We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing...”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We had a corner room with two balconies. The view of the pier and the ocean is amazing. Great sun rise views over the mountains. Spacious room oversized for our needs. Beautiful bathroom and additional vanity area. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location can't be beat. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Harbor View Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

I came here with my husband for my birthday, and the hotel is really nice. Very clean everywhere, including the parking lot which had many covered parking spots for anyone to use. The staff is both friendly and professional. Loved our room as well, tastefully decorated with a large balcony and large bathroom. Although our stay was in January, we lucked out with a "heat wave" of 80 degrees and sunny so we sat by the pool for a drink shortly after arriving. They have a small pool bar that serves drinks with a very friendly bartender. You cannot beat the location, we easily walked to the downtown area for a little shopping and happy hour. We also walked to the pier for dinner, which was very close. Before leaving the next morning, we enjoyed a really good breakfast with efficient and friendly service. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the pool and beach are really cool, and I will spend the extra money for the better...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CampingKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I loved our stay at the Harbor View Inn. We were asked at check in if we wanted to upgrade to ocean view as I had read from other reviewers. We took a look at the first room and it was adequate, but decided to upgrade and were glad we did. Our room was on the second floor looking out over the pool and directly toward the beach and Stearns Wharf. We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely go back someday. The Happy Hour at Eladio's was excellent.

Room Tip: Ocean view overlooking the pool toward the ocean is worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights in September and thought it was a great location- right on the beach so you have the 'holiday' feel. Staff were helpful and we thought the parking was reasonable for where you are. The pool wasn't massive but was big enough and a nice area to sit and relax. Rooms are really big with two large double beds!! The only downside to our room was the thin walls but I think that was just bad luck and inconsiderate other guests- playing music as loud as they can and talking/screaming a tea hotbed really loud at 5am, up for an early flight.. But I wouldn't leg that stop me booking here again. It was about a 10minute walk into the town which had gorgeous shops, restaurants and really nice bars too. Santa Barbara is such a beautiful place, I'm sure anyone would love it :)

Room Tip: Would be ice to get a sea-facing one as the view would be perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KLD3488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My husband and I spend a night at the Harbor View Inn last month. It was our second stay at the hotel. It is a lovely place located right across from the water, which means, beach, bike path, pier and most of what you love in Santa Barbara. The hotel itself looks like an upscale motel, which is fine. It is a low building with a few wings. The wings are separated by either parking lot or walkway. Not inconvenient, unless weather is foul. First stay was in the North Wing. We had an amazing room on the top [second?] floor. No views, but very spacious with fireplace and vaulted ceilings. This time we were in the east wing, with a long balcony featuring a sidelong peek at the ocean. To be fair, this room was not one of their ocean-views. It was nicely decorated, clean and quite large. We also saw another ocean-view room on the ground floor. Smaller but featuring a patio with lounge chairs. Seems that there are many options. The Harbor View has an adjacent restaurant, though we did not eat there this trip. The hotel is close to the "mouth" of the main street in Santa Barbara, so a 15 minute walk will yield all you could want in the way of restaurants, bars, shopping and bike rental. The hotel staff is very accommodating and upbeat. Since we originally booked online through Expedia, then made a change through Expedia agent [who called the hotel directly for our final reservation] some mistakes were make. Not because of anything the hotel did, and, evens, the manager felt bad about our disappointment on not getting an ocean view and sent us a bottle of champagne with a lovely note. We would stay here again, making certain to book an ocean view room on the second floor.

Room Tip: Second floor ocean view for beach-front; North Wing for quiet and privacy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Debodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel has a great feel about it, the only problem was we were only in Santa Barbara for one night so didn't get to stay as long as we would of liked.

The hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach and next too the pier, the main town is only a short walk away with plenty of bars and restaurants.

Room was extremely spacious with sliding doors and a large balcony, bathroom had two sinks and a good sized shower clean and decorated in a Spanish style which is in keeping with the vibe in the town and beach.

If we are ever in Santa Barbara again we will defiantly be staying at Harbor View Inn.

Room Tip: Do have rooms overlooking the beach
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were so happy to find this lovely hotel. We chose a deluxe resort city view, which also had a bit of a view of the ocean. The room was huge. It had an awesome bathroom with a beautiful tub, a small living room that lead to a balcony to sit on. The bed room was great too. The bed was super comfortable and we loved the fireplace in the bedroom. Unfortunately, it wasn't working upon on arrival. They sent out a very nice man to take a look at it. He was not maintenance and was not able to repair it that night. When we woke the following morning our room smelled like gas, which was pretty scary. I called the front desk to speak with the manager. We were told his name was Jr but no one seemed to able to find him and he never called us back. They sent someone out to fix the fireplace and it worked fine after that. I would have hoped that someone would have called us back to check on it but no one ever did. Other than that our time at The Harbor View Inn was great.

Room Tip: Choose the newer building in the back. The parking lot exits and enters onto State street which is...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Forevergandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £205 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing