We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice property but a bit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #27 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Jacksonville, Fla.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice property but a bit pricey”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed at the Fess Parker for a 3 day conference this past weekend. Grounds were well kept, public spaces were very clean, front desk personnel were very helpful, "business center" was a bit sparse (lots of folks wanting to confirm flights, check messages etc., and pool was well kept up and clean. Temps were very comfortable in all the public spaces, and each room had a control for heating and air. All in all 4 stars, primarily because even with a discounted conference rate, $300 per night was a bit much since we were gone more than we were there.
Clock radio did not work, especially the alarm. Maid could not get it to work either. TV was a good clear picture and being on a swivel it allowed me to get a good view from anywhere in the room. Nice set up in the bath rooms; double sink arrangement and the water was nice and hot!
Buffet breakfast was expensive in my opinion (about $25), especially when the French toast//pancakes were cold even in the pans. (No one checking the heat source?) Would have been nice to have a local phone book in the room also. But, overall it was a nice stay, even though it "cost me" more than I expected in the end.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Dahlia Building which was far enough away from the Amtrak rails that I did not hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    973
    633
    301
    137
See reviews for
1,018
1,061
89
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, United States
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We loved this hotel. Rooms nice and comfortable. Pool is very nice and clean. Friendly staff and the best thing is that it's on walking distance to the beach and pier. Nice restaurants in the area and a short drive to stores. We will definitely be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Yvon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Well attended, good deco. Valet parking was efficient although can be reduced in rate. Bar experience was good. Seems too spread-out a bit. Can add more art or activity to fill the place with more life.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Dr_Genetics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I stayed at the Fess Parker for a 3 day conference. Its location and staff are amazing - very near the Pacific and everyone I met was pleasant and helpful. Then you go to your room.

A cheap radio that didn't get any reception, no channel guide, so one has to go through every channel to get to a program he/she wants to see, and the thinnest ceilings that made every football in the room above me sound like a basketball game was being played over my head. Additionally, when I was checking out, I found clothes from a previous guest in a drawer - clearly housekeeping had never checked them between guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
It was disappointing to read your comments about the noise you experienced and the items left in the dresser drawer. We apologize and understand how frustrating this must have been for you. We appreciate your comment about the TV channel guide and our team is already working on creating this for our guests. Thank you for taking the time to report on your recent visit and giving us the opportunity to correct these issues. We hope you will consider returning to give us another chance to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
126 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst on a coach tour of California. This hotel is huge, many different building and lots of winding corridors. Rooms were large and we appointed, I liked the double sinks. Comfy beds and beautiful pillows. Annoyed initially when after finally finding our room after a very long day we discovered the keys had not been activated. It appears this was the case for all on our bus, so it was a long trip back to the foyer. Breakfast was adequate although no maple syrup for the pancakes.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Natasha09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Riley, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Beautiful grounds and the pool and gym were nice. However, don't pay extra for an Oceanside room. There is a busy road, not the beach that you see out your window. Overall value was poor. The room was about $400/night and then they wanted extra money for internet, parking, and breakfast. I received a much better value staying at a Hyatt Place or Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

It's nice and on the water but can use some updating. Parking gates were left open throughout the weekend so I'm unsure why I had to pay for parking as well as the facility isn't gated either so I saw some homeless people wandering. Bathroom could have used a better cleaning...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#30 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing