We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“week end in Santa Barbara”
Review of Lemon Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lemon Tree Inn
Ranked #33 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Newfane, New York, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“week end in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Wonderful Inn. very clean rooms, great pool and hot tub. Friendly staff. East to get to from airport
on state street. Have been here several time and never disappointed with the room or service.
Love the real lemon trees in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    307
    124
    43
    39
See reviews for
190
237
23
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford City, North Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel multiple times in the past few years. I love it. The beds are SUPER comfortable. The hotel has been renovated in the past, so it looks like it was built in the 80's but it has modern conveniences. I love the location, but it is near a major road. The benefit of that is you are close to many things. The down side is the noise. If you are really concerned about that sort if thing, which I am not. I've never had any problems with the staff and the hotel is clean. Maybe I'm just overly attached, but I love this place. Wish it was a little cheaper tho. Right now I'm staying for $136/ night. But I've found things in this area are always a little more expensive. Especially if you plan on a weekend or any peak time. So be prepared to pay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jordan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night though wish it could have been longer. Rooms are very nicely updated with a modern-retro feel. First floor rooms have good sized patios facing the pool.

Lovely and safe neighbourhood, which was great for a morning jog. Also easy walking distance to Old Mission (worth a visit).

Adjoining room doors are noisy -- could hear the neighbours easily.

Restaurant looked good but didn't have time to try it. Next time!

Excellent value.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
404 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Lemon Tree for three nights while visiting my daughter. The hotel has a nice restaurant called the Alligator Inn and the staff is pleasant. My room was spacious and it had a nice veranda to enjoy the sun. The problem with the place is that it has thin walls. If you stay on the first floor, you will hear every step above and around you. Hard to sleep when you hear a symphony of noise from your neighbors. Also, try to avoid rooms 137 - 140. The maids congregate in this area at 6:15 AM and enjoy spending time talking about world events. Lastly the Hotel needs to use softener in their wash. The towels feel like razor blades after a shower.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

pretty cheap! not the best location but if you have a car then its an easy drive to the pier and you can park there for 3 hours i think! the rooms were good and beds comfortable... wifi didn't work at all for us but we were only there for a stopover night to LAX so we weren't that fussed however we would have been happy with better wifi. they didn't take cash on arrival? which was really weird and annoying because they took the money from my account and then refunded the money on departure so we could pay cash but then i ended up with a 10 dollar fee from the bank... really frustrating

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorena, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Perfect stay over in Santa Barbara, CA! Great price! Great scenery! Clean rooms! Will definitely stay there again! Perfect poolside rooms with great view! Just minutes from Santa Barbara airport!!!!!!! The lemon trees were loaded with lemons....so perfect for the name of the hotel!!!!!!

Room Tip: Relaxing view! Poolside rooms with great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were satisfied but not overly impressed--about what I would expect for $100/nt in Santa Barbara. Location is a little too far up State for walking into town so we used our car often and finding free parking downtown can be tough. Check-in was courteous, went very smoothly and was fast. We were assigned a room on the back of the property without asking (!) and where parking was easy and free and street noise was minimal. Do not stay here if you are sensitive to noise since all rooms face the pool area, walls are thin so you hear rooms and balconies next door as well as some street and parking lot noise. Monday and Tuesday night were great, Wednesday not so much. This was not a big issue mid-week in the winter when it was pretty slow and uncrowded -- I could see how staying here on a busy summer weekend could be problematic noise-wise. Although our room was very clean and comfortable (wi good queen beds) and had first rate amenities like a beautiful garden setting, a pool and jaccuzi, a balcony, flat-screen TV, iron, decent coffee wi powder creamer (?), etc. some things were done a bit on the cheapside--bath towels were thin and small (like gym towels!), no fan or windows in the bathroom (steamy), toilet and shower in same room, and the heater cycled frequently and blew directly onto one of the beds (hard to sleep there). If you are looking for a quiet intimate couples get-a-way this probably is not the best place but if you are looking for a reasonably priced spot to hang with the family this may be just the ticket!

Room Tip: I always ask for top floor back-side anywhere I stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinacoleggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
0.6 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,027 reviews
0.8 mi away
Orange Tree Inn
Orange Tree Inn
#40 of 52 in Santa Barbara
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Inn

Property: Lemon Tree Inn
Address: 2819 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lemon Tree Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic neo-60s Inn in the Center of Paradise. Set on a Tropical 4 acres, Modern Guest Rooms with Private Patios or Balconies face our Lush one acre Courtyard with Giant Heated Swimming Pool and Hydro-Spa. Guest love our Crocodile Restaurant and Bar which features Californian style Italian Cuisine with something for every appetite. Dine in our Chic Dining Room or at our Cool Bar, on our Tropical patio or enjoy private In-Room Dining. Our Full-Bar features an extensive Wine List, Great local Draughts, Traditional and Exotic Cocktails.Spacious Guest Rooms feature comfortable Beds, Sony Flat Panel TVs, In-Rooms safes, In-Room Coffee. We Offer Pool-Side Rooms, Garden and Mountain View rooms and Atrium rooms...all accessable by Elevator.The Lemon Tree has Meeting Space and offers full In-House Licensed catering for all types of events.Our Friendly 24 Hour Front Desk Staff is eager to welcome you to the Lemon Tree Inn and Beautiful Santa Barbara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lemon Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Lemon Tree Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing