We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth splashing out for a sea view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harbor View Inn
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth splashing out for a sea view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We had a lovely spacious room with a balcony overlooking the beach, pier and harbour. Great to sit here with a G&T and watch the world go by! It was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool area, where good music was playing, though I could imagine this would be a little intrusive for some guests. I thought the restaurant was quite basic for this standard of hotel, but there are good restaurants nearby. Only minus was charge for guests to park - not enormous at $10 per day, but....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    440
    110
    45
    39
See reviews for
293
622
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed, it was supposed to be our special treat for this vacation, we paid 420$ for one night and we felt it like a rip off. The room looked old and smelled old, we even had a CD player next to our bed. The carpet was dirty. This hotel needs a serious renovation. The ocean view was in fact a street view (where you could always hear the cars), with the public beach on the other side. This was supposed to be one of their best rooms, I can't imagine how the rest looks like. We will definitely not go there again and I don't recommend it to anybody. With this money you can have way better conditions.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Lavinia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Having booked a $400+ room via Expedia for five (two adults, three young children) we found the room and two queen beds somewhat restrictive for our family.
As such we requested a foldaway bed, and as with others, we got hit with a non negotiable $15 "courtesy fee" on our bill. I'm still not sure who the courtesy was for.
I accept the Harbor View Inn is in a prime location in Santa Barbara, and parking at $10/night is fair game. Post check out we opted to get breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We can't wait to go back to spend more time in Santa Barbara and the Harbor View is a super and centrally located hotel to take it all in from. Rooms were spacious with great beds and terraces. Our room overlooked the water and you are just across the street from the pier and right around the corner from State Street which is the main drag in Santa Barbara. My son and I went sport fishing and needed fishing licenses and the staff was very patient and helped us print them off the California government website. Pool area is sweet with nice hot tub and pool bar. Place has it all.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We had a great room looking out over the pool and the ocean. The beds were super comfy; the bathroom large and luxurious; the food better than many room service menus.
I would absolutely stay again and definitely recommend it to others.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff and rooms. Room 339 was special and highly recommended. Great view and two patios. Room was well equipped . Housekeeping was great. Coffee shop on the property with Seatle's Best coffee and great pastries. The lady running it was super. Eladios restaurant on the property was good for lunch. Bernice and Sam were very helpful at front desk as were all of the folks at the hotel. Highly recommended hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank rxplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We only had two nights at this hotel as we were en route from San Fransisco to Los Angeles but we had a veery nice room - not looking at the beach but it was nice an quiet overlooking a garden
We had breakfast at Eladios next to the hotel which was nice . We did not have time to use the pool but had alook and it was in a lovely private part of the hotel and we would have loved to sit and swim if we had had the time. The staff were pleasant and helpfull and the location of the hotel was across the road to the lovely beach and five minutes from the train station which was ideal for us. We could easily walk up state street which was lovely. Would definately stay again

Room Tip: I think most rooms in this place would be nice however some look out onto other rooms and look a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blodyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#39 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.6 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor View Inn

Property: Harbor View Inn
Address: 28 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#7 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbor View Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Santa Barbara's premier 4-Diamond boutique oceanfront hotel. Centrally located to the beach, downtown shops, restaurants, museums and attractions. Enjoy all of our wonderful amenities which include heated pool and jacuzzi, Full service Spa,room service, gift shop, fitness center, coffee bar and restaurant, Eladio's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor View Hotel Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Santa Barbara
Harbor View Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing