We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Los Gatos, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“recent stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was delighted with the "Fess Parker" Hilton Inn. Our stay was relaxing, enjoyable. Staff was pleasant. Room needed a bit more "attention" bulbs burned out, heat lamp in bathroom not working, coffee supplies inadequate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,142
    985
    640
    304
    139
See reviews for
1,029
1,081
90
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We really love this hotel. It always had very large, comfortable rooms, beautiful grounds, a spacious, lovely pool with lots of shaded lounges (and sunny ones, if that's your preference), as well as friendly, efficient, and welcoming staff. The major upgrading has really "freshened" the rooms, with lovely curtains, and new furnishings. It's one of our "top 4 properties" to stay at, anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: As others have noted, the ocean-view rooms are especially lovely, and cost a bit more than "mou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This was our second stay at this particular hotel as we had attended the same conference there two years ago. Evidently the decline that we had observed in our first visit have become the focal point for improvement efforts since then. This place has made dramatic improvements in the fabric of the place, but they still have a ways to go to make it the "must stay" property in Santa Barbara.
The hotel shuttle is a 5/5 operation-no wait for a pick up and returns via appointment at the bell desk. Water and cookies distributed before heading for the hotel by a personable and competent young driver.
Check in 4/5- got the impression that the desk associate could not wait to go home. Never asked if we wanted the key to the minibar or anything else.
The room was spacious and newly redone and the bellman went for ice and demonstrated the features and for questions that he couldn't answer he said that "he would have them get back with that". No one ever got back to us. 4/5
AH....the dirty carpet question mentioned in multiple reviews. The carpet was clean and new. It is a grey on grey pattern which appears cleaner when the lighting is on high. Probably not the best decorating choice ever.
The bedding is very comfortable and the pillows are excellent. However, we noted linen that had stains that had been washed in without being treated. The bed was made around them on the first day and then changed the second time the bed was made.
The amenities are of Comfort Inn standard- not upscale.
The food is mediocre and overpriced at best. The price for the buffet has increased by 10 dollars and the quality has gone down. The chafing dish of eggs benedict was stone cold and screamed of yesterday's prep and the potato tasted of freezer. The quality of the meeting food was not stellar either. We have done way better for the price.
The location is excellent and the property is fairly well maintained. The parking charges and the pool operation could also use a revamp.

Room Tip: Stick to the lower floors and the units farther away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I have stayed here before and found the rooms greatly improved with the recent makeover. The staff is very friendly but ineffectual as they never complete the requested action- or they don't get back to you. The food is mediocre and way overpriced. Lovely location. Very good beds- we had damaged linen on the bed ( looked like washed in blood spots) This is an adequate resort but has a long way to go to make it a top pick for a vacation. Value for money is just not there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank gnarfle23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our resort. We appreciate your compliments and comments very much. We apologize that the service provided by our staff did not meet your expectations. The information you provided has already been shared with the appropriate managers and will be a useful tool during training sessions. Your business is important to us. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the high level of customer service we strive to provide our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Fess Parker Resort and Conference Centre is my most favorite Conference location of all. The Conference Halls and the Rotunda are exquisite as indeed are the accommodations. The Santa Barbara oceanfront location is stunning and the staff are friendly, helpful and accommodate every guest request with efficiency and courtesy without exception. Conference catering also is excellent and precision of timing, presentation and selection is first class. My favorite Conference location in the world for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mountainview2guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver CO, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The coolers for the building we stayed in we broken and consequently there was no air conditioning. The hotel provided a $100 credit which was not nearly enough to make-up for an awful experience during our stay in beautiful Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the A/C problem. We’ve worked with maintenance to fix the issue, but we’re very sorry that it wasn't resolved sooner. We apologize that this took away from your stay. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you return to the area so we may help make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

When everything goes well with a hotel stay, life is good. However one can never truly judge a business until something goes wrong. We arrived to find that our hotel room had many problems. There were water stains on the ceiling, a moldy smell, a broken screen door on the patio, mismatched tiles in the bathroom, a broken television, and a crayon-scribbled hotel information book. I had requested a quiet room and this room was across from the pool. After several visits from a repair man, the television never worked, the door was left unrepaired, and the hotel information guide was never replaced. When this information was brought to the attention of the front desk, they immediately apologized, gave us a new room, deducted a small amount from the first nights price, and comped us for parking, internet, and buffet breakfasts for the length of our stay. The location of this hotel is what sets its price. It is located across the street from the ocean and walking distance to the Santa Barbara Pier. The rooms are standard. The buffet has a good selection, however some of the items were cold when they should have been hot. The pool and grounds are lovely with flowers, shade, shuffle board, and a putting green. Finding a chair within the pool enclosure can be challenge. Hotel guests come out and put personal items on chairs, reserving them for themselves. This begins as early as 8:00 AM. If one doesn't reserve a chair this way, you will never get a place to sit down later in the day. The staff is helpful and efficient. They appear to care about their guests and do their best. The hotel shows some signs of age and could use some upgraded furniture, plumbing, painting, and other features. All and all the 4 day stay was good. We were able to enjoy Santa Barbara with all that it has to offer for the Fourth of July.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lv2trvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your very candid and informative review of your stay with us over the Fourth of July weekend. I was pleased to see that our staff took the appropriate steps to make certain you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your business. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,334 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing