We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beyond the current rate”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we travelled through CA for 2weeks and tried many kinds of motels.this one is beyond the internet rating.clean and quiet.the staff Graeme is helpful and friendly to everybody even we checkedin late night.it was a pleasant stay if we had time we would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed here twice for pleasure. From the guest service to the layout of the room- it is all excellent. Front Desk Agent Graeme has exceptional guest service and is always consistent in character when assisting guests. My room was more than enjoyable. Surely it is a motel, but this lodge goes above and beyond. Everything in the room is modern! Everything works! Everything looks clean and is highly attractive in my perspective. Checkout process is easy and fast. Quick bite to eat and coffee to grab before heading off is tasteful. One thing! Because nothing and no one is perfect- the parking is free which is great, but it's super tight. And if you go out for the evening- take a cab leave your car at the motel because finding a spot in the middle of the night is hard! That's the only bummer. But that small issue- wont keep me from staying again. Like I said get Graeme to assist you- you will enjoy your room, and jump on those cheap prices! :) my boyfriend and I will definitely be here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonandVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

After backpacking around the US for 6 weeks my boyfriend and I had our fair share of nice and not so nice accommondation.
This was one of the nice accommodations let me tell you.
Sure it isn't 4/5 star- if you want that check into the Four Seasons (only $500 ish a night...) the room was big, clean and cool. What you need in the height of summer. The pools were clean and quiet, great for relaxing around.The only downside was the breakfast, it was a bit rowdy and you have to push your way in to the toaster but it was good for a quick morning coffee and bite. The staff were friendly, the location was fine. My boyfriend and I walked the streets at night and it was fine, i felt very safe. I reccommend the Tee Off resturant over the road, the food was delish and it was cheap. Overall a great place to stay in Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Get the bus down to the waterfront as taxis cost a fortune, and check out the Tee Off restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We were so excited to visit beautiful Santa Barbara, but this hotel/lodge was a big disappointment. The room was not very clean and looked and smelled old. The staff was neither helpful or particularly friendly. I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emaxij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I was originally planning to stay in Santa Barbara for a few days, but we decided to extend it a lot more. The rooms are basic and clean. Breakfast is limited, bagels, cereal, juice. We got a good rate of about 80-90$/night and we needed to spend about a couple of weeks in the area so this worked out well. The hotel is very close to places to eat, coin laundry, grocery stores, etc, so it suited our purposes. The hotel manager Shaun was very accommodating.

We returned again a couple of weeks later just for one night and the reception staff was a horror. We were checking in late on a weekend with no prior booking and he played on that.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel, lodge, inn needs some renovation and upgrading badly in all areas! We booked a room with two doubles and a king bed. The only positive thing I can say about it is that it was spacious and toiletries were nice. The room needed new EVERYTHING! The beds were hard and cardboard box feeling; linens were old (washcloths were actually frayed and towels were dingy); bathroom fixtures/tile/ toilets/sinks were outdated; dirt in corners; paint job messy; chairs stained so badly I wouldn't sit on them! We paid well over $200 for a night and it was not worth it! So glad I didn't book for any longer!!!!!!! We only had one wash cloth in a room for 4 people; we requested 3 more wash cloths and they brought us 1 and 2 hand towels! Who washes with a hand
towel?????? This was a VERY disappointing stay in beautiful Santa Barbara. I would NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBontheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I stayed here 1 night to break up my car journey from San Francisco to LA and be close enough to drop the car off in LA early the next morning. Nothing special, very quiet, clean, local area seemed to be quite seedy as a previous reviewer also noted. Reception staff were not interested in the slightest in recommending somewhere to eat locally so had to make do with store across road.

Room Tip: Its ok for a stopover...nothing more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#44 of 52 in Santa Barbara
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing