We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice stop for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mason Beach Inn
Ranked #21 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A nice stop for one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located. You can walk to the wharf.
The hotel style is nice and the check-in is ver friendly.
The parking is a little small.
Rooms are modern and well equiped. WIFI access is complimentary and the speed is sufficient.
The breakfast is for europeans terrible. The jam is just disgusting, croissants are one day old and 100% industrial. To sum upp, the breakfast offered is the one you will get in most of the hotels in US; no fresh squeezed juice, no fruits, no fresh bred, no true marmelade....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefan19100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    178
    54
    15
    12
See reviews for
95
177
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We love that we can easily park our car (plenty of parking in the lot near our room), and walk everywhere - beach, marina, zoo, wharf and State Street shopping/restaurants. The room was very clean and comfortable, but better chairs to relax in after all the walking would be greatly appreciated (very hard seat and straight back, hardly a chair to take a rest break after much walking around town), beds and pillows were great for sleeping, shower and bathroom was very clean and comfortable, front desk was most friendly, pool and breakfast was nice - also a Sambos restaurant is just down the street for breakfast/lunch. WiFi was only accessible in our room via our laptop - could not pick up the signal with an iPad or iPhone, since it was such a weak signal in our second floor room, but it did work about half way down the hallway. We had a microwave and small refrigerator which were nice additions, and A/C, although a ceiling fan would be nice to just move the air a bit when it's warm in your room from afternoon sun. Floor space was a little tight for three people. Overall, the location was great, the room was clean and comfortable, but I was surprised the room rate is $100 more per night on Fri/Sat, then during week nights - quite a large increase in my opinion. My family enjoyed our stay! :)

Room Tip: Our second floor room was on the end, just up from the parking lot (no view, other than a nice palm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliOne209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A couple of friends and myself stayed at Mason Beach last week while traveling up the CA coast. This hotel is in a great location, is clean and comfortable, and Nick was very helpful with information regarding places to eat and walk. I will stay here again if ever in Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pmsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The hotel was very clean and located on a quiet side street, a nice short walk to the beach and restaurants. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. I will definitely refer to friends and visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we visit Santa Barbara. From where we live SB is an easy train ride and MBI in a short walk from the station. The staff is friendly and helpful, rooms are clean and neat. We actually prefer the older, larger rooms between the lobby and pool area; The newer rooms are toward the back of the property on the 1st and 2nd story. The breakfast room in the lobby is a bit small but there is more space outside or you can take items back to your room. The walk through the west beach neighborhood to and from the station is always fun; its a beautiful older part of Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: There is a shuttle from near the train station that takes you through town to upper State St. for .2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidNolanCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Wow! I came to the Mason Beach Inn with my pregnant wife and 2 year old looking for a quiet retreat from the heat and craziness of LA! The Mason Beach Inn did not disappoint.

On the outside the building is charming with nicely attended flowers. Inside, the room was absolutely massive with a really comfortable bed and our room was nicely decorated. In addition, it had the mark of a great hotel: a powerful shower and clean bathroom. I think the TV had HBO and even TWC Sportsnet because we were able to catch some of the LA Galaxy game.

The staff were super pleasant and helpful. The pool area was very clean and a perfect temperature (a bit cold when I first jumped in but warmed up quickly - although I'm from Scotland so maybe have a higher tolerance level!).

We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that, but Sambo's restaurant around the corner was great. The location was really good as well - quick access to the beach, restaurants and pier and there is a 7/11 about a block from the hotel.

Price was a fantastic deal as well.

All in all, we were super happy here and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoffer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Great location, nice and quiet with a good pool. Only negative is breakfast isn't great but Sambo's restaurant is around the corner and they do a fantastic breakfast. Plenty of parking and easy walking distance of the Pier and State Street. There is a 711 on Castillo which is turn right out of the Mason.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
BEST WESTERN Beachside Inn
#28 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
Avania Inn of Santa Barbara
#38 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Property: Mason Beach Inn
Address: 324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing