We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by a young man on reception who really made us feel welcome,as soon as he knew we were English he asked and enjoyed chatting about cricket. the rooms were large and clean the pool was great, but at breakfast they had the best pastries it could seriously damage your health to stay there for long. It was in a good location on the main street that runs down to the shopping area and board walk ( or as we call it pier), it was walking distance to the Mall were they had a Jazz band on and we ate at a great restaurant all in all a good experience would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avrilwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    223
    138
    50
    45
See reviews for
180
195
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm a regular at the Sandpiper, my kids live in Santa Barbara so I average about 30 nights a year there. It's clean & comfortable, walking distance to many restaurants and just a short ride downtown to lower State. The offer a free breakfast in the morning that is perfect for my needs. Best of all are the family units with a bedroom and a main room so the kids get their own room.

The staff is great. Graeme is always friendly, efficient and always finds me a room. Sean & Victor are always helpful. Most of my business travel is Doubletree but when in SB, I always end up at the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baggiolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is very old and needs some upgrading. The rooms were as clean as they can get when the accommodations are old. The front counter staff is friendly and curtious. It is located close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auto_3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunchales, Argentina
Level Contributor
686 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

It si a typical motel. Good room, clean, comfortable, poor wifi signal (I was at the room number 123). It haven't restaurant, just vending machine, but in this area there are many places to go.

I recommend for a short stay. It's OK. We stayed there as a part of a trip to San Francisco.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertoSunchales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We looked at various properties for and extended stay of 1 month.

In the Santa Barbara area this was our best option with friendly staff, clean rooms , and good location.

We would recommend this to any looking to be close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawthorne calif.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

big rooms, trees, shade...more like a home than anything else!! the hotel staff is second to none. housecleening to front desk, smilling faces that trully greet you, and great service also. ask for ally, very proffessional and genuinly nice. she is a big part of the reason all my emloyees stay here week after week, for the last 4 months. like home .

Room Tip: the 3-bed 2-room suite is a steal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

we travelled through CA for 2weeks and tried many kinds of motels.this one is beyond the internet rating.clean and quiet.the staff Graeme is helpful and friendly to everybody even we checkedin late night.it was a pleasant stay if we had time we would like to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bauer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Encina Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#31 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 51 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing