We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We went to the Fess Parker for a weekend birthday celebration. At all points in our stay, staff members were kind and helpful. The room was beautiful and our patio over-looking the garden was lovely. The grounds are stunning. Room service for dinner and breakfast on the patio restaurant were delicious. The location is, of course, outstanding. Our dog was welcomed. In short, I can't find a single thing with which to find fault. We'll stay here again, to be sure!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,150 - 2,156 of 3,454 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Lobby and grounds were great. However our "newly renovated" room, although was very nice looking, smelled horrible. When we first entered the ground floor of our building we were immediately hit with the smell of public restroom. Upon entering our room on the second floor, the smell of mildew and or mold was overwhelming. So strong it kept me awake at night. I can't believe the staff never notice and yet allowed the room to be rented in that condition. This is a great property and would be an awesome value if the room were cleaned proper;ly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced on your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to make every guests' stay a pleasant one from check-in to departure through quality service and amenities, and we regret this was not your impression. We will use your comments as part of our ongoing service training and hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the quality stay you deserve should you return to our area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Recent four night stay. I have stayed there twice before. A wonderful waterfront, large, sprawling Santa Barbara style hotel! Appears excellent for families, couples, honeymooners or large groups. It is a solid, quiet (mostly) upscale hotel with great walking and easy outdoor access. Parking easy too. Easy check-in and out.

Unfortunately the quiet of our lovely ocean front, ground floor room was disturbed most of one night due to a party in the suite above. In the morning we discovered many cigarette butts scattered over our patio area where they had been tossed from above; one landing on the upholstered chaise. None had been put out before bring tossed over. During night we had to close the patio due to the cigarette smoke. I told the front desk in the morning. They apologized and assured me the guests were leaving that day. Also sent maintenance to tidy up the patio.

I had hoped upon check-out that some gesture of good will would be made considering what had happened. Ocean front rooms are expensive! We even upgraded to a newly renovated room at extra cost. A discount for one night's stay, voucher for future reservation, etc. , just something as small compensation for our rough night, would have been appreciated.

Still, a lovely hotel in all ways. Pleased to see much renovation underway as well as it is ageing a bit. I was disappointed there was no shower cap in bathroom; bath amenities seemed pretty minimal for such an upscale hotel....but adequate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sallyforth_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Definitely not up to Hilton standards. Our reservation was not done right, we did not get the room we wanted, the shower controller was old and worn and hard to use, the food was bland and not at all tasty. I will not go to a Double Tree again, I will stick with a real Hilton next time. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Edward A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

First of all, thank you for your review regarding your past stay at our property. I always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. We do hope you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience, if your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were a bit disappointed since we have stayed at many Double Tree hotels and we were told this was an outstanding property. The rooms were not as clean as we had hoped, there was no microwave although we were told there was (we have children so we needed this). The Gym was closed, although I called to confirm that it would be open. The hot tub jets were not working properly. Overall, just not great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Carin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

This was a three-generation (seven-members) family trip. We had been before, but always in winter which I suppose is off-season for Southern California. Nevertheless, the resort has facilities to compensate. On the down-side, the service can be slow and the kitchen noisy, but the menu is good, the meals are good and the restaurant prices are just a little high. The service throughout is competent and efficient. The rooms are well-kept and the facilities are reasonable, if just a wee bit old-fashioned.

Room Tip: I would always choose a ground-floor room for convenience. Although there is a definite old-fashion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Im a gold hiltonhonor member so I got a nice upgraded room on a winter rate. I was very pleased with the suite, it was very clean and the room was remodeled. Santa Barbara is not known to be modern. However I think there were a few details that needed to be replaced, like the bathroom sink housing. I ordered a few items for room service and it was delivered in less than 10 minutes. I was impressed.

The location is one of thebest in Santa Barbara. This is a great hotel if you can get it at great price. I stayed at the Bacara last night, and I have to say the staff at the Fess outclassed the Bacara by being more attentive.

I thought my stay at the Bacara was going to be special, but the staff at the Fess made it happen instead.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePlumber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#9 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £151 - £433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing