We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for the price”
Review of Mason Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mason Beach Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good place for the price”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

A weekend in May can run you $250-$400 a night for a barely above average hotel/motel in Santa Barbara. For $189 a night, this was the nicest place for the price. Loved being so close to the beach. We walked or jogged every morning.
The only drawback was the housekeeping service. First day, they didn't clean our room at all. We had to ask for clean towels the next morning. After that, towels would be gone by midday, but not replaced until late afternoon. Garbage cans left full, coffee pot not cleaned, no fresh coffee packets left. The last day we ran out of TP and kleenex.
But the pool is nice and the location is great. Better than many of the $200+ hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    182
    55
    15
    12
See reviews for
96
182
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
157 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Payed $ 200.- in total ! At this rate you expect to have something totally different from:
- overaged furniture and small bathroom (wouldn't use the furnished shower gel...even to wash my feet)
- bad sound isolation,
- tiny pool with screaming kids (parents did not have any education notions),
- ridiculous breakfast, (as i don't eat sweet, i've been offered to toast some bread ... ! First class..)

We spent the next night at a Hyatt hotel, excellent service, rooms were nicelly furnished, huge bathroom with very good products (cosmétics), incredible breakfast, first class service, all that for a price of .... $ 140.- so that leaves you an idea of the rip-off this place is!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mehdi_Mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasonBeach, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I do apologize that your stay was not what you may have expected. We have done a lot of renovation over the past year and are still working on our furniture. We have added flat screen TV's to all rooms, granite counter tops, new cabinets and closets, new bedding etc. I do understand that you stayed on a Saturday night which can be expensive anywhere in Santa Barbara. As you mentioned you stayed the next night at a different location which would have been a Sunday. Our rates on Sunday would were starting at $119 plus tax. Unfortunately we do not have kitchen facilities so we can only offer a free continental breakfast. We do not build the breakfast into the cost of the room. We order our breakfast items daily from a local bakery. We do include three types of cereal, one being gluten free, fresh muffins, scones, and croissants, oatmeal, toast, apples, bananas, oranges, orange juice, coffee, an assortment of teas, hot chocolate, etc. We do feel that our price is very fair for the area as surrounding properties are often more expensive for the same or less amenities. We do use Oxygen brand amenities for our bathroom's which is of high quality. We are not a branded hotel such as a Hyatt, we are a small Boutique property with a great location, friendly and helpful staff, and pride ourselves on great service and Santa Barbara charm. I do apologize about the noise from the pool and spa area which is open from 10am to 10pm. Most of our guests love our pool area as you discovered by your comments. Again thank you for your comments as we strive to better our property and ourselves every day. We are of more than fair value for Santa Barbara and thank our many returning guests that enjoy our property and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We alternate staying here and several other "inns=motels" in Santa Barbara. High season and holiday rates are now in force so a quick getaway is getting pricier.

Mason Beach Inn has updates rooms with flat screen TVs, new bathroom sink tops and wardrobe closet instead of a rack on the wall.

Room had two queen beds (cheaper than one king) and a mini fridge that was empty (bonus points!).

Room is at end of hallway and overlooks small rental houses vs. parking lot so is a bit quieter.

WiFi service is still spotty - only 3 bars so if you need to do serious work, get a room close to the lobby or stay elsewhere.

Staff friendly, free breakfast ok - starch fest that doesn't work well if you are gluten-free (we are), so we ate instant oatmeal, juice and coffee.

Room Tip: ask for second floor and facing away from parking lot for quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highlandbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasonBeach, General Manager at Mason Beach Inn, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review. We have done a lot of renovation over the past year and are thankful that you have noticed the improvements. We are currently working on strengthening our Wi-Fi system. We have recently added a gluten free cereal to our free continental breakfast and are looking for more options for the future. Thank you again for your kind words and we cant wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Staying in Santa Barbara was a last minute decision and we picked a good place to stay. We were early so we had to whittle away the time till check-in at the Santa Barbara Botanical Gardens and Mission. The desk staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. They have a nice pool and hot tub area which I took advantage of after a long day. You are withing easy walking distance to the beach and some of the best restaurants in the area. We were pleased with the rooms, spacious and clean. The continental breakfast in the morning was very good. We were not disappointed in our one-night stay, wish it could have lasted another day. The gentleman at the desk was helpful in getting us directions on getting back to I-15 and home. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had originally been planning on staying at a different hotel but I messed up the reservation and we found this inn in a scramble. Location was excellent we walked to both the Urban Wine Trail and dinner, as well as being walking distance of beach. We did have a handicapped equipped room so the shower was boxy but still usable. The staff was helpful and the surrounding neighborhood was great for walking/ running.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
naperville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Was pleasantly surprised with Inn, very clean nice staff and reasonable rate. Close to beach and state street. Would stay at again. Also had a pool & hot tub that looked very nice as we'll. in morning also coffee, juice and rolls or muffins were available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank general001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Myself and 3 friends travelled here while I was on holiday in San Fran for the graduation weekend in June 2012 and I could not find fault with the place. For the price we got a great, central location right beside the beach which was nice, quiet and secluded. The staff were very friendly especially the night porter Dave who provided us with loads of information about Santa Barbara and its restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
921 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
732 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mason Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mason Beach Inn

Property: Mason Beach Inn
Address: 324 W Mason St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Barbara
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mason Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mason Beach Inn is within walking distance of beautiful West Beach and the oceanfront bike path, the Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor, Stearns Wharf, and the shops and restaurants on beautiful State Street in downtown. Santa Barbara’s world-class golf courses and renowned wineries are just minutes away.45 Well-appointed guest rooms, suites all non-smoking Year round heated swimming pool and SpaDeluxe continental breakfast Winter monthly and weekly rates available Complimentary wireless Internet service Front Desk Available 24 hrsMultilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Mason Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mason Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
Mason Beach Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing