We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grandeur”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We chose this hotel because it was farthest from the college up the road. Seeing as we stay there close to halloween, we didn't want to hear any noise or deal with any problems. We upgraded to ocean view with balcony. It was an ocean view however as you can see from some of the photos, there are giant trees and bushes in the way of the "view"! We throughly enjoyed the immense size of the room with the extra large closet and double sized bathroom.Great pool/hotub area! Yes, you pay for parking because it's a secure lot that you need a room key to enter. valet's were awesome and had some great insider recommendations for us. no trains past 10pm. (in response to recent reviews) there are no bikes on premises that you can rent. Front desk recommended a great breakfast spot in town. W

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to ocean view. Not worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaginedImagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the large size of our guestrooms, the pool area and the service from our valet. Regarding the upgrade to ocean view and the bushes in the way of the view...it is quite a coincidence that a tree removal and trimming project has been in the works and started earlier this week. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara, we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    953
    612
    295
    135
See reviews for
995
1,031
88
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

The "Starbucks" concession in the hotel could not even make a chai latte. They also wanted to charge me 30 for breakfast of latte and oatmeal. Way over the top. Considering that did not know hot to make a latte (too sweet and no foam) I have been having them for over 5 years and this was a disgrace.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Run down, allows dogs and smells like it, Carpet is worn out, beds are old, furniture outdated, The only ocean view is for a few rooms, not available. Glasses were dirty looking, blankets had cigarette burns, NO REFRIGERATOR in suites, doors have large gaps allowing all the hall noise at night. Requested a razor and received a uncovered blue throw away with out shaving cream. High cost for parking and no free internet with hitonhonors or free for a $400 per night room. Train with blasting horn runs all hours and is within feet of the property. he is a has been resort. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Gene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are very sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been. There is just no excuse for the substandard service you received when you reuested a razor. We will certainly share this information with our staff in order to improve our service. I do want to apologize for the condition of the guestroom, especially if you requested a room move away from the train and we were not able to accommodate your request, The renovation project currently underway will be completed in January. We hope you will return to experience our remodeled guestrooms. Again, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humble, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

very disappointed: no water in the room; shade did not close. Ants in the room. Had to pay extra for internet access even though I am a Hilton Honors member. The central air/heat did not work. Very stuffy in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Polly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We were very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at our resort and I certainly wish I had known about this while you were here. I assure you, I would have done everything possible to make certain your stay was not only enjoyable but memorable. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara, we hope you will consider returning and give us the opportunity to show you the excellent service we strive so hard to provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

As a 30 year lodging industry executive, I was somewhat surprised how dated and need of renovation this resort is. It has one of the finest locations in Southern California and likley the US. You only have to drive a mile down the road to the 4 Seasons (no I dont work for them) to see what the return on investment can generate. Their product is fresh and inviting, and their Average rate supports it. Frankly, I am shocked Hilton has let this gem tarnish to such degree. THat said, it appears they are doing some cosmmetic room renovation, however it does not look like one would expect something vastly differerent anytime soon

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Wi-Fi should be free in room. As a California native I am familiar with California Cuisine, the food choices @ the conference could have been more varied, and of better quality. The staff however were exceptional and went out of their way for me! They are the best asset!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeannie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was there for a conference and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. I had a bit of a hard time finding my room when i checked in... it was late in the evening and i was tired. The hotel is spread out around a large area with many different buildings, so you better pay attention when they explain where your room is at the reception :)

I was disappointed that there was no wifi other than in the lobby.

Room Tip: some rooms face the pool - so you might want to tell the staff if that's what you want or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing