We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our tour of south west USA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a massive hotel all rooms are in single storey blocks spread over acres of well appointed gardens, and swimming pool. A walk across the road and your on the beach, a 15 walk will take you to the famous pier, or the shops. The hotel room and bathroom were well appointed and very clean. We only had a bar snack of clam chowder, in the evening, it was to die for. Breakfast was just as good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for including us in your tour of the South West USA! We are very pleased to know you enjoyed our convenienct location, service and guestrooms. We appreciate your business very much and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,829 - 1,835 of 3,381 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here for one night on our California tour group. Lovely spacious room overlooking the gardens. Clean and well presented. Staff very helpful. We ate in the bar in the evening and had their wonderful chowder. Breakfast was a little pricey but very good. 15 minute walk to the lovely pier and a little longer to the town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank briers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beautiful on the outside some repairs on the bathrooms needed to be done. Wefi on a hotel like this should be free, disapointed in that. I stayed in a hoted the previous night in Palm Springs had a free, not so good, breakface and free WiFi. $89

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I left a very important piece of small luggage and called about a month later and Darren from Security not only found the luggage for me through inventory but made sure he had it in his physical possesion to make sure. He then offered to ship it to me! I am very pleased that it was still there and it was handled very professionally. Kudos to housekeeper who turned it in to Lost and Found! THANK YOU VERY MUCH! p.s. the fresh cookies and water at front desk was a very nice welcome touch to guests!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was working my way up California - San Diego to San Francisco. This is a great location, stayed memorial weekend, so was an expensive rate. The staff are friendly but everything costs extra on top of the expensive rate. Hotel charges for parking and internet etc. The average tasting food it top money.

Arrived at 2.00pm, but no room was available but they offered to ring me on a US cell phone (Why is it Californian Hotels won't call me on my UK phone? - They are an international business dealing with tourists and you can use Skype for a few cents a minute to call internationally!) . Anyway room was available within 20 minutes, it was ordinary, bit dark and has seen better days. I stay at a lot of hotels, so notice tired decor perhaps more than most. Mini bar was locked, I would have thought a fridge for own use at a beach resort would have been useful, even a microwave maybe.

The air con had a mind of its own, would switch off by itself. Turns out it has a sensor that turns it off after an hour(mine was only 10 mins). However, friendly staff arranged for a engineer to call me, he talked me through pushing a few buttons to bypass the sensor so it ran until I turned it off. Not sure what happens on hot nights without the bypass, I guess you have to get up and dance it front of it every hour. I would recommend getting them to bypass it from the start.

However, room does have a patio and patio door, mine overlooked the car park - but at least it was fresh air on a cool evening.

They have a great note in the room about the property being used as a train yard in olden days. They say its a fond reminder when modern trains go by with their whistle blowing. HA HA - I fell out of bed with a start when I heard it, its very loud!! Don't bother going to sleep until after the last train. To be fair you can hear the trains all over the town, so other hotels must be affected.

Now being a holiday weekend you would expect the hotel to have all its restaurants open. In fact only the bar was open Sunday evening. It offers a similar menu to the room service menu. Although oddly, room service offers slightly more choice. I tried to get a pizza in the bar, but this is room service only. Funny the bar seems to be served by a kitchen that requires the food to be walked across the lobby. I assume the same kitchen is doing room service. I guess they enjoy the extra charges for room service. I was refused the pizza at the bar, most hotels will allow you to eat anything from the room service menu anywhere in the hotel.

The next day I went walking and the wharf and town centre are 15 minutes away. They are both lovely and offer many fantastic restaurants - I guess the hotel have given up competing. So my advice, don't eat at the hotel - walk to town or the wharf.

The hotel does have a coin op laundry - great for a family or anyone on a road trip.

The pool area on Sunday was horrid, to busy with lots and lots of very noisy children, not controlled by their parents. I went to the beach which is a few steps across the road and is FAB. The next day the pool was much nicer, although was invaded by one family who were so noisy - parents and children. For these type of guests can I remind you, there is no need to shout all the time, the rest of us are reading, sleeping and relaxing. Children will get over excited by the pool and this is acceptable, but parents discussing who is picking who up next week by shouting across the pool, while a number of other couples and families are sun bathing - really!

So to sum up - For a person who stays at dozens of hotels each year, this is just OK. The fantastic Santa Barbara is worthy of better from Hilton

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartynSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This overpriced hotel only has one thing going, the beach. It seems like in Santa Barbara they feel like they can charge a lot, and only deliver mediocre service. We left a charger in the room, brand new, had not even paid for it. We called and they said they would get back in 72 hours. We never heard a word. What is this?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank auroracham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We sincerely apologize that you haven’t received word back from us about your charger. Thank you for letting us know about the situation and we have followed up with our housekeeping department. Please feel free to reach out to me personally if your situation has not been resolved. Thank you.

Kind Regards,
Matthew La Vine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel was good for Mother's Day Weekend.. However we were surprised the pool bar wasn't open on Sunday... Had to walk around into the Lobby Bar to get drinks, which was a bit weird, especially for the ladies in swimsuits....The buffet was overpriced on Monday morning and would not recommend...Stay for the location, the outdoor patio and ocean access, but dine downtown or hit wine country.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaBenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,472 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
159 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £158 - £449 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing