We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel value!”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel value!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here with a friend during a road trip in California. The hotel was great! The staff on reception were very friendly, our room was very clean and bed pretty comfortable. Price wasn't ideal, but still not bad value for money considering what you get! The location is the only slight let down, we walked to the centre, however it was a long walk and we probably would take a car if we came here again. The pool in the centre gave the hotel a nice feel and the safe in the room was really handy for us. Overall it was a great experience and room was very nice, main let down being location/price, but not significant hence the 5 stars!

Room Tip: We had poolside, was pretty nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mx_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    302
    124
    42
    38
See reviews for
189
234
23
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed one night and was not impressed. The rooms are dark even with all the lights on. I could not bet the air to work. Never could get the Internet to work. But the service at front desk was excellent and at the restaurant. Braulio at the front desk saved me with air, late check out , and just overall superb service.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were staying in Santa Barbara for a night and were scrambling because a lot of the hotels were booked and the only options left were pretty pricey. We secured a room at the Lemon Tree Inn for ~$300 and I assumed it would be a dive that was taking advantage of how booked the city was. I was pleasantly surprised, because the inn is adorable. The rooms are spacious and modern. The outdoor area has a pool and hot tubs and a ton of greenery, which made a nice environment.

We enjoyed grabbing a cocktail at the bar and sitting in our outdoor patio. They have good happy hour deals on drinks. My only complaint is that we got carded multiple times at the bar. Even after we told the waitress we had already been carded AND had already ordered, she carded us a second time. We are 28 and 30 so it’s not like we look underage. It was a little bizarre.

I would still say $300 is pricey for this place, but that seems to be Santa Barbara pricing! I’d stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We booked the Lemon Tree at short notice and where very pleased with the result. The place is located on the top end of State Street about 2 miles from the beach so a car is essential. The rooms where very clean and the service was top-notch. The young guy at the front desk was extremely helpfull and I will stay again when I return next year. Recommended......

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room as they have great outlook from the veranda area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Just booked one night at Lemon Tree during our CA drive trip. Lemon Tree Inn is a surprise for us. Room is very big, clean and new. The bed is comfortable. And the price is very reasonable. Free parking and free wifi and good location. This is very nice hotel. We like it very much.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The bottom line is, Santa Barbara is not cheap. We were in town for a wedding, and the bride seriously looked at every hotel in SB before including this as the more affordable option. The other option was over $350 a night before tax and resort fees, while the Lemon Tree was about $250 per night with tax for a nice room that opened directly onto the pool.

While it does have a "motel" feel to it, we had a completely fine stay. The staff were friendly, the pool was great and gets great sun (our friends at the expensive hotel on the beach were in fog while we had great sun). We had brunch at the restaurant, and while not fast, the food was great and they were very accomodating of our large group.

While it's not the most luxurious place in Santa Barbara, it was fine for us, and was a great deal in the scheme of things.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are more expensive but great to have that direct access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehana329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I just returned from a one night stay at this Inn with several of my girlfriends We were there for a wine tasting tour and booked 2 rooms. We were excited about the initial impression of the hotel. Our rooms were in a great location, very clean and updated and having the patios outside looked like so much fun to be able to sit around for a bit.. Why such a low rating? The service was horrible. We were treated like garbage.
When we were first unloading our vehicle, a man asked us if we were the ones causing all the noise the night before, not allowing him to sleep. We had JUST got there. Let's name this man MR. [--], who turned out to be staying in the room next to us which ruined our stay.
Jason, a staff member, came later that evening and accused us of making to much noise. There were 3 of us in a room, we had just came back from dinner, we were getting undressed and of course talking- not yelling, not blasting music, simply talking!!! Jason warned us that if we continued to make noise he would have to do "something". No more than half an hour later, Jason returned, and said that he wanted to move our rooms, because Mr. [--] had complained again. We told him why don't you move him then? He said he wouldn't move him since he was the one with the complaint. So instead he thought it would be wiser to move 2 rooms of girls in their night garments in the middle of night when we were all unpacked. We refused to move and asked to speak to a manager. Jason said he was the only one there that night and that there was no need to speak to a manager because and I quote "I am very capable of doing many things!" What the [--] was that? A threat? I was really scared for my safety at that point. We told him that if he came back to our rooms we would call the police for harassment. How could he take one guest word over us? Was it because we were female? Maybe he thought we were drunk and he could take advantage of us. We shut the door, locked ourselves in and kept our phone in hand in case we needed to call the cops.
After reading some other reviews it is very clear this hotel has a problem with the thinness of their walls. The "noise" issue is a common complaint. Before you start harassing your guests maybe you should look into fixing the problem or disclose the issue to your guest upon arrival. I don't care how nice this hotel is or what rate they are offering, I will NEVER stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Our Goal is to have every guest in our Beautiful Hotel enjoy their stay and when they leave us with big smiles on their faces... looking forward to returning.
To achieve this goal we must do many things, but most important is doing everything possible to ensure adequate quiet for sleeping in the nighttime.
When we have a noisy group we must take action to restore quiet, and this is the case in any Hotel. The alternative is to ignore the complaints of other guests who rented a room with the reasonable expectation of quietude. Simply ignoring noisy guests that do not realize they are disturbing others is not our policy, and we will take action to restore quiet during the sleeping hours.
Our Hotel features rooms with private balconies and patios and French Doors and late at night we do ask our guests to please respect the others that may be trying to sleep. It is rare that more than a polite reminder is needed to restore quiet for all.
We find the majority of our guests enjoy the spacious feel of our rooms and the tropical atmosphere of our grounds that promotes relaxation and calm.
We are sorry this guest did not have a memorable stay, it is never our intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Orange Tree Inn
Orange Tree Inn
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Property: Lemon Tree Inn
Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing