We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, in a beautiful area”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Erwin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here the last two times we travelled to Santa Barbara, nice rooms, very nice area. Plenty of good food close by. (If you want seafood, you got to try Brophy Bros. just up the street by the pier). If there was a down side to the hotel, I would have to agree with some of the previous reviewers that the desk staff seemed to be preoccupied with each other at times, rather than focusing on customers. Overall, a nice stay though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    452
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
314
654
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Santa Barbara is a must visit place.
We stayed at the Harbor View Inn and whiole Santa Barbara is a must see place, the hotel was disappointing. Staff seem disengaged and warmth wasnt one of their qualities. The room was excellent - 3rd floor - a luxury suite with a good view of the beach front. Rooms were kept clean and the maid service was very good.
We had booked for 3 people, but upgraded our room to what we thought we had booked - no drama - then we were charged an extra $15 per night for a rollaway bed that would have been provided with the previous room, and carparking of $10 per night, both of which were not disclosed when we checked in.
These items would have washed away if the service was top notch but unfortunately it wasn't.

Must eat places are Joes Cafe in the main street - excellent food - great breakfast - ask for Ruth - she's a great
Lazy Acres supermarket (5 minute drive from Hotel) has a great selection of food - they make sandwiches etc while you wait - fresh fruit selection is divine

Room Tip: WE stayed in Room 335 - very good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Although the hotel itself isn't spectacular, this is a great place to stay during a short trip to Santa Barbara. You are on the corner of the main street and across the street from the beach and the wharf. The rooms were above average but very comfortable. If you want to spend time in town, this hotel is a great bet.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbirds0809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wonderful location right across from the pier. I think the hotel is very expensive- the rooms are not huge and our room had NO air con the entire night. The staff also tended to look a bit bored. For the price- meh. Pros- luxurious linen, good bathroom, good coffee . Cons, expensive and dodgy cooling. Check yours works before going to bed!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbief27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luganville, Vanuatu
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights only in this hotel and I must we were so lucky to get the walk in price. The staffs were so friendly and helpful. Best location right 2 min walk to the Marina dock. About 10 minutes walk to the town. And the town is so clean and beautiful. I really love Santa Barbara. Definitely love to come back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenjie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Just returned from a quick last minute trip to Santa Barbara where we had the pleasure of stay for 3 nights at the Harbor View Inn. A little pricey, but wow what a great location, right on the ocean at the base of the famous Stearns Wharf. So so pretty, you could spend hours just walking and watching. The hotel itself is nicely kept and very pretty, a little dated but very comfortable. The pool area is small but very relaxing and offer bar and food service. I never ate at their signature restaurants as there are so many restaurants in walking distance to choose from. There is a small deck or balcony off the bedrooms, we had 2 queen beds and the washroom was a very good size ideal for 2 people to share with 2 sinks and lots of storage. The fitness room is small but again adequate and the gift shop offers a few items, but I would suggest the hotel expand the selection of local wine. We found only 6 bottle to choose from which was disappointing since we were in the heart of Californian wine producers, and if you want to sit outside and enjoy a glass of vino with the spetacular view they could give the clients a larger selection. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and plan on returning in the following year to share my experience with loved ones.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the ground floor or facing the pool area. The pool is open until 10 and if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrysP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topanga
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights for a quick weekend getaway. Most Santa Barbara Hotels are very overpriced, however, this hotel was very well priced for the great location. We were able to walk to most restaurants and the pier easily. We asked for a good view, and got two great balconies in our room. Will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: ask for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
403 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing