We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the amenities you would hope for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My parents and I are currently staying here as we wanted to spend a couple of days sightseeing in SB. We checked into our rooms only to find that the inroom safe in my room didn't work and neither did the tv in my parents room. The bathrooms don't have shower caps or other basic items and most importantly of all the wifi in the room is $13.95 even if you are a Hhonors member. Even the Motel 6 chain has free wifi these days. This is not what I would have expected and it has somewhat soured our experience. We've been traveling around the US for over 3 weeks now and this is the first bad Hilton experience we have had.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank tallool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

We apologize for the safe, TV and amenity challenges you are experiencing. Since you wrote your message while here, we tried to locate your reservation in order to contact you direct. Typically, when notified, our engineers are quick to act and take care of these issues right away. If not fixable, it's our practice to provide you with another guestroom. One that meets or even exceeds your expectations. Your business is improtant to us. If you haven't done so and are still at the resort, we hope you will contact our staff and give us the opportunity to ensure you enjoy the balance of your stay at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,765 - 1,771 of 3,475 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Fess Parker Double Tree is truly our home away from home. We visit 2 - 3 times a year and always have an enjoyable experience. If I had to find fault it would be with the ever presence of guests with dogs. This time there were two couples each with two large dogs. One set of these dogs were barking very loudly for over an hour until the hotel could get the owners to return. It was incredible to hear large, barking dogs in this nice, normally quiet, hotel. The other area of concern, which coincides with the dogs is that their rooms seem heavily sanitized (where you need to let the room air out a bit before being able to enjoy the space. I assume this heavy cleaning is due to dogs staying in the rooms. And don't get me wrong, I love dogs, but when I vacation I leave them at home.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank tedb164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

I was so pleased to see that you consider our resort your Home away from home! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We greatly appreciate your suggestions regarding the room and will keep this in mind as strive to improve the experience for our guests. We appreciate your business and hope you have the opportunity to return real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing entrance welcomed you duty views through to the beach. The pool area and exit into the promenade second to non. Absolutely faultless.

Unfortunately the rooms, (well ours) are outdated, dark and the carpets through the corridors in desperate need of an update. Views on the parking lot are not what you want - ask to change. The lift situation is quite bizarre, the weirdest of any hotel I've ever stayed in - you need to walk through an entire floor if rooms with all your luggage , just to get to a lift , then walk through another corridor to get to your actual room . A real pain with all your luggage.

The staff were polite though not particularly friendly - apart from the valet man who could not do enough to help us with driving tips.

Shame about the rooms because the location / outdoor area were outstanding!

Nicola Newcastle upon Tyne UK

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank NicolaJB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your wonderful compliments about our lobby, location and views. I am so sorry your guestroom did not meet your expectations. I certainly wish we would have had the opportunity to provide you with a move to another room. The property is large and we have a variety of room types. I would have done everything possible to "Make this situation right" before your departure. I do hope you will consider returning and give us another opportunity to provide you with a guestroom we know you will enjoy. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel, and especially liked the pool area, which was really appreciated by our children. The service was good, and they were able to meet our accessibility needs and provide a crib for our infant daughter with the minimum of fuss. We didn't stay for breakfast, as we had an early start the next morning, so cannot comment on the restaurant facilities. I have never stayed in such a large resort before, and we did feel a little lost, and certainly not part of things in the main building, which felt a little unfair given how much we were paying. The decor in the room was also pretty poor, with peeling paint and wallpaper.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We really enjoyed the Fess Parker resorts, which was perfect for our family of four. The property is super kid friendly, rooms are clean and spacious, and the service is fantastic. We will absolutely be back because we loved being in the center of everthing and also just relaxing at the property.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jessica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A lovely hotel right on the beach. A bit pricey for what you get. I've stayed in much nicer places on the water for less. Watch for additional charges for parking and internet making your daily rate even higher.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank paavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I took my husband for our 25th Anniversary as a surprise as he doesn't get much time off of work. We have also never been on a honeymoon so I called this our Anniversary-moon. The hotel was in a great location close to everything. We did a lot of activities, the sunset double dolphin cruise, the Landshark tour. Went to the Funk Zone wine tasting. We had a lot of fun with everything we did and had a lot of help from the concierge Dor, she was wonderful. There was a couple of things that didn't go as planned but nothing is ever perfect. This is a great place to stay and I would go back again & again & again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Felecia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for selecting our resort for your Anniversary celebration and congratulations on 25 years! We appreciate your comments and your very kind compliment regarding the service you received from our Concierge Dor. We look forward to welcoming you back to Santa Barbara and the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
523 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,360 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
Hotel Indigo Santa Barbara
#28 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £206 - £431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing