We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family vacation - bring the dog!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great family vacation - bring the dog!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Close to the beach, shops, family-activities and good food, all w/in a mile! Venture further to the Vineyards and it's just magical....who needs Hawaii? The Fess Parker has it all and more, this is a dog-friendly hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Theresa124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,114
    965
    623
    298
    136
See reviews for
1,011
1,048
88
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel was a huge disappointment. We stayed in an ocean view room. Although the ocean was visible, the view was partially obstructed by overgrown vegetation. The room was dated and smelled musty (eau de mold). The bathroom had not been updated in at least 20 or 30 years--door hardware and plumbing handles were loose and falling off. The caulk and grout were dark and peeling. Santa Barbara gets cold at night in the winter, and when we turned on the heat, we were met with a cold blast of air. The mini bar was locked with a key only available at the front desk. When we tried to check out the next day using the hotel video system, it told us we were not registered.

The worst (and scariest) part was the lack of security and lighting at night outside our building. The card-swipe security lock on the front door of our building was disabled, so anyone could walk in off the street. The valet, restaurants, bars, etc. are in the main building. When we went to get our car after dark, the path to the main building was completely dark, presenting a safety hazard and opportunity for criminals. At one point during the evening, we spotted a homeless person urinating in the bushes outside our patio.

Needless to say, we won't be back any time soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
We are so very sorry your stay at our resort was not as enjoyalbe as it should have been and apologize for the frustration you experienced. The comments from our guests are extremely valuable as they give us the chance to take necessary steps to make changes and improvements for our guests. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara,I hope you will contact me direct. I would like to have the opportunity to oversee your reservation and select a guestroom that I know you will enjoy. Again, I sincerely apologize for the unfortunate incidents that occurred during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunny socal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal for a one night get away during the holiday season so we didn't have five star expectations. We were offered an upgrade during check in but the room was not ready. We left our cell number at the desk and the ready call came when we were less than a block away. That was the beginning of the miscommunication by staff.

Although everyone was very friendly, nobody seemed connected. We were never given a cost breakdown at check in, our welcome letter was misplaced until we later asked about fees at the desk and we had to ask for the complimentary items such as bottled water that were included in our package.

The room was large and amazingly clean with an unsurpassed view. There was a very large lanai with dining and lounging furniture. A mIni bar that you don't see to often anymore (BTW good value for he Fess Parker wine in the mini), and a separate tub and shower in the large upgraded bathroom. And the funny thing, a shower curtain in the bath tub that doesn't have a shower.

The room problems came when we realized that the heater didn't work (temps were in the 40's at night) and the phone to report this to the desk staff was also on the fritz. After a stop at the desk on our way to dinner the problem was fixed with a space heater that was sufficient. The desk staff acted as if they didn't know about the heat problem but since we were not the first ones with this problem, I am wondering if it was an issue that they were just skirting.

We were happy with the parking fees. We chose to self park for $20 which was half the price of parking at other beach areas that we frequent. The valets were friendly even though we weren't using their services. The casual restaurant was convenient with good food. The wait staff was amazing, never missing a step with things that we might have needed.

All in all this hotel was still a great deal for the that money we paid. I'm guessing that they might have been filling areas that were being upgraded thus the lack of some ammenties.

So, just three stars for the inconvenience, lack of communication and and a fudging on the condition of the wing that we stayed in. It is still a great hotel with the cleanest rooms and the friendliest staff hands down. We got our monies worth but not the uber great deal that we thought.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank st0ked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Locust Valley, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

This hotel is a huge disappointments. The rooms and bathrooms are completely outdated, my room smells, the air/heat doesn't work they have to bring a space heater, tv remote didn't work, they charge for wifi and valet parking. Horrendous hotel. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank whohorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
I am terribly sorry that your experience at our hotel was disappointing. your feedback is truly appreciated for it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improvie the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action. I would very much like the opportunity to personally apologzie for the inconvenience that you went thru during your stay. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me direct. I would like to have the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The staff is very professional and courteous. The restaurant is very good and the wait staff is prompt and friendly. My room was very comfortable, clean and quiet. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at our resort. I especially enjoyed reading your compliments regarding the service you received from our staff. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back and hope that opprotunity comes up real soon. Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here over Thanksgiving Day weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. We immediately got a room upgrade as a result. The staff was very pleasant especially the valet guy. Great service, food, and location across from the beach!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to relax or shop at nearby State Street. This hotel is also walking distance to the pier and many restaurants.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IlianaB527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garden Grove, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Service was excellent, hotel is clean and the ocean view is unmatched. Very relaxing and provides access to the Santa Barbara Pier. Hotel is close to shopping and restaurants. Location would be good for family reunions and/ or special occasions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Julie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#18 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing