We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Surprise, AZ, United States
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The grounds were beautiful, the staff was very helpful. Check in was fast and easy with a very helpful staff member that was so friendly. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Patio of our room was comfortable and the view was great. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
We thank you for selecting our resort for your stay in Santa Barbara and appreciate the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    998
    647
    310
    142
See reviews for
1,047
1,095
91
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Don't park your car near any sprinklers. The room was fine, except for the thin walls and listening to the neighbors, but unfortunately the water spots that were baked into my car hood remind me of Fess Parker Doubletree every day.

I stayed here during the ACDA western division conference February 19-23. When I arrived (and no sprinklers were on), I happened to park near a sprinkler that watered the parking lot instead of the grass. I'd not gone out to the car for 2 days; by then the spots looked 'baked'. I found a good car wash and wax place, but it didn't remove the spots.

The room director back at the hotel sent the security officer out with me to see where I parked; he took pictures and had me fill out a claim form. Since returning home, I've gone to the best car wash/wax place I could find, got the whole works, but still no luck. Its owner said that once it's baked into the paint, there's no getting rid of it. (I'd just gotten a new paint job less than 2 months prior.)

In the meantime, over $160 later, I've since left messages with the hotel room director. He had said to call him if I hadn't heard from anyone. He never returned my calls, and I never heard from their insurance company. At the time, I thought that they would just offer some sort of credit or compensation - a night's stay (at the conference deal, it was quite the savings), the wax job, a dinner - but nothing. He wanted to process the claim with their insurance, where it fell into a 'black hole'. In most cases, I'm sure the customer does go away and the company saves a few bucks by just blowing customers off after a simple "oh, we're sorry"...I suppose it worked...and most of the ratings here are very good, so too bad for those who had bad experiences.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. Hearing from our guests helps us provide the best experience possible. We’re very sorry that the report and claim took so long to process and by now I'm certain you have heard from our manager. I looked into this matter and discvoered that we have refunded you for one night of your stay. I am sorry for the frustration created and that the comfort of your stay was interrupted by the sprinkler issue. The Property Operations team is aware of this situation and will do everything possible to keep this from happening with future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Despite the wonderful staff, we were very disappointed in this "resort" hotel.

The management policy seems to be to take every opportunity to make you feel unwelcome and exploited. Difficulty in entering through the barriers for new visitors at night, $19 parking charge, $12.95 charge for wifi, $9.20 a bottle for water in room etc. The wifi charge is apparently to protect the substantial Hilton income stream from tv pornography; it all feels like a throwback to the 80's.

Maintenance seemed poor; external door still does not latch despite previous reports, strange stain in the middle of our carpet, noxious smell in our room (and throughout Bougainvillea), no hot water in tub of our first room, tv signal poor in our replacement.

There are no real resort facilities except for tennis and the pool, the beach is the far side of a very busy road, and homeless people and beggars abound. We moved to the Santa Barbara hotel and were delighted with the decision.

Room Tip: Avoid Bougainvillea due to awful odour, distance from facilities and poor security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonaire2441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your candid feedback of your stay at our hotel. We are very sorry that we did not meet expectations and we’re actively working with our housekeeping team to focus on cleanliness and comfort throughout our property. We have noted the condition of the TV and bathtub in the rooms you stayed in was substandard. I apologize for the charges you encountered. We try to offer a personalized experience to our guests while keeping costs low. We’ll keep your concerns in mind as we evaluate and refresh options at our property. Thank you again, and we hope you’ll stay with us the next time your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I recently stayed for a week, combining business and pleasure, staying in a room in the Azalea building--which is one story. I can't say enough positive things about my experience. My clean, recently refurbished room had a patio and a beautiful ocean view. The location of the hotel itself makes walking to area attractions very easy. Staff were warm, inviting and responsive to questions.

Others have mentioned noise from the train, which you do hear, but it isn't like it's right next to you. It didn't bother me, but then I hear a train in the distance in my hometown and think of it as "cheerful." The only negative thing I'll mention is the poor quality of the in-room coffee, which basically required me to forage every morning, and my wistful desire for an in-room refrigerator that isn't packed to the gills with mini-bar items I'll never consume.

We would definitely stay here again and it was a wonderful introduction to the Doubletree chain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyhillgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2014

LOVE the staff, friendly staff, going above-and-beyond management (Thank you Alex Yi), great breakfast (ate about 20 croissaunts), and super clean/well maintained rooms as well as property! The location is simply awesome! The location right across the ocean, by the ocean, by the touristic attractions, few miles from Downtown, simply gorgeous and beautiful!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Sediqa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have stayed at Fess Parker many times before. Every time we go, we stay for at least a few days for wine and of course, Santa Barbara itself! The property and the rooms are clean and updated. It is nice to see familiar faces, especially Alex Yi's. He is one of the friendliest and the most courteous manager's on site. Alex had us stay in the Dhalia building and it's at least 1200 square foot suite with an ocean view and a full dining table! Alex made sure that we were satisfied with our room and he personally walked us to our suite! As soon as we arrived at the property, Alex recognized us and offered help. The rooms are dark rustic woods and staff are very friendly. The location of the resort is right by the ocean and walking distance to all major touristic sites, etc. I had my friends from Chicago here to visit and they were very impressed! There is a lot to do in the area and there are also family friendly activities on site to do! It's very nice just walking around the resort enjoying the ocean right across from it. You can rent out bikes and everything else! I will always be returning to Fess Parker :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sediqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort for your stay in Santa Barbara and for the wonderful review.
I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay, the guestroom, the beachside location and the service Alex provided. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Gorgeous hotel and location in Santa Barbara. Staff was very good and the rooms are clean and updated. Lovely design that fits in with the area. I think it is a little expensive as the rate includes nothing. There is coffee in the room but that's it. You pay for parking, coffee in the lobby, breakfast (overpriced go somewhere else), everything.

The beach is pretty from a distance but when you actually go on it there is a what appears to be a sewer or dredge pipe on it that smells and the beach is loaded with seaweed and just looks dirty and not appealing. The walkway is beautiful though and the wharf is about 10 mins walk. Lots to see in the town and the Urban Wine Trail was really cool, as well as the drive up to Santa Ynez.

Would likely stay again. Nice place. If only it were a better value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TropicalTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing