We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but needs some updating”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ok, but needs some updating”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotels in Santa Barbara are overpriced, so the options are limited if you don't want to pay ridiculous prices. This place is ok for a short stay. The rooms are old and need to be updated; the bathroom walls were rather gross with all the dirt on them. The wireless is not good at all --- they have a bunch of access points, all of which must be located in the same far away location, as they were all giving me a "fair" connection on my laptop that kept dropping and disconnecting me. (Those with an iPad probably wouldn't be able to connect at all if they were in the same area of the hotel I was.) The pillows are hard and mattresses are old; you can almost feel the springs as you move around, so I found it hard to sleep well. It appears they're remodeling the public areas of the hotel --- or maybe the exterior. I'd suggest updating the rooms instead --- starting with the pillow and mattresses.

The maid service was also rather strange. My first day there, the maid replaced all my used towels, except for the washcloths; she took away the used ones, but didn't give me any new washcloths. Then on day two, she did the same, leaving me with no washcloths --- but did, in fact, replace every other type of towel, including the bathmats. Maybe there was a washcloth shortage.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the first floor. All rooms are directly by the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    226
    139
    50
    45
See reviews for
182
198
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for one night in September 2013 on our road trip down the West Coast. The Sandpiper had been recommended to us and I'm glad we chose to stay here. We hadn't pre booked a room, instead drove in and asked if they had any rooms free and luckily got the last room! The reception staff were all very helpful and a pleasure to deal with. The room was very spacious and tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. The en suite bathroom was also kept very clean. The car parking facilities were great and we got a space close to our room which was a bonus. The pool and Jacuzzi were also very welcome after a long drive down the coast from Monterey and the general atmosphere was very relaxing. There was a continental breakfast in the morning and there was plenty of choice. All in all, we both really enjoyed our night in the Sandpiper and we both agree that it was one of the best places we stayed in along the coast. We're just sorry we didn't have more time to spend in this lovely hotel in beautiful Santa Barbara!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We needed a place to crash in Santa Barbara and we didn't need or want fancy. We got a two room suite with two queens and one king that absorbed our family of five quite nicely. The rate was very low especially because it offered free parking and a decent continental breakfast.

My high rating is for value not luxury.

Despite the State Street address be advised that it is 2 or 3 miles from the action of downtown. About a 5-10 minute drive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeinFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was the best stay of my life! Delicious! The rooms were immaculate and Victor and Semehi were very attentive to my every need. I love wifi and really need it and they provided it for me! I also love tacos and they let me know where the best taco place in town was! Thank you Victor and Semehi and the rest of the Sandpiper staff!

Room Tip: The rooms in the front have the best wifi and they are also closer to Victor and Semehi ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WifiWifiWifi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgton, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at the Sandpiper Lodge recently and wished we had had more time to enjoy its hospitality, cleanliness and comfort. As former owners of a country Inn, we took notice of subtle as well as obvious details. It was our good fortune to book with this fine example of Santa Barbara's loveliness, and will be more than happy to share the news with our friends.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious and immaculate...as I assume each was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Areallygoodchoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good location and nice amenties such as heated pool, spa and fitness gym. Rooms are clean, pretty big and comfortable. The only disappointing point was the wifi internet. We only stayed 1 night and they said the wifi was down and they couldn't fix the problem for the moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonetraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The staff was very accommodating when we wanted to extend our stay. Semehi and Shawn were awesome! The pool was nice and the hot tub was great and much needed after running around all day around town. We had a great stay. I'm not sure why anyone would rate this place less than a four. Sure you can pay an arm and a leg and stay by the beach but why? And they are close to lots of places to eat within walking distance. We will be back!

Room Tip: No elevator but only two stories. You can request a bottom floor if you book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
I am very pleased to read your review, Thank-you for the positive comments. The staff also reads all review and they are happy when they get good reviews. Right now as I type this we are finishing the ground work for a new elevator as well as a new larger breakfast room with an expanded menu to include hot items so by late spring we will be a greatly improved property. I hope you will be back, Thank-you again for taking the time to write a review. Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
2,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing