We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, great location”
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #10 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, great location”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for several nights in February. Our room was an ocean view and it was beautiful. Very spacious with a nice bathroom. The staff was very polite and we enjoyed the restaurant there. We had no problems with parking and always found a close spot. The location is great as it is right across the street from the beach and very close to shopping. We enjoyed our stay. Santa Barbara is a charming town.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    452
    113
    46
    41
See reviews for
314
654
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a total of 3 nights on an impromptu road trip in July, and booked the room online just for 1 night last-minute. The rate charged for the room, which was at the back of the main building, without a view (looked out on a blank wall; room 205) was $279++. In our opinion, this was too expensive for a pretty simple motel-type room. The next day, when we decided to stay in SB longer, the person at the front desk seemed rather lacklustre and not very motivated to try and keep us in the hotel (and spending money there). After being quoted much higher rates, luckily the manager happened to walk by and ended up giving us a more reasonable rate for a better room in the new wing. In this wing, the rooms, the corridors and the open lounge on the second floor all feel so much better and fresher. If you stay at this hotel, insist on staying in the new wing that sides onto State Street.
We enjoyed that room so much better, we decided to stay a third night. Internet is included in the rate, so is parking.
The location of the hotel is right in front of the Wharf, so it is great for walking and bicycling along the beach front. To walk up State street, it is just 1 block up the street to where all the shops start.
We would stay here again, but only in the new wing. ;-)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Cris-in-Bkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We could not work out if this was an Inn or Hotel as some areas reflected a nice hotel 'look' and other areas let it down. From the brochure, the pool looked fantastic but in reality, it was disappointing. The pool side loungers were really uncomfortable and the bar was only open until 5pm! The pool was much smaller than we envisaged and uncomfortably packed in with furniture. We walked about 30 minutes down to East beach which was quite nice although no sun beds to hire, so take towels.
The hotel location was close to the promenade and the Wharf which housed a couple of good fish restaurants but you need to book (Brophys) and just a 15 minute walk to the left up State Street, were a good selection of cafes, restaurants and shops.
The view from our room/balcony was dreadful but there again, we didnt book a sea view. However, the nicely decorated rooms were huge with 4 of us sharing two queen size beds and were impressed to find Molton Brown bath products.
An expensive hotel for what it offered plus parking fee on top. I would give Santa Barbara a miss next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed two consecutive nights in July in the wonderful Santa Barbara. We enjoyed the Harbor view hotel on this top location. We enjoyed the hotel pool as well as the beach situated at 20 meters from the hotel. Great breakfast in the attached restaurant.
An absolute advisable hotel to enjoy all Santa Barbara could offer you. Also very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik2540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My family and and I were unfortunately only here for 2 nights. In summary a great hotel, in a great location for the beach, clean, well maintained and great staff.

We had room 323 (two queen beds) in the west wing, with superb views over the pool and the beach. I specially requested a seaview on level 3 and I got it. Wow, one of the best views from a hotel room i've ever had. Level 2 and 3 in the west wing appear to be the best as they have superb views and are far enough away from the road. There are rooms over the main reception facing the beach but they are closer to the road so can only assume they are a bit noisier. Level 3 views are the best the only slight difference between level 2 and 3 (apart from view) is that the level 3 balcony is slightly smaller with only chairs, whereas I noticed level 2 had sun loungers on the balcony.

Worth noting that there are rooms in this hotel that don't look over the pool or beach. My advice is pay a bit more to get the views you won't be dissappointed!

All public areas of the hotel were excellently maintained and spacious and welcoming.

The only 2 downsides of this hotel that I experienced were:-

1) the distance from the main restaurants along State Street. Although State street is right next to the hotel, the nearest restaurants on it, were about a 15min walk. No big deal but worth knowing. We ate in the hotel restaurant once and inToma's restaurant, both within 5 mins walk on the main beach road. Both meals were excellent.

2) service around the pool was slow for food because the food was cooked in the hotel restaurant some distance away. Similarly drinks took along time to come when the snack bar wasn't open, after 6pm.

Overall i was impressed with this hotel. It is what it says it is.

I will definitely go back to this hotel if i visit Santa Bababra again, which i will because its a great beach resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel is in great location, although a pretty far walk up State Street to many of the restaurants for dinner. You can walk to a beach directly across the hotel but found East Beach near the volleyball court a nicer place to swim and spend the day. We rode bikes there but there was plenty of parking to drive as it was a pretty far walk from the hotel. The room was spacious and clean with a big bathroom (although only one sink). My only complaint was the view. While I did not book an ocean view, I did pay for a city/resort view instead of a standard rate. I wish I just paid the standard rate as my view was extremely disappointing as it overlooked a house under contraction and the parking lot. I wouldn't have considered that a resort/city room and even questioned them when I checked out. I was told the room was, in fact, a "resort/city view". Also, you have to pay for parking. I am not sure why as they have a very small lot and if they are full you have to go into an "overflow" lot which is across the street in back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Either pay for an ocean view or get a standard room. The difference in price for the resort/city vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovecapecod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at the Harbor View Inn and found it to be a great location, as it is across the street from the beach and the pier. The room we stayed in had a partial view and was on the courtyard near the pool. It was clean and very comfortable….having a small deck with 2 chairs and a table and free wi-fi. We were off the street and it was quiet at night. Since we weren't in the room very much, I would choose to save money and not spend another $100 a night for a view. We booked our room at $385 a night and then the next morning it was listed at $315 and they were nice to honor the lower price. There is a $10 per night parking fee, which is worth it, as there seemed to be very few places to park for any length of time nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel and especially the restaurant adjoining it.

Room Tip: We liked room 230, as it was quiet and had a partial view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancygSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing