We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best deal in SB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
San Diego
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Best deal in SB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel while in SB for a wedding. We have stayed at many other hotels in SB and I must say I was really surprised at how nice this place is. The location is perfect. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The grounds are very nicely landscaped and the room price was very reasonable. We booked an ocean view room and while not right on the beach, the views are pretty spectacular. I also enjoyed walking the grounds and then walking to the beach each morning. The buffet breakfast is also pretty good. So all in all this is a very nice place to stay in SB. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We greatly appreciate your wonderful review. It is always nice to know when our guests have enjoyed our location, amenities and all that Santa Barbara has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with our Tripadvisor guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    953
    612
    295
    135
See reviews for
995
1,031
88
511
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (601)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel had everything.
The view, the amenities and a relaxed vibe.
The setting of the resort is just behind the beach and the grounds and gardens are beautiful and well maintained. There's a Spanish architectural feel to it which just adds to the charm.
It has a spa on site as well as a small pool area and some lovely outside bar seating.
I would definitely stay here again the next time I am in the Santa Barbara area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed with our family for three days and two nights and had an excellent time. Our room had an lovely ocean view and is easily one of the largest hotel rooms we've stayed in that wasn't technically a suite. The room was well maintained and quite clean. The pool was a big hit and we didn't find it too crowded, but we tended to arrive in the late afternoon after a busy day. Being so close to the beach was very enjoyable. It is true that there aren't many restaurants, but everyone who's been a local in Santa Barbara before like we have, knows that the best restaurants aren't along the waterfront anyway, just the tourist traps. I appreciated that the golf clubs and balls were free for the putting green, which was quite fun even though the grass was dying. Including your buffet breakfast in the price of your room was the best way to go as the buffet is quite good, but over-priced if you purchase it separately. We'll stay here on our next trip to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: If you want an ocean view, request room 305 as it has a slightly larger balcony because it is at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for selecting our resort for your family Get Away! We appreciate your kind compliments and comments and know that your suggestions will be very helpful for our Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you are able to return real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gonzales, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

my husband and I spent 2 separate night's at the Fess Parker Hilton on our way to visit family in so-cal. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous w/ Spanish architecture accenting every corner. It was so tranquil to see the ocean from various angles along with a variety of tropical plants & palms. Both of our rooms were lovely and comfortable w/ ocean views and we spent most of our time enjoying the tropical breeze on our patio. The only down side to this hotel was that some of the staff were far from accommodating and lacked basic customer service skills expected at a high end hotel. We highly recommend that if you enjoy quiet getaways to the ocean the Fess Parker Hilton is a must place to visit while in Santa Barbara! Angelique Morin

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Angelique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a few days. It was okay. Our room was nice but had a strange odor. This resort is also lacking restaurants. The on site Starbucks closes a bit too early as well. The pool is really nice but get your seats early. I will say that the grounds are beautiful and well maintained.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Sandra, Thank you. We appreciate your comments and suggestions. We apolgize that the Starbucks outlet (Java) was not available. For any future visits, we have three food & beverage outlets in our lobby and our Director of Food & Beverage typically schedules to have atleast one open very late for the convience of our guests. We appreciate your compliments about the landscaping and will provide our housekeeping team with your comments about the odor. We thank you for selecting our resort for your visit to Santa Barbara and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Really pretty hotel, VERY good service, rooms average though very clean. Great location by the water, and walkable to State Street while maintaining a resort feel. Competition for lounge chairs caused a heated poolside argument - which was the natural outcome of a scarce resource - why so few chairs for such a big place? Seems like they could easily expand the pool deck area into the adjacent grassy area and add a couple rows of lounge chairs to take care of that - it really needs to be done. Basketball "court" was in the parking lot and there were cars parked there, so there went that idea. And they only had 2 racquets for tennis - really?? And an up-charge for wifi in the room rubs me the wrong way, as does a parking fee. So, yes, a nice place with room for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Shower / bathroom was about the quality of a $150 hotel in LA. Furniture in room was super old. Wifi was extremely slow. The room is not worth $684... it had a balcony and ocean view but still not even close to something you could charge $684 for. Asked for towels in the morning, they didn't come. Our room didn't get serviced...sheets were dirty when we came to the room to sleep. Hotel was loud it's right on the main street in santa barbara. The beds were terrible...can't believe the room cost so much.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are very sorry you were unhappy with the service you received and the furniture in our guestrooms. We appreciate your feedback, and will keep your comments in mind while we work to improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing