We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #30 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The best thing about the hotel was the location. We had an ocean view. Absolutely gorgeous! Unfortunately, we had issues w/ the cleanliness upon check-in. Also, this is not a huge thing, but when we've stayed at other Double Tree locations, the cookies are automatically offered. We had to ask for it at check-n.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ernalyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed our wonderful location and thank you for your comment about the cookie service at the front desk. Our Rooms Division Manager will share this with our front desk staff. Our procedure is to always offer the cookie at check in. He will take steps to review this with his team to help improve our service. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,351)
There are newer reviews for The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,624 - 1,630 of 3,353 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014

I love the brightness of the rooms during the day and darkness of the room while we slept. We had an ocean view room on the first floor. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach so the view was beautiful. The staff is courteous and welcoming. The cookies upon check in are always delicious! The only complaint I have were the few ants we had to share the room with while we were there. I don't like ants so it was an issue for me. We stayed here a few years back and ants were not an issue then. This location is a short drive or 20 minute walk to the pier or State St.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

This was our second time having a 3 night stay at the Fess Parker...I had a different trip planned for my birthday get-away ( a more relaxing beach/spa/pool weekend instead of a running-around tourist weekend like we did the last time)....but I really wanted the same room and relaxing ocean view balcony.

We did have the same wonderful stay in the same fabulous room! I just love the Fess Parker!! The unobstructed ocean views from our room are so breathtaking- it never gets old just enjoying that view with room service each morning! (exceptional, I might add- the pancakes are always piping hot and the steel cut oatmeal here is my husband's favorite!)

Same great experience! ....Thanks to Christine H. for helping me so much with my request for a specific room- and also educating me on the Hilton offer of "points plus money stay" which I have never heard of before! She was so incredibly helpful- even called the Hilton Reward line to secure the reservation with me- now that's above and beyond the best service ever!....

We also had dinner at "The Set" restaurant and a 12 layer chocolate cake dessert! Outstanding! Great food -and the views and outdoor firepits with the ocean as your backdrop are amazing! .....later we sat indoors awhile on big leather chairs to watch old Fess movies on the wall- that was nostalgic!

The pool is heated and large with plenty of seating and towels-- a great concession stand with refreshing smoothies, too! We spent one afternoon in the ocean and it was nice we could take the oversized pool towels there and back!

One thing for sure is that there is no other property in Santa Barbara of this caliber that is as conveniently located in the main town on the beach, near the wharf, carousel, weekly art fair, various activities and farmer's market....

I adore the ambiance of "nostalgic California" and Fess Parker's love of it that just emanates from the Spanish architecture, modern equestrian decor, vast well-maintained property grounds, pool and other buildings....what a joy seeing all the peddler carriages and various activities all around from our balcony. The hotel was booked to capacity and there were at least three weddings this time as well- but still very peaceful and no revelers out of hand...

I cant say enough about Dave the Valet as he was so helpful with everything from check-in to directions and recommendations....my husband told him it was my birthday- and even with so much going on- he remembered my birthday and sent wine on behalf of the Staff to our room later!

We will always stay here every time we come to Santa Barbara-- with all the great service and offerings why wouldn't we?? LOVE it -I just left and cannot wait to come back in May!!! I also posted some photos of our wonderful time at Fess Parker...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank coasthighway1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Husband and I stayed one night here on a road trip down the coast. Our room was very nice. Both the room and bathroom were clean. Although the room was updated, the shower could use an update in the near future. Although we didn't use the pool it looked very nice and family friendly. We choose an ocean view room which we both appreciated. The grounds are beautiful. The buffet breakfast was very good. I would recommend this hotel to others. It was a little pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have stayed here several times in the past when visiting family here. We were happy with everything this trip except checkin but we did end up getting a nice room with a partial ocean view.

We used points for a 5 night stay with internet and breakfast included. We tried to checkin twice before we were finally successful the third time. Granted it was a Sunday morning checkin and we did ask to be upgraded to a partial ocean view. Overall we got a nice room on the third floor of an outlying building. We did have some views from our balcony of the ocean and grounds.

Breakfast was excellent with many choices along with an omelette station. They seemed to offering coffee to go when leaving breakfast which was new to us but we did take advantage of it. It was never too busy when we ate - usually 7 to 7:30 AM.

Only issue was the parking entrance and exit. It never really worked with our keys and I never bothered to go the the front desk to have it looked into. We just got a new ticket when entering and buzzed the button when exiting.

We look forward to our next stay here.

Room Tip: Some resort view rooms do have partial ocean views. Make sure to ask if you want it.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Musty, mildewy smells in 2nd floor of Bouganvilla. Agree location is great. Loved The Set (sidewalk bar). Ask for first floor onto gardens. Great patios.

Meeting coordinator quickly resolved our complaints about "joyful noise" from church group next door.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Wanda, Thank you for the review of your stay at our resort. Identifying the specific building for our housekeeping team will help them resolve the issue. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed The Set and it's beautiful ocean view and that the meeting coordinator followed thru on the group request. We hope you have time to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

During our 3 week visit to California this was probably the worst hotel we stayed in and it was one of the most expensive.
On our arrival the valets were friendly we entered the large impressive foyer and queued for 20minutes to check in on a Sunday evening out of the 3 staff behind the desk only one was dealing with customers the second one was holding the phone up to her ear and dialling numbers but did not appear to be talking to anyone and the third was on the computer.
We had requested a quiet feather free room we were given our keys and we make the trek to our room on foot. We went into the room and it seemed very shabby the carpet was stained and there were feather pillows and bed covers within 15minutes 2 amtrack trains had passed hooting their horns----we made the journey back to reception to complain about 1 the feathers and 2 the noise.
We had a copy of our booking with us where we had specified our requests we queued up again and we were told that they had overlooked the feather issue and that our room was actually overlooking the train track but the trains would stop running at about 10.30pm and not run again until 7pm!!!
After waiting another 10minutes the girl found an alternative room for us in the same block but at the quiet end we went back to the room and moved our bags to the new room which was quieter but still had feathers, the housekeeper arrived and then proceeded to make 3 trips back wards and forwards carrying pillows and covers to remake our beds the poor lady was in a sweat by the time she had finished carrying stuff backwards and forwards and we felt guilty just standing by watching her, she was a very pleasant lady---just as she was finished with the beds I realised we only had 1 set of towels for the 3 of us so she had to head off again for more of these.
The room was shabby the towels were threadbare and the carpet stained.The bathrooms were in need of upgrading and felt dirty even the toilet paper was cheap and rough.
The location is on the beach which is nice but its a good 20minute walk to the main street where all the shops and restaurants are--we had to ask for a map none was provided
Santa Barbara is a fantastic town with great shops and pretty streets, there is a shuttle bus that passes by the hotel and goes to the harbour for 50cent but you then have to get off the shuttle and wait for the other shuttle to arrive to bring you down to the main street and the shops so if you are waiting or miss the 2nd bus it can take 40min + to get to the main street.
The pool area was very crowded and small we went there twice at around 2pm and were unable to find any sunbeds for our towels (yet there were plenty of empty sunbeds on some of the terraces these should have been moved to the pool area) drinks were very expensive around the pool. In other places that we visited an excellent buffet breakfast was less than $20 here it was more expensive and of inferior quality
Wifi was not free in rooms
The coffee machine had a layer of dust on it and looked grubby inside so we did not use it.
Overall we loved Santa Barbara but had a very disappointing hotel experience

Room Tip: Avoid being near train track
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dub0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. We are very sorry that it took so long to get you a room assignment that met your expectations, since the comfort and safety of our guests is our highest priority. While we can’t meet room type requests every time, we have shared your comments with our front desk team so they are aware of the situation. We hope you’ll give us another try the next time your travels bring you to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £182 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing