We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a night or 2”
Review of Orange Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Orange Tree Inn
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here at the last minute when we decided to stay in Santa Barbara for the evening.

The Manager who checked us in was very accomodating and helpful. Gave us good advice and even helped print some tickets off for us.

You can catch a bus outside the hotel into downtown, you could walk it but its about 20mins.

Hotel doesnt offer any food, but there are loads of places nearby.

Rooms are basic, but comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFreeperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2012

Granted it was a last minute decision at around 4:30 to spend the night in Santa Barbara but we really should've tried harder to find a room. This place was pointed out to us by the lovely ladies at the tourist center. They were told it was recently renovated and the price was right at $80. They need to take this one off their list of hotels and we should've spent the extra $20 to get a better place.
The far out location was fine since we were driving so that was no issue.
Here were the issues with their list of "amenities":
-"Recently renovated" seemed to mean "we repainted a wall somewhere on the grounds and we dare you to find it!".
-Free wi-fi....uh, NO wi-fi. It would work for about 30 seconds....30 sloooowwwwwww seconds. Then nothing. Gone. Poof.
-Air conditioning....Sounded like we were inside a jet engine all night long!
-In-room safe....Uh...nope. And when we asked the desk they couldn't bring themselves to even act like they cared about lying about having it.
And as an added bonus you also don't get ANY toiletries, so if you dare to come here, bring your own soap! Plus, our bathroom door was broken, the bed was like a rock filled with rocks, and the water in the sink and shower was either freezing cold or "I've got a lawsuit" scalding hot.
It also would've been nice to have an in-room refrigerator since I'm sure any hotel along the PCH gets a lot of road-trippers like us. Instead this place lets you use a community fridge in their lobby. Weird, but fortunately no one ate our food.
Seriously...spend a few extra bucks and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

So folks, here it is. I am a very positive person and stick to the facts and not opinion but today may be my first time I deviate a little from that formula. This is a great Inn only 15 minute walk from down town that is very pleasant walk. Cab ride is about $15 to down town. The hotel has been recently renovated and is clean plus the rooms and bathrooms are very nice and in great condition.

A few observations that did not make a difference to me. The light switch in the room did not work so we had to hunt around to turn on the lamp (no bid deal). The florescent light in the bedroom over the vanity (not in the bathroom) would turn after 5 to 10 minutes (bad bulb, no bid deal)... Both needed to be fixed. The smoke detector in the room was missing (room 217). These are just standard maintenance items that should be paid attention to ownership :-(.

Here is the biggie... I would not stay here again on a Friday or Saturday night. The walls are paper thin and the windows are the slotted ones that provide for NO privacy. Since each room has a balcony and there were several wedding guests in the rooms many were having a good time and hanging out talking drinking etc. Getting a good night of sleep was not possible given the nights circumstances. But remember... walls are thin and windows are slotted so unless everyone is quiet it is a ruff sell for a good nights rest.

Staff- very helpful
Lobby - not much there

Hope this helps :-)

Room Tip: don't stay here for a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTwice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My daughter found a dirty sock in her bed when we stripped the sheets off the bed in the morning after our stay which means the sheets were not changed or clean when we arrived. The tile corners inside the room just as you enter are sharp and can cut your bare feet. The patio off the room looked like a cinder block prison cell. The police were called to one of the rooms at 3:00 AM. The hotel requires a credit card pre-authorization of $50 for "incidentals" and when I asked what this was for since there is no mini bar or the like in the room, she said it was to cover potential damage to the room. Really? What a bad joke this place is. This is a disgusting hotel which should not be in business.

Room Tip: Stay way from this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Had a one night stop over at the Orange Tree Inn. Provided a good base to visit Santa Barbara as the main street is within walking distance.
Large and comfortable bedroom which was clean and tidy.
The pool was a welcome sight after the drive over from Los Angeles.
The motel provided free parking and wifi access.
Staff were helpful and polite at all times.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank CMSYKES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We just returned from spending one night at the Orange Tree Inn in Santa Barbara. While basically a typical motel set-up, the room was nicely furnished, clean. with some good amenities. We had a little patio with table and chairs off our room that would have been perfect for a longer stay. The neighborhood is quiet, and the location on State Street is convenient to activities. While you could walk to the downtown area, there's also plenty of street parking available. The staff member on check in was nice, but focused more on the negatives (no pets, no smoking, out by 11:00, $50 hold on our credit card, etc.) than welcoming us. The checkout staff member was more friendly. We would stay here again because the price was reasonable for Santa Barbara and the location was convenient.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drmmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a very nice time in this motel. The place is very clean and the people at the reception was etremely kind. The room was on average. The only remark is the location: it takes at least 15 minutes walk to reach the city centre and on the way back it is uphill... at teh end we took a taxi to come back home after dinner in a restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamillaSad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#33 of 52 in Santa Barbara
716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel 6 Santa Barbara - State Street
1.3 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Inn

Address: 1920 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-2422
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Orange Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Orange Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Hotel Santa Barbara
Orange Tree Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing