We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Santa Barbara stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Orange, United States
1 review
“Santa Barbara stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel is older but our room was remodeled and nice. The service was outstanding with every employee. The front desk, the valet, the bellman..... Very nice stay! The ocean is right across the street so it was GREAT! Restaurant was great and they even have a Starbucks in the lobby!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    998
    647
    310
    142
See reviews for
1,047
1,095
91
535
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The room tarriff isn't cheap but it is located right on the beachfront & does have good facilities, - swimming pool , spa , fitness etc..We had a junior suite which was ample in space & clean but poorly furnished , & in need of new carpets , paint , woodwork etc.. Even the main lobby & foyer although impressive in size fails on quality & finish which is a shame as it could be be so much nicer. We are not normally ones to moan but this was a special 10th wedding anniversary trip & we decided to spend extra money on a nicer hotel & after a very long drive down from San Fran we felt a bit let down. Hotel staff were very friendly & helpful though. Overall we enjoyed our stay in santa Barbara but would probably choose a different hotel if we were to return...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed at the Fess for one night whilst in Santa Barbara on business. The lobby is amazing and the check in was quick. My room was a fair walk, but this is normal as the hotel is very spread out into a number of blocks. The pool and spa looked very attractive and the grounds are very well kept and worth a walk around. I had dinner and breakfast they were both well prepared and tasty. The room itself was reasonably sized with everything in clean and working order. Overall a good hotel and I will stay here again when I am in next in the area.

One small nitpick was a charge for $30 that appeared on my credit card a couple of days after I checked out due to a supposed use of the minbar, which was quickly corrected with a short phone call.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Rooms are very expensive and everything is added :
- Parking $20/car/day !!!!
- Internet $13/day and $16/day premium !!!!
- Bottle of water in your room $7 !!
- Paper cups for tea and coffee and one tea sachet for two days!!!
Grounds and location are nice but very old fashioned rooms and bathrooms with dirty brown carpets. Everything is is need of renovation.
Definitely not worth the price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60HelenBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciate your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We see that you were unhappy with some of the charges, and we apologize if the charges weren’t clear when you booked the room. We work hard to personalize each guest's experience and try to keep costs affordable. Your review helps us maintain a focus on both of those areas. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach , CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Check in was a breeze. Beautiful hotel...It's Huge. We rented bikes and cruised the whole area. I highly recommend this hotel. All staff members were awesome and helpful..The hotel's Rodney's Steak House experience was great! Always order the steak (s) not the fish....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brandon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here because my daughter had her wedding here. The grounds are beautiful, the service by the front desk, bell desk and housekeeping were fantastic. The restaurant for breakfast, a waste of time and money. The price for the rooms, ludacristly expensive, borderline gouging. By the time the wedding was two months away and the invitations had gone out, the rooms for one night were at $389.00 and that was for a mountain view, or should I say a "Train Track" view, the train goes right by those $400.00 a night mountain view rooms. Needless to say the Pacific Surfliner runs most of the day and into the night. :)

Yes, my daughter's wedding was gorgeous the service was great, but the value terrible! If my daughter wasn't getting married at this hotel, I don't think I would have stayed in it. To top it off the wi-fi was not free, which I found odd because I am a Hilton Honors member and have never had to pay for wi-fi before.

I just feel that this hotel could offer more for what they charge.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are facing the train tracks. Ocean view rooms are beautiful, but very expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlfaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice and quiet stay. Got an upgrade as a Hilton honors gold member. I had a gorgeous view of the ocean. The landscaping was beautiful. Breakfast was delicious and the service was great. A bit pricey for special rates so I had to pay out of pocket for this work related stay. Exceeded my per diem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calicoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing