We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsatisfying stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unsatisfying stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I was booking a room at this hotel so that my family and I were as close to the ocean and pier as we could get without compromising comfort. The add said to choose an Ocean View or a Mountain View. I chose the Mountain View, it did not however say that the actual view was of the parking lot and in the far distance over the cement wall of the parking lot do you see the tops of the mountains. The worst part however, was that it also did not tell you that there is a train that comes through just on the other side of the cement wall and blows its whistle several times per day. My Granddaughter is 5 months old and that did not do well for her nap times. When booking the room it also does not tell you that you have to pay $19 per day for parking. The room was $400 per night, one would think that you get the complimentary breakfast included. When my family and I went to the dinning it is an open breakfast buffet in the actual hallway that you walk down. There are no cashiers or payment stations. At the end of your meal the waiter will present you with a very expensive check. But the worst part of this trip was when we were all sleeping and my daughter-in-law woke me up to tell me there were ants in her bed. They were all over her pillow. We found the trail and they were coming from the coffee machine. Outside of that the beds are comfortable and the rooms are very large. Oh yes and the walk to get to your room will also be a "hike" All in all I was not happy nor impressed at the $400 per night. I expected way more. Most of all I do not appreciate when they do not tell you about paying per day for parking.

Room Tip: read the fine print. Extra fees are added such as having to pay per day for parking. Also make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttiikkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
We were sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the location of your guestroom. The property is very large with a variety of buildings and room types. We wish we would have had the opportunity to move you to a location that met your expectations while you were here. Parking fees are mentioned on our website and it is our practive to advise our guests of the fee during the reservation process. We apologize, if our agent failed to mention this fee. if your plans include a return visit to the resort, we hope you will give our reservation team another chance to provide you with information about packages available that include breakfast and help you select a room in a quiet location of the resort. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    985
    640
    304
    139
See reviews for
1,029
1,080
90
532
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

This was a return trip to the Fess Parker. Every year that we come to Santa Barbara we stay at the Fess Parker. Every time that we stay at the Fess Parker our experience gets better and that is hard to top. I can't recommend the Fess Parker any higher than a ten+++++++. My husband and I have so many fond memories of Santa Barbara and the Fess Parker mostly because of the great staff and rooms. Also the wine country and tours are excellent which were arranged throught the staff. We took the Cloud Climbers Wine tour for the 4the time and it is also excellent. We can't wait until we return to the Fess Parker and Santa Barbara next August. Every year our time in Santa Barbaa and the Fess Parker get better. I recommend the Doubletree Fess Parker very highly. Thanks for the opportunity to brag about such a wonderful stay and facility.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, CA, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2014

Sprawling, beautiful hotel across from Pacific Ocean. Great food in restaurants and excellent staff throughout. Room was nice as well. Good hotel for business meetings and family vacations. DOG FRIENDLY! Staff loved our 2 dogs!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Valerie A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAN DIEGO, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We picked this lovely hotel at the last minute under the recommendation of a friend and really loved it. Large, clean, well-adorned rooms made the stay, albeit too short, wonderful. The location to State Street and the Pier was superb and we really couldn't have asked for anything more.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
338 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We are Hilton Gold Members, and right off the bat we were treated with exceptional service!!!!! We have traveled the world with Hilton and have never been disappointed. Our room was spacious and a wonderful view of the ocean! Their breakfast was outrageous and sooooo good! The grounds are impeccable and right across the street is the beach! We always walk over to the peri and enjoy drinks and the sunset! Please come and enjoy a little piece of paradise! You will not be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Congratulations on your anniversary! We thank you for the fabulous review of your stay at our resort. We greatly appreciate your business and certainly hope your travel plans include a trip our way soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This property needs a serious renovation!
While the lobby and entrance give the impression of a luxury resort, the grounds are the first sign that things are not as well maintained as one would expect from the price point of the accommodations. The pool is no better than an average motel property. But, most importantly, the rooms are shabby, the bathrooms moldy and meager, the carpeting stained and musty....all this for nearly $500 per night plus parking. We had a room with a garden view, but I would be very careful if booking this hotel since MANY rooms overlook parking lots!
On a positive note - the hotel is very dog friendly. (At the rate of $30 per day.) It was nice to arrive and be greeted with a goodie bag for our pet and a list of pet friendly restaurants in the area.
I am a Hilton Honors member, but I would never choose to stay at this hotel when visiting Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Be sure not to be near the elevator and Vending room.... Camellia Building is right next to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandeeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
We are very sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations and wish we had the chance to make certain you were completely satisfied with everything before you departed. Very pleased to know you appreciate our pet friendly atmosphere and appreciate the comment. If your plans include a return visit to our area, please feel free to contact me direct. We would enjoy the chance to provide you with a better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I really want to like this hotel. The location is great - across the street from the beach and within walking distance to Stearns Wharf and the downtown shopping district. But the downsides in the end outweigh the positives. The hotel has the look of a place that was upscale and fashionable 20 years ago, and hasn't been updated since. Upon check-in, our room and the hallway outside of it smelled very dank and musty. When we complained at the front desk, the attendant was apologetic and said that he'd send someone from engineering to check on our climate control system - after stating that there were no other rooms available. A few hours later, though, a woman from housekeeping came to our room offering to spray "perfume" (her term) in the room - not quite the fix we were looking for. Service throughout the hotel was similarly slow and indifferent - the server at the pool pointedly ignored us for 20 minutes until I went to the serving station to ask if we could place an order. If you can get a "deal" here its probably worthwhile due to the great location, but look elsewhere at the very high prices that they usually charge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlavine, General Manager at The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write the review of your stay and for your compliments about our location and convenient walking distance to the wharf and downtown Santa Barbara. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We appreciate your constructive criticism and will share this with our management team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,017 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montecito Inn
Montecito Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort

Property: The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Address: 633 East Cabrillo Boulevard, Santa Barbara, CA 93103-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort is steps from the beach and convenient to Santa Barbara's waterfront and downtown. Oversized rooms all feature balconies or patios; families and pets are warmly welcomed. Amenities include a year round heated Olympic sized pool, Spa, fitness center, salon, tennis courts, bike rentals, putting green, shuffle board, weekend wine tasting, 2 restaurants, ocean-view bar and 24 acres of grounds. Complimentary airport/Amtrak shuttle service available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fess Parker`s Doubletree Hotel Santa Barbara
Doubletree Santa Barbara
Doubletree Fess Parkers
Fess Parkers Doubletree Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing