We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was a little surprised at how dated/old my room looked. The rooms was so old that the color on parts of the toilet seat have worn off. The bed was lumpy and felt like it had not been rotated in years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

First, thank you for giving us a high rating even though you were surprised with the guestroom. We certainly wish we would have had the opportunity to offer you another guestroom. The resort is very large with many room types. I am confident we would have found a room that not only met but exceeded your expectations. I am very sorry you were disappointed. If your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara and you would like to give us another chance, please call our reservations team direct and share this information with them. They will take the steps to make sure your next stay is not only enjoyable but memorable. We appreciate your business and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,904 - 1,910 of 3,384 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

In addition to a wonderful pet check in package they provided a complete and wonderful list of dog friendly locations in Santa Barbara. Restaurants and even the botanical gardens yeah! Now on day one there was a strong skunk smell in the common area. By the next day it was gone - so I think someone on a hike accidentally happened on one. Not a big deal. Though yes, they could have better lighting out front. Since it's not fenced the evening after dark walk with the dogs can worry you a bit after seeing the homeless in the area. Value? We were at a conference so we didn't have to pay the base rate - It would be pretty pricey for base + amenities. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkipOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

It is always a pleasure to know how much our guests a nd four legged friends have enjoyed their stay at our pet friendly resort. We thank you for taking the time to share the details with our TripAdvisor community. If your plans include a return visit to Santa Barbara, please be sure to check out our website for special offers or better yet contact us direct. It would be a pleasure to provide you with information regarding times when the very best discounts are available. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Hotel is great, service is great, location is great. The location was great, but there is a bit of a homeless problem in Santa Barbara so be prepared to see 15 guys sleeping in garbage bags in the park and on the beach. Ancillary services like Internet and dining are overpriced. $16 per day Internet. $24 per person for breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Received certificate for 2 night stay from being guests on The Ellen Show. Checked in Friday night, room was warm, a/c seemed to not be working thought nothing of it just wanted to sleep. Come Saturday morning enjoyed the Buffet Breakfast didn't come back to room til after 9pm. Came to a sauna inside room engineer came to inspect read over 88degrees F!! Could not be fixed! No other rooms were available. A/C was broken before we even checked into room! Regardless if we didn't say anything until the second night the a/c was obviously not working since the 1st night of stay. Spoke to manager on duty who was rude and unhelpful. Was told all rooms were booked, told us to leave door/window open, given a box fan, offered to extend stay which was not possible. Went to front desk next morning offered a one night stay to try again. Would really prefer a whole do-over for the weekend and awful customer experience. Driving from LA for just one night isn't worth it. I really expected more from a reputable hotel chain like the Hilton felt like we were treated like second rate customers because we received a certificate for our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Kevin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My stay was very average considering what is otherwise a wonderful location in a beautiful locale. On arrival the room was not as I had booked and no change could be made as the resort was completely booked. The building ("Dahlia") has a musty odor, and the room was very noisy. Specifically, noise from above and next door was very noticeable. Also, train noise which is said to be only during the day was heard in the fairly early morning when most people are sleeping.
On the plus side, the flowers were very nice and the pool nice sized. The pool was a bit cold, but the weather was also a bit too cold for an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Dahlia. Do not stay on the first floor and noise from adjoining rooms also pretty lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyloidbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

We appreciate your compliments regarding our wonderful location, landscaping and swimming pool. However, we are very sorry guests nearby were noisy during your stay. I assure you, if we had not been fully booked our team would have offered to move you to another area of the resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor and giving us the opportunity to review your observations with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel location is great. We paid $399/night to stay at this hotel on 4/11/14. The room smelled like old dirty carpet. We complained to the front desk. They sent a housekeeper to spray the room and she told us that is the smell from the ocean which is of course not true. This is by far the worst smelling room I have ever stayed at. The walls are also thin. We could hear people in the room next to us very clearly late at night and early in the morning - when we need to get some sleep. Kind of disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank TKTRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We appreciate your honest feedback about your stay with us last week. We see that the smell of your room at our hotel was a problem. Your satisfaction is our highest priority, and we’ve shared your comments with our housekeeping team. We will take steps to resolve this situation. We apologize for this and the noise that was disruptive to you. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we hope you’ll give us another chance the next time you travel to the area.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was very excited to come to this venue especially because I was going to be staying in one of the suites. It was a beautiful room and the view was amazing. I was in the Presidential suite and it came with a private balcony. I could open my sliding doors and see, hear and smell the ocean each day. I feel like when you are in a presidential suite, it gives you a great representation of the hotel because this is them at their absolute best. Room service wise, I was very happy. Their response time was prompt. Everyone had great attitudes. I never had to wait for anything. I was even sick one night and when I called the front desk hungry and scared to eat, they came up with a meal of watermelon, chicken broth and sprite. My only issue was that the second night of the stay the fireplace stopped working. When I tried to use the spa tub, I found that did not work either. These were amenities that set this room apart. On a positive note, the man who came to attempt to fix it was very courteous and helpful. In the end, the spa could not be repaired. It was okay--I am more of a shower person and with body spray features, this was a great shower. The weather was also beautiful and so, I was not cold and did not need to use the fireplace, but it could have created some nice ambiance. I did not want to demand a room change since the room was amazing, but if one would have been honeymooning, the defective fireplace and spa tub would have been an issue. It was still an amazing stay and I was sad to leave.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for selecting our resort for your recent visit to Santa Barbara. We appreciate the details you provided and the team will be so pleased to read your very complimentary comments about the service from our staff. I am very sorry you experienced a problem with the fireplace and spa tub and thank you for reporting this while you were here. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,474 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
161 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £152 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing