We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, lovely clean room”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The staff at this hotel were so kind and welcoming, the best part of my stay. My room was very clean and smelled pleasant, great TV and bed, although the bathroom is dated. Dennys is just over the road, and Janenne's (great sandwiches), vices and spices, and La Cumbre plaza are all a short walk away. Breakfast could be better just by having yogurt, toast and bagels available as well as the cereal, bananas and pastries. Since I was travelling on business the provision of a laptop safe would also have been welcome and I would feel safer if chains on the room door were provided as I was travelling alone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had driven from Napa Valley that day and arrived really tired. When I realized that a lodge is a motel I was really disapointed but when I went into the room I was really surprised. We had a great room, not luxurious but enough for our needs. I slept amazingly.

We had the free breakfast in our room and went for a great walk after discussing with Graeme at the front desk.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nadine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed at Sandpiper Lodge a few weeks ago and I have to say I was impressed. The front desk staff is really friendly and had great recommendations of where to have dinner. After viewing reviews in other hotels I decided to choose this one and was not disappointed. They could use some improvement for their breakfast though. The staff told me they were planning on improving it shortly so I will definitely be coming back to check it out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelfanaticfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Where to start with this hotel? Its not clean, uncomfortable, the service is bad, the staff are so rude no wonder its only two stars! We loved Santa Barbara but this hotel is no good. We defiantly will not be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Hello I am sorry to hear about your stay . Our goal is to provide great service to all our guests. We do have many positive reviews and work hard to keep our property clean. If any thing was not up to our 3 star rating I do again say I am sorry. Please call or e-mail me and I will be happy to talk about your stay. Thank-you for taking the time to write a review. Mark A. Romasanta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived at the hotel and we were greeted by a young man on reception who really made us feel welcome,as soon as he knew we were English he asked and enjoyed chatting about cricket. the rooms were large and clean the pool was great, but at breakfast they had the best pastries it could seriously damage your health to stay there for long. It was in a good location on the main street that runs down to the shopping area and board walk ( or as we call it pier), it was walking distance to the Mall were they had a Jazz band on and we ate at a great restaurant all in all a good experience would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avrilwiltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I'm a regular at the Sandpiper, my kids live in Santa Barbara so I average about 30 nights a year there. It's clean & comfortable, walking distance to many restaurants and just a short ride downtown to lower State. The offer a free breakfast in the morning that is perfect for my needs. Best of all are the family units with a bedroom and a main room so the kids get their own room.

The staff is great. Graeme is always friendly, efficient and always finds me a room. Sean & Victor are always helpful. Most of my business travel is Doubletree but when in SB, I always end up at the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggiolini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is very old and needs some upgrading. The rooms were as clean as they can get when the accommodations are old. The front counter staff is friendly and curtious. It is located close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auto_3565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#43 of 52 in Santa Barbara
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,009 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agave Inn
Agave Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
505 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Address: 3525 State St, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing