augustine
Level Contributor
193 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

First the pluses - we stayed for three nights in late March in an oceanfront room. The views are fantastic as they were on our prior visit. The common areas in this hotel are gorgeous. The breakfast, free as we are gold members, was good and in a lovely venue. Free water and cookies is also a plus. The beds are comfy and plenty of pillows.

Minuses - we stayed in the Fuchsia building, which had an awful smell in the hallway as well as in the rooms. The smell was very musty. The rooms are tired with damage to doors as well as peeling wallpaper. The minibar was empty. No robes in the room although they were provided upon request.

Room Tip: Choose an oceanfront room on the second floor so you have more privacy on your balcony. Be sure to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceWSt_Augustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing