We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
San francisco
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed here one night last year when I decided to extend my stay in Santa Barbara. The hotel has one of the best locations - ocean front and great view of the beach. The weekend we stayed it was fairly quiet at the hotel, so we were able to enjoy a quiet room, not too many people at the pool. The pool area is fantastic - nice lawn, pool, jacuzzi. I think my gf actually fell asleep in the jacuzzi on a sunny afternoon. The rooms are "ok". The bed/living area is basic hotel quality (comfy bed), but the bathroom was a little lacking. It seemed to be designed quite a few years back so the toilet, sink, shower/bath were all in one room and could have used an upgrade. Front desk staff were also "ok", though the attendee who greets you when you arrive was enthusiastic and seemed a good person.

I would definitely recommend this place and seems a good spot if you have kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    452
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
314
654
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Having driven from Vegas we arrived in Santa Barbara at dusk. Not having been to SB before we had no idea where to look for accommodation. We drove along the beach and looked at several places, finally deciding to check out The Harbor View.
We were greeted by warm and friendly staff at reception who offered to show us several available rooms. Deciding on a seaview suite we parked in the udercover parking area which was a bonus we didn't expect.
Our room was sensational, so much room, balcony overlooking the beach and harbour and great bathroom...couldn't ask for more.
We decided to stay 2 nights and explore SB while we were there.
You can get breakfast at the little restaurant next door which was convenient, friendly service and quite a good choice.
Then we did the "Santa Barbara Trolley Tour" which leaves from across the road from the hotel, in front of Stearns Wharf. You can get "day tickets" from the driver as your board.
This was fantastic...went all around SB, hopping off at different stops. The narration by the driver was very informative with a sense of humour at times, really worthwhile.
Spent some time in the shopping area which had an upmarket village atmosphere.
Went to Stearns Wharf for late lunch while watching the dolphins play in the harbour.
Back at The Harbor View we spent an hour in the jacuzzi (walk thru the spa to get to it) which was a lovely quiet area with very good change facilities.
SB really amazed us and is on our "go back to" list, where we would definitely stay at The Harbor View...great location, great accommodation, great service!!!

Room Tip: Worth an upgrade to seaview suite, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RondaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After returning from a 1 night stay at the Harbor View Inn I am already anticipating when I can go back!

You can not beat the location of this hotel. It is right at the bottom of State St (the main shopping and restaurant area of Santa Barbara). The hotel is located directly across from the ocean at Stearn's Wharf. Everything is within walking distance of this hotel. You can access the harbor, the beaches, the shopping, the restaurants.

Our check-in was handled very smoothly. We arrived before the guaranteed 4pm check-in, although our room was not ready for a very minimal upgrade fee we were upgraded to a king bed room that was ready for check-in. The parking is included and has a variety of covered spots and outdoor parking. It was also great to have free wi-fi.

The room had all the amenities we needed and was clean. I appreciated the ceiling fan and that the air conditioner/heating system was quiet enough to leave on overnight. The bathroom was large and the Molton Brown bath products luxurious. There was a kettle in the room and Starbucks instant Via coffee.

Considering we initially had such a hard time deciding where to stay we were VERY happy with our choice and would return for the convenience of the location and the above average room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire Grimsby
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Arrived after a hectic day of family and friends, wedding activities etc. Escaping here and being able to enjoy our time together was just what we needed and wanted.

Parking and check in was quick and easy. the room was great. The view was fantastic and we hope to return someday soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsbr_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I chose this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews. The location was really perfect. We have stayed at some of Santa Barbara's larger resort/hotels in the past and we liked Harbor View more. We stayed in the ocean view room and the view was really great. We looked out over the pool to the ocean and could see boats and birds in the water. The room was very nice, clean and updated. The bathroom was fairly large and clean. The balcony overlooking the pool and out to the sea was big and had 2 lounge chairs and a table on it.
The best part was the location. We were literally directly across the street from Sterns Wharf and also easy walking distance to the harbor. We walked to the Ty Warner Sea Center and to the Maritime museum.
There were nice bath robes in the room. The hot tub and pool were nice and warm despite the chilly weather. Plenty of towels pool-side A safe was available and the TV had pay per view movies and a gaming console.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
I used the spa for a pedicure. It was expensive but I expected that. The spa is new and fairly small. Nothing special from what I saw of it.
Room service food was good for breakfast. The Santa Barbara omelet was great.

The sort of negatives:
The room had a pot to make hot water but no coffee maker. There was an honor bar fridge but no regular fridge or microwave in the room. The room smelled like it had just been painted and the odor was a bit strong but I'm guessing this will be a temporary problem. The gym was ok - small but functional. Only one treadmill and they do not allow anyone under 16.
We could hear our neighbors upstairs during the day. We had a rollaway bed which was awful - noisy and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was great. Second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicksmomLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

There were ants in our bathroom. The cleanliness of this hotel is lacking. It has some pluses but is otherwise not a 4 star hotel. If the ants were not a problem, it would be a 3 star. The staff tried to be helpful, and most are very friendly. Good location..that's about it.

Room Tip: the older building is run down. consider the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lironw174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Outstanding hotel directly across thee street from the beach and the wharf and walking distance to downtown and Amtrak. First rate in every regard, lots of classy touches and extremely responsive staff. Some small slips by housekeeping but they are easily and quickly remedied.

Room Tip: Check for nearby construction noise before settling in room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingLeprechaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,241 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing