We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Blue Sands Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pacific Crest Hotel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Inn At East Beach(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Californian(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Harbor View Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,505)
Filter reviews
3,505 results
Traveller rating
1,238
1,065
689
349
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
1,065
689
349
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetocean viewdouble treebreakfast buffetwarm cookiestennis courtsstate streetnice propertybeautiful groundsmain buildingrooms are largenice poolwine tastingroad tripconferencepatiopier
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,017 - 2,022 of 3,505 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Booked a package at this Hilton for my mother & aunt. Hotel room was filthy (dirt crusted on carpets, linens dirty), my mother was appauled. Should have read the reviews on the hotel first. For the $$ they charge, this is unacceptable. Not only did the hotel NOT give my mother what was included in the package (wine, etc.) they also tried to charge her extra for included items (breakfast,etc.). I would never recommend this hotel. Go up the road to the four seasons, they have better ratings and are at the same price point.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
2  Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We apolgize for the problems your mother encountered during her stay at our resort. There is just no excuse for the confusion with the package and the poor condition of the carpet and linens. Your comments have already been shared with our Executive Team and steps will be taken with the appropriate departments. We hope you will reconsider and give us another chance. We would like the opportunity to show yo the high standard of service and product we do strive to provide our guests. Again, please accept our apologies for the problems they experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The Fess Parker hotel website shows a beautiful hotel and grounds. However, the "Mountain View" room should be called the Parking Lot view room with an industrial backdrop. Serenaded by the train several times a night. The tracks parallel the parking lot. Yes, mountains can be seen far off at a distance. The lack of privacy required us to keep the shades drawn since it was a direct view into our room from the parking lot. Definitely a disappointment and I will think twice about a Double Tree Inn in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

I was so disappointed to read your review. As you know, the property is very large with a variety of buildings, views and room types. It is a matter of perception and preference. Many guests request rooms near the parking lot and/or swimming pool... or select a package with an attractive nightly rate. Those rooms are located away from the oceanview or garden view side of the resort. I certainly wish we would have had the opportunity to locate a room in another area of the resort. We hope if your plans include a return trip to Santa Barbara you will reconsider and contact our reservations department. They will be happy to give you detailed description of the room , the location and the view. We appreciate your business and we hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a rather nice one night stay at Fess Parker, arriving late in the evening. We were welcomed by a very friendly young doorman, who not only was super efficient with bringing our bags, but also helpful in giving us tips on local nightlife - he even offered for him and his 'wingman' Glen to join us after they finished their shift, however they didn't show up at the bar! How disappointing. We are sad.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AussieCamaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We appreciate your wonderful compliments about the service you received from our guest service team and for taking the time to review your stay at our resort. It's obvious our team members were delighted to meet you and mentioned they might join you after their shift, I'm sure they either realized afterward or a manger made them aware that this would be against company policy. We hope you understand and look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My family just returned from Santa Barbara and the Fess Parker. The hotel location was perfect -- on the beach, close to State Street shops and restaurants. We had booked a junior suite but at checkin we were upgraded to a presidential suite, which was enormous and had a huge patio overlooking the ocean. WOW! Couldn't have asked for more. Our package included the expansive breakfast buffet and free internet which worked extremely well (some hotels have very spotty service). We rented bikes our first day right near the pool which was very convenient. The staff was very attentive and friendly -- housekeeping responded to our requests quickly and efficiently. We'd go back in a minute!

Room Tip: There are train tracks right behind the hotel so rooms on the ocean side will be the most quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsfisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for selecting our resort for your family vacation and for the fabulous review. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara and the resort!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This "hotel" rated four stars when I booked it. I was expecting a four star hotel and was very disappointed. I had planned to stay for two nights, but checked out after one night. Room is old, furniture shabby. I felt like I was in a cheap motel, not a four star facility. My room was on the second floor, no elevator - very inconvenient. Do not waste your money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with our guestrooms and furniture. The suggestions and feedback from our guests is extremely important and we will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience. Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews