We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Inn after laboriously trying to pick the perfect hotel without spending a fortune. This hit the mark. Fantastic location on the oceanfront and State. We settled for a standards room to save cost and we were very pleased. They said it had "no view" but we disagreed. It had a lovely mountain view from our private patio. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We had stated on the reservation it was our Anniversary and within minutes of getting into our room the sent up complimentary champagne.
We had Happy Hour at the onsite restaurant and it was very good and the drinks a bargain.
Right next door is a bike rental place and you can ride right there on the oceanfront bike path.
The grounds are lovely and very we'll maintained. My daughter had a facial and loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    448
    112
    46
    41
See reviews for
307
648
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

My fiance and I stayed here recently and it was fantastic! We even booked an extra night and they upgraded us to the ocean view suite for a very good price! It's in a great spot close to downtown and all the good restaurants. The staff was very accommodating to us and treated us extra special because my fiancé proposed on the beach. They hooked us up with champagne and glasses to celebrate the occasion! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Harbor View Inn was very nice, but for the price, I wanted to feel more pampered. The whole experience from check in to check out felt vaguely motel-like, not 3- or 4-star hotel. The staff was nice but not particularly well trained. For example, while the gentleman checking people in was busy with the people in front of us, another lady walked out of the office and looked around at the people in line, but didn't acknowledge us in any way or offer assistance. I said to her, we are checking in, but she just told us to wait and then walked away. The young lady who did then check us in did not know the location of a nearby popular tourist spot. We were not offered any assistance with our bags. Our room was not ready and we were told we'd receive a call when it was, but we never did. Everyone we encountered gave the impression they were doing the job because it was available and not out of any interest in the hospitality industry. My boyfriend said of the staff, "No one seems like they are having a fun or going out of their way for us. It's like the difference between flying Southwest and USAir."

In the room, there were not nearly enough towels. Only one washcloth and hand towel, two bath towels. We didn't have time to call for more, so we grabbed a few towels from the gym as we walked by. There was a mini bar fridge, but it was locked and we were not given or offered a key for it.

The pool towels were thin and worn. The pool itself was in dire need of a skim -- I wanted to get in but only put my feet in. There was no attendant and there were dirty towels lying around from earlier in the day.

On the plus side, we were offered an upgrade to ocean front for $20 and we took it. The room was very nice -- no complaints about the cleanliness or comfort. The balcony was large and the chaises were comfortable. The bathroom was newly remodeled. The bathtub was huge and modern, but the shower was tiny and dark -- I would vastly prefer a large shower.

We considered staying another night to enjoy the view and the local scene, but finally decided that the Harbor View Inn was not giving us the value for dollar to make it worthwhile. The staff wasn't willing to give us the same price for the following night, even though it was still a weeknight. We've stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn and I would rank the comfort and cleanliness as equal, but the Spanish Garden Inn makes you feel pampered the minute you walk in and parking and breakfast are included. My impression was that the Harbor View Inn feels they don't have to try very hard due to their amazing location.

Room Tip: The ocean view room was wonderful, if you can get it at a good price. I was afraid it would be loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redheada1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Jolla, Ca.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Spent two nights here in early April. Found the property through TA but still wasn't really sure.
There's always that moment of angst when you pull up to a location you are unfamiliar with.
My angst latest about 2 seconds. Pleasant lobby and friendly people at check in.
Hotel is right across the street from the ocean at the foot of State st ( the main drag) in SB.
It is across the street from the SB Wharf which made for a pleasant post arrival walk.

The hotel is comprised of three buildings. We were in the North building which is the newest.
There is a seepage garage entrance and each room has an assigned parking space ( I really liked this feature. There is also a small bridge connecting the north building to the main hotel over a narrow water channel.

Our room and our building were extremely modern and clean. It was nice and quiet as well.
Beds, bathroom, furnishings, TV, patio all were much nicer than expected. the hotel wasn't cheap but it was 100's less than the Kimptin ( my original idea for a place to stay). Only thing weird was the shower was handicap accessible ( no big deal in itself) and water sprayed all over the floor outside the shower because there was no shield to stop it.

Many shops and restaurants accessible on foot. SB has great public parking as well so anywhere to far to walk wasn't a nightmare as public parking seemed ample and reasonably priced.

Had a really great dinner at The Lark. Just a few short blocks away in the "Funk Zone".
Many terrific places for breakfast to walk to also ( we found them all on Yelp).

Overall, based on location, price,and amenities I had an extremely favorable impression of the Harbor View Inn. I recommend it without hesitation and would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Great hotel sitting across road from the beach. We used the hotel for 2 nights on our trip from San Francisco to LA on highway 1. We where greeted by friendly staff in the parking lot and reception. We had booked a basic no view room so didn't expect much, the room was massive,huge bed, sofa and chairs and small patio outside could not fault the room. Big plus for us free wifi. We used the pool once it was great nice and clean and towels provided at pool. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We loved our stay at the hotel. The staff was wonderful and the facility was spotless. I would highly recommend the spa. The location was very central and perfect. We would definitely come back and would highly recommend it to all.

Room Tip: We had a water view which was great. I would only get a direct or partial water view.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christineworldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Rude receptionist answered phone on 4/30/14 at 3:00 pm. Continually spoke over me, was not at all helpful. Quoted a room and when I asked if it was an ocean view, she put my call on hold for 10 minutes (no kidding)! I hung up, called back. Then was told in such a condescending way "yes, this is our check-in time, we're busy" and put my call on hold again! How about, I'm sorry, may I take your number and call you back shortly? Or really any response that somehow resembled hospitality? This may be a nice hotel, but I won't be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BellaItaliaLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing