We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the property for 2 nights on our way up the coast; small property in an excellent location. Staff were very helpful with local sightseeing information. Accommodations were clean & pleasant, and would have earned the extra star had the pillows not been so uncomfortable!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank businesstraveler450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    282
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
189
487
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We stayed here for 1 night while doing a road trip to Southern California. The rooms are very clean and spacious. There were 3 adults and 1 child and it was the perfect place for us. We could park our car right in front of the room (at no extra charge) to access items we needed without having to lug everything to the room. The price was very reasonable. But it is not within walking distance to State Street. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank babydds1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed one night here during a drive down the coast. The inn was in a great location 1 block from the marina and a short walk to town. Our room was beautiful - we upgraded to the best room for just 20 dollars more and it was worth it. We had a jacuzzi and a patio. Room was clean and comfortable and very spacious. The service was okay but not terrible. Just not as friendly or helpful - very by the rules. But would highly recommend this inn. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenNYC2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Clean, comfortable, well located and nice. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truffle001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel for many reasons. Great location near the beach. Excellent host. Clean room. Very spacious and convenient. Very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancylotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Stayed here for one night when passing through Santa Barbara en route to LA. Wish it was a week.

The front desk guy (the owner I think) is awesome - very welcoming and also hilarious, a treat to deal with.

We stayed in a deluxe king room and it was magnificent - the mini-lounge was great, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was ornate and we were just overall very impressed. We could comfortably have stayed here for a week. It was very clean and nicely decorated with lots of extras.

Location-wise its a short stroll down to the waterfront and all the sights and sounds. The tourist map given by the front desk was informational and highlighted all the local attractions.

Downsides would only be (a) we blocked the toilet =/ and (b) the internet signal was very weak.

On checking out the staff insisted we take bottled/canned drinks with us that they provided for free - we love this place!

Bottom line: We loved it and would highly recommend to anyone. Its also great value.

Room Tip: Just stay here you won't regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7TroopCutCopyPaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Dan, the manager of the Castillo Inn, is very friendly and welcomes me every time i arrive to the hotel. He will give me any room i ask for (if available) and gives me a great price. The value is amazing. You can even get passes to the Santa Barbara Athletic Club (off site). They provide great morning coffee, fruit, and pastries. The attention to detail is extraordinary. Every week i look forward to my stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swede555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
946 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing