We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-time guest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
DFW, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First-time guest”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Great location, with very friendly staff. Did not have most favorable room location with balcony facing pool area, would have preferred oceanview,otherwise enjoyable stay. Breakfast buffet had fairly good variety of items, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    971
    631
    301
    137
See reviews for
1,015
1,060
89
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Staff were friendly, responsive & helpful. The location is perfect for easy access to beach walks and Santa Barbara. The bathrooms could use updating, at least in our building. Menu well prepared and tasty but a bit limited after 10 days. Although easy walk to local restaurants, so not a problem.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hcfoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We were looking so forward to spending 4 nights at this great resort (at least the way their webpage describes it) ..First of all the good points ..The cookies are very good ! Now for our experience ..first the toilet backed up when flushed (not once but 3 times during our stay) then it took until the third day to get the air conditioning to work ..The bed was just horrible !! The mattress was so old you could not sleep within a foot of the edge or you would roll off !! Ended up sleeping on the couch !! T tops it all off we had a black rental car and when going out for dinner the valet service gave us the wrong car !!!! Got out on the street and realised I was driving a black Lincoln and not our Buick ,,All in all we will not be going back to this hotel !!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whirlpool1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We're sorry to hear about the unfortunate experience you had. As our guest, we want you to have a great stay. The series of missteps mentioned regarding the valet service and maintenance issues are being addressed accordingly. Please accept our sincerest apologies and feel free to contact us if you have any additional comments or concerns. We hope you'll consider giving us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Personnel working at this hotel were great. The room was on the second floor over the gym (first floor) and this was not good early in the morning as I could hear the constant thumping of someone running on the treadmill. Also a light switch did not work, I had to search for all the lamps and turn them on at the lamp. Certainly this was not the greatest room for the cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Byron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in the Bougainvillea building, and our room showed signs of wear. The bathroom door was wooden, had pieces peeling off, and stuck at the top. It was obvious that the bathroom hadn't been updated in a while. The bed was relatively comfortable, though, and we didn't have trouble sleeping. We had an ocean view room on the first floor, which had a great view even though the beach is across the street. I was pleased that we didn't seem to hear much street noise, too. We had breakfast in the Roundhouse restaurant, and it was good. The buffet price is a little steep but includes eggs cooked to order or omelets, which were quite good, and the service was good. Overall, I suppose most of the hotels in Santa Barbara are relatively expensive, but I felt like the Fess Parker wasn't quite as nice as the price suggested. To be fair, though, I assume you are paying for a lot of the resort amenities (the place is huge) that we just didn't use because we were only there for one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeLoudon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

really more like 3.5 stars. Our family stayed in the bougainvillea building - where dogs are allowed - with a mountain view. It really was more like a parking lot view. The room was about the level of a holiday inn - the in-room coffeemaker produced tepid coffee, the rug was worn, the bathroom small and worn as well. Beds were comfortable and if you're not looking for luxury it's fine. I would spend more money for the garden or best yet the beach view - it's worth it.

The grounds were very nice, however, with a nice pool, hot tub, nice foyer, decent breakfast (get the family plan with free internet and breakfasts), and right across the road from the beach and water. Bottom line: A good mid-range choice for a family with a dog, that didn't break the bank.

Room Tip: pick garden or beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 510globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Nice hotel, right on the beach, close to State street and down town. The rooms are nicely appointed, the hotel is dog friendly and the views are great, but make sure you get a room away from the parking lot as Amtrak runs behind the hotel and it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing