We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time for me”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 11 October 2013

On a bit of a road trip. Arrived here for 2 nights at 4-30. Out for a very nice meal. Arrived back for a before bed drink at 9-50 to discover the bar shuts at 9-30. That's a first for me. I don't think I'd come again. A hotel is here to provide a service. Not shut down at 9-30 .

Room Tip: Pick somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMonty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Thank you JMonty999 for reviewing our Lemon Tree Inn. We regret our Bar being closed for your bedtime drink, our default closing time is 9:30pm for our Restaurant/Bar...but we normally stay open much later.
We offer Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 365 days a year in the Crocodile Restaurant. Our cuisine is Santa Barbara-style Italian, utilizing locally sourced produce, seafoods and wines. We also offer great Charbroiled steaks and custom Cocktails which can be enjoyed in our bar, dining room or on our outdoor patio.
Our 96 spacious guest suites, most with private balconies or patios, all feature Sony LCD televisions, safes, air conditioning, complimentary coffee service and everything necessary to fully enjoy our Hotel.
The Lemon Tree Inn is built around a lush 1 acre Tropical Courtyard with its huge heated swimming pool and Hydro-Spa. There is Free parking and Free Wi-Fi for all our guests.
We hope you will consider us for your lodging needs on your next Santa Barbara visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

332 - 338 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2013

Santa Barbara can be very expensive so I chose this hotel, in part, because it was a reasonable price. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality. The room was very clean and comfortable. The adjoining restaurant/bar was good. (It's not open for breakfast, however.) The first floor room we had opened to the pool area and had a little private patio with a small table and chairs. The only negative comment I have is about the lack of good lighting in the bathroom. It was very dim in the shower area. It was a little better in the sink area just outside the shower but not much.

Room Tip: I'd definitely ask for a first floor room facing the pool on a return visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kandreassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Me and my husband stayed at Lemon Tree one night while traveling from L.A to San Francisco.
We only wanted "a place to sleep", and for that purpose the Lemon Tree Inn was great!
Clean and fresh room, and a great restaurant!
We arrived late, and left early the next morning, so unfortunately i can´t say anything about the location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tusseluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

There was just about nowhere else in Santa Barbara available as we left it late to book and so parting with $300 online gave us some concerns. But there were some ok reviews here. Reception was great. The guy there is a Tottenham Hotspur fan, so useful to know for any Brits. We were put into what he said was the 'best room in the house' , 344. Was it retro or old fashioned? Depends on your pov I guess, and not for me to criticise. But what really lets this place down are the poor amenities in the room. Thin towels, even thinner toilet paper(!), soap and shampoo made in China, and a measly one tea bag. No outside balcony light meant we couldn't really enjoy that area after dark. When it was light it was noticeable that the edges of the carpet hadn't been vacuumed for some time. Would we stay again or recommend? Sadly not as it stands. But with some care and attention to fairly minor points things could easily change

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Teddall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBINNKEEPER, Manager at Lemon Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Teddall, Thank you for reviewing our Hotel. The Lemon Tree Inn is what we call Neo-60s. The original building opened in 1960 and was very modern for that time. The Hotel was expanded twice since then and the Architectural intent was to maintain the original 60s character. The Lemon Tree is constantly evolving to keep up with the times, but our niche will always be to keep the 1960s Californian experience alive.
We apologize for the in-room tea service. We currently provide Wolfgang Puck Coffee, Green tea, and Lipton black tea Complimentary in every room. This service is designed as a basic beverage convenience when our restaurant is unavailable. A full selection of teas, locally roasted coffee, espresso drinks as well as a full range of interesting Beers, Liquors and amazing Wine List are found in our on-site restaurant "Crocodile".
Our property does feature spacious private balconies or patios on most rooms. There is a wall switch for many rooms to control the patio/balcony lights, we are sorry this was not discovered during your stay.
We are a full service Hotel, with 24-Hour Front Desk that is always available for assistance to offer assistance at all times.
We are constantly evolving and improving our property and we thank you for your suggestions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Traveling with my two older teenage girls and my husband enroute to Anaheim we stayed in this lovely property. I wished I was there another night as the pool and the surrounding grounds were wonderful. The room itself was very spacious and the decor was up to date. The beds had 3 pillows each so it left two of us having to fold ours in two for some extra support. I requested two extra pillows but they were fresh out.
They had a restaurant on site but it was pretty expensive (relative to the cost of the inn) for a quick breakfast before hitting the road we went to Denny's ( which was the worst Denny's I've ever been to.....and that's saying something!) The inn is a terrific value in my opinion and I would stay there again for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Arrived here after 2 nights in LA and it was literally like an oasis after that. Lovely grounds although we didn't have chance to use the pool. Great room, comfortable bed (fab nights sleep) & good shower. We got there early evening and it was a bit far to walk to the main shops & restaurants of Santa Barbara so decided to eat in their restaurant as we were a little tired. Food was very good & service was excellent. Would recommend as an affordable pit stop.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJHOL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Lemon Tree Inn was a lovely retro motel. The pool area in the central courtyard was huge, with plenty of tables and chairs and a big hot tub, landscaped beautifully with a tropical feel. Check in was a breeze. The room was huge, beds were comfortable, bedding was new and nice, plenty of room for our family of four. I like that the bathroom had one room with a toilet, tub/shower and sink, and a separate room with another sink plus plenty of counter space. We had a great patio with a sliding door from the room that led out to the pool area, with a table and four chairs, perfect place for a cocktail or breakfast. I do wish the room had a mini-fridge and microwave. The property is old so some things are a bit dated, but everything was very clean and in good working order. Wi-fi internet service worked great both in the room and out by the pool. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: First floor room with sliding door out to pool area was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Santa Barbara
2.5 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-3415
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £63 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing