We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel, Friendly Helpful Staff, Pool Beware”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Property is well maintained and aesthetically pleasing and staff is accommodating and helpful. We had City/Resort View Rooms (3rd floor) - basically you are overlooking the parking lot HOWEVER these are probably the quietest rooms as they do not face the main street - we stayed during the week (non-weekend). It was unfortunate that we booked rooms while the neighboring property was receiving a new roof (a lot of banging & sawing) but "working hours" were tolerable as we were out of the room most of the day - would be nice if staff would have disclosed this at check-in so as to avoid the surprise. The rooms are VERY spacious and in particular room 318 is a splendid little "Casita" I would describe as a Jr Suite. This room overlooks the parking lot but has a view of the creek and a small ocean view through a widow near the beds (double bed room). Beds are unbelievably comfortable, my traveling companion said it was the most comfortable hotel bed she has ever slept in. Nice view and all rooms have a nice balcony. This property is near the train station but trains do not run in the middle of the night (weekdays- not sure about weekends) - they stop by about 11pm and resume about 7 or 7:30 and they do blow their horn. I am a light sleeper and early riser and I found this was not a problem. After a hot day in Solvang we decided to use the pool. At the entrance gate to the pool there is a sign stating "Persons with active diarrhea or persons having had active diarrhea in the past 14 days are not allowed/admitted to the pool", suffice to say we stayed away from the pool and sat outside the area on the lawn. Overall I would recommend this hotel - but disclose to any friends the issue with the pool in case that is an important feature to their vacation.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Resort/city view rooms overlook parking lot but are very quiet (at least during the week...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MalibuLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Right across the street from the ocean. The room was beautiful. It was pricey but worth it. Carpet was stained didn't expect that for the price. Nice pool area with poolside bar. Could not get wifi to work. Front desk said I was the only one who had that problem.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I have chosen this hotel for our weekend getaways for the past couple of years. We will continue in the future. We prefer the ocean view rooms which have a spectacular view of the pier, beach and harbor. We make the reservations well in advance, this year with Haley, whose personality alone would make you want to stay there. When we finally arrived, Haley was at the front desk cheerily welcoming us. The whole staff was fun, warm and helpful. While walking around we saw several different hotels but wouldn't change for a discount. Thank you Haley and staff. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

After 3 full weeks and over 4000 Miles on the road, we chose Santa Barbara for a few days of relaxation time by the pool. Santa Barbara is beautiful and the Harbor View Inn was a perfect place to stay.

Hotel was excellent, very friendly staff, excellent room service (garlic chicken pasta dish was superb) and small but very well equipped spa, meant we had the perfect end to a superb holiday.

Hotel is on the beach front and is a lovely short walk to the pier and the harbour. Make sure you have a ride on "little toot" the harbour taxi... :-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at The Harbor View Inn for our anniversary weekend and it was amazing! The staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Our room was GORGEOUS and the location cannot be matched. Sooo many amenities, not the least a beautiful pool area with an outdoor eatery/bar with yummy food and delicious drinks. We were able to walk around the beautiful beach area and never had to use our car. Restaurants, shops and local attractions all within walking distance makes this hotel a MUST. We will definitely go back...I can't wait!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danamarquel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Post Card view! Best describes the view from the front lobby!! First time to Santa Barbara celebrating our 11th yr wedding anniversary(06/2013) .hotel staff was very professional, the room was very beautiful and clean..the view from our room however was to the parking lot, which we really didn't care because we were out on the beach or around town. ..but our over all stay was great! Would we ever go back???...Heck yes!!..

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank piercerosita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I have stayed here many times and the most one, yesterday, was just as marvelous as the others. The property is well maintained, beautiful grounds and competent people. I have to say though that it is VERY expensive. They used to at least not charge for parking, now it's an additional $10.00 above the VERY expensive nightly charge.

Room Tip: If you are going to spend the money get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,094 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £209 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing