We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Sandpiper Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandpiper Lodge
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Everybody in Santa Barbara wants to be on State Street, and the Sandpiper Lodge, a tidy older property, is on State Street — though far away from the sights most folks would come to Santa Barbara to see. (That said: the location makes for a much quieter stay than you’d ever have in the nightclub district.)

The helpful staff upgraded us to a spacious suite, with a full kitchen, a living room, and a bedroom. Photos on the site depict crisp-looking rooms with modern designer colors, but our suite was firmly entrenched in the peach, turquoise, and golden tones of the early 1980′s. Even so, our room was immaculate and comfortable.

We enjoyed the space ... and the peace and quiet. Recommended.

Room Tip: Go with a suite, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadeByMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    225
    138
    50
    45
See reviews for
180
197
21
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This little overnight stop (Monterey to LA) suited us. It was easy to find , you could park near your room (motel style) The room provided the basic needs- simple bathroom, coffee maker, hair dryer, room comfortable. Air-con good but noisy. TV . Free wifi through out hotel. Staff helpful.Basic but good self help buffet included with room cost. Outdoor, small pool which we didn't use . Near down town ( to drive to)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank puddleplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, very typical, we only stopped for 1 day on our way to San Francisco....hotel is very clean....car parked just outside hotel door...very convenient! Receptionist was very helpful, gave us all the tips were we should go to maximuze our 1 day in Santa Barbara!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. We did not do any research on the hotel and there was no need to. We we thoroughly impressed. The hotel is clean, has spacious rooms. The location is near to State Street - where all the shops and restaurants are. You could walk it but it isn't a short walk. 2 dollars if you go by bus and the bus stop is literally just outside the hotel. The pool is nice to spend a few hours sun bathing. Towels are provided. We didn't eat breakfast at the resort so unfortunately can't comment on that, but there is a very nice restaurant up the road that offers lovely food at good prices. The facilities in the hotel are good and offers a very powerful and hot shower. We stayed in room 2028 which is ground floor and kind of tucked away. This room offered no view except a wall and is next to the employee room. Free carparking offered. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isanti, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had to switch rooms due to plumbing issues. The rooms were very outdated. They were applying laquer on some furniture out in the parking lot that made it smell horrible by our room. The staff was mostly friendly. The manager when told about our plumbing issues didn't seem overly concerned and sent someone with a plunger and snake the first try. I don't know that I would stay there again and would pay a little more for better accommodations. If you aren't planning to spend much time in your room this place will do.

Room Tip: They didn't let us check in early so find something to do prior to check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

A motel, off centre of SB.
Close to the highway.
Clean rooms.
Quiet and great parking.
Great service vs finding restaurants in the naighbourhood.
So, to the big question.
Should you drive on or park.
If you got the wallet, drive on.
If it suits you, park.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the pool as possible. If you got lots of luggage, ask for a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Einar Alfred Ve... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked a reservation in Oct. 2013 for May, 2014 and were given a specific rate. We budgeted accordingly based on the given rate. When we arrived, we were informed that the week end rate is 60+ percent higher. Had we been told in ADVANCE, we would have either budgeted for the additional cost or looked for a different hotel.

Plus, the carpet was extremely "filthy". We're from Hawaii where it is customary to remove shoes in housing properties. Our feet were actually "black" from the carpet.

Contacted the manager; but, never received a response back. do not recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Luce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Owner at Sandpiper Lodge, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hello I am very sorry to hear about your stay with us, I did speak to my on site manager and he said he spoke to you about the rate change on Friday. I know you thought the rate was the same for both Thursday and Friday, I also talked to our front desk staff who confirmed you were told about the change. I am disappointed that your carpet was not clean as we get many great comments about how clean the hotel is.
I have asked my on site manager to refund the difference in the rates back to your card.
Thank-you for taking the time to write a review all feed back is important.
I hope you will give us another try.
Mark A. Romasanta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Barbara hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Oasis Inn & Suites
Oasis Inn & Suites
#42 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lemon Tree Inn
Lemon Tree Inn
#32 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ramada Santa Barbara
Ramada Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
Quality Inn Santa Barbara
#37 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Lodge

Property: Sandpiper Lodge
Address: 3525 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93105-2689
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are visiting Santa Barbara for business or pleasure, we invite you to enjoy the three-diamond amenities and services of the Sandpiper Lodge on Upper State Street. From our prime location on upper State Street, you are poised to experience all that one of California's premier destinations has to offer-beaches, gardens, museums, historical sites, dining, shopping, and entertainment. With well-appointed rooms and suites and a heated pool and spa, the Sandpiper Lodge offers ideal accommodations for budget-minded travelers desiring a degree of sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandpiper Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Motel Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Santa Barbara
Sandpiper Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing