We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fess Parker Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was a nice hotel and centrally located. Our room was a nice size. It is a very large facility so we did lots of walking to the lobby and back to our room. Great landscaping, self parking is available for a fee. Pool was very busy when we visited at the end of May. Really could use more than one pool at this large a hotel. Bar was nice and the food we ate was all good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank C3645VVhelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our resort. We appreciate your suggestion regarding a second pool which happens to be a project being discussed by resort management. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,863 - 1,869 of 3,423 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

The grounds and location of The Fess Parker are great, which is why I am at least giving this place a two. But, the interiors of the buildings and the rooms are awful and outdated. The hall ways are dirty and run down. The first room they tried to give us smelled like wet dogs. The second room was marginally better but still smelled bad. The carpet is old and dirty. The furniture and bathrooms are very very outdated. The place does not look like it has been updated since the 90s. Overall, the rooms were very disappointing. I am sure there are nicer places in the same area that are more charming and clean. Also, I never could understand why a place like this feels the need to charge for parking. The parking is not a premium. The lot was never full and this is something that should be the cost of doing business.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minou270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

We thank you for your comment regarding our location. The resort's easy access to the beach, Stearns Wharf, the Santa Barbara Zoo and downtown Santa Barbara is a convenience so many of our guests enjoy. We are sorry that the interior of our guestrooms did not meet your expectations and I apologize if you were not made aware of our parking fee at the time you made the reservation. The maintenance and monitoring required to maintain the parking lot is extensive and we do check regularly to make certain our prices are comparable to other beach front hotel parking fees. We hope you understand our position and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Never new what the fuss was about an ocean front view until I spent a few days here. How relaxing to hear the ocean and watch the pelicans diving for diner. The grounds are beautiful with plenty of parking. The employees always greeted us with a smile and were always eager to help in any way. Our ocean front room was very comfortable, included a garden patio and we could see the ocean from our bed. The breakfast buffet was very good. My wife is a Hilton Honors Diamond member so I am very glad Double Tree is part of the Hilton family.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelClimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

From the time you pull in to the time you leave the staff treats you like family and is there to help you--what a great place to visit again and againn!!!! Ever need is met beyond every expection. The food is amazing,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Paul Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend here at the Fess Parker and we were blown away by the level of service and hospitality from the moment you pull up to the hotel. Valet staff and luggage handlers are super friendly.

Rooms are nice, but the beds are super comfortable. Blackout shades are also perfect. Location is amazing, and the fire pit outside area is a fantastic place to have a drink just outside the bar lobby. Great service at the bar, and I recommend the Firestone 805 Blond Ale. We also had apple pie a la mode at the bar after dinner one night - excellent place for dessert and watching the game.

Finally, the Hotel Director of Rooms, Alex Yi is amazing. We met him at the lobby bar, and he was welcoming of all the guests and took time out to say hello to us as well. A good sign is that a lot of locals come to the bar for an evening drink. A perfect romantic weekend hotel for Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank busterbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is located just across the street from the beach in Santa Barbara, but from within the hotel we didn't really get the feel that we were near the beach (hallways were dark, many rooms did not seem to have an ocean view). The lobby was beautiful, but the room we stayed in didn't have an exclusive feel to it (it was in need of renovation and the small mini-bar fridge was warmer than the room). The hotel was so big it felt a bit like we were staying in a cheap motel next to a fancy hotel. The hotel also sits next to an active train track with a very loud whistle. Parking was a bit of a hassle. While it is possible to find on-street parking in Santa Barbara, the Fess Parker makes you pay to even drive up to the hotel. This made meeting up with friends a bit of a production. Overall, I would happily return to Santa Barbara, but I wouldn't spend the money on the Fess Parker again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vveldkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was expecting a more resort-like experience for the price of this hotel. However, I found the hotel a little lacking except for it's good location to the beach and pier. For starters, our "mountain view" room looked over a noisy parking lot. You have to pay for Wifi! I appreciated the free shuttle to the train station and the attentive wait staff at the pool. Skip the overpriced brunch and walk downtown for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the parking lot--very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryE995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our resort in Santa Barbara. We were sorry to learn that our property did not meet your expectations and that you were not aware of certain fees prior to your arrival. The property is very large and we have a variety of room types, views and locations. If your travel plans include a return visit to Santa Barbara, we would enjoy the opportunity to discuss room types and locations to ensure that you have a guestroom that you would enjoy. We appreciate your business and hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,505 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £142 - £420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing