We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not exceptional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good, but not exceptional”
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as we drove the California Coast Highway. It is close to the beach, which is great, but we also found it fine to walk to State Street - it took about 20 - 25 mins. There are also a couple of good bars within much shorter walking distance of the motel.
The room was clean and comfortable, and plenty spacious. The staff were helpful and friendly, and were keen that we had a comfortable stay.
It was quite expensive given that the rooms are fairly basic in design and facilities, but on the whole a good option given that Santa Barbera is an expensive place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AdamandLayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    283
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
190
488
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in the King jacuzzi room with a patio. Big room with very comfortable bed. A little far out from the main restaurant area but generally good location

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claudine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Great value, very close to beach. Clean rooms comfy beds!! Will stay again!! Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is a great find in Santa Barbara. Great location just back from the beach - and in between the marina and State St/Stearns Wharf. Very clean and tidy - and the bed was very comfortable. The room was well appointed - particularly for the price! Would definitely recommend/return.

For those driving, this is a motel-style place with (free) car parks right outside the rooms. And it's easy to find and get too - an added bonus for out of towners!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank desktraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This was my first trip to Santa Barbara. I had a very pleasant stay at the Castillo Inn on May 21st. Dan, the Manger, is very knowledgeable and accommodating. I stayed here based on the TripAdvisor ratings.

Dan suggested Brophy Bros for dinner right across on the Marina. It was very good and reasonably priced, and I got to watch the sun go down over the Marina.

Lunch at Mac's Fish & Chip Shop on State St was also a great suggestion. Mac was an Investment Banker and opened up 2 years ago. The fish is moist and the batter really complements.

My room was clean and quiet. Bed was firm and the internet, continental breakfast and parking are all included. I would stay here again. Thanks Dan!

Rob
Stratford, Ontario
Canada

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer55_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Great charm, great location, great customer service... loved this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradandlyndsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of April as the second stop in our road trip up to San Francisco, I booked based on the trip advisor reviews and wasn’t disappointed. In terms of value for money, it has to be the best option in SB. Our room (24) was in the corner and very clean and spacious with a desk, sofa, TV, enormous king sized bed (very comfortable), door out to a private patio and really sweet bathroom. We got parked just outside our room so it would be really accessible for anyone with mobility issues. In terms of location it is opposite a park so feels peaceful and residential. It took us around 15 minutes to walk to the pier and from there you can take a cute little electric shuttle for a quarter into the town where all the restaurants and shops are. The pier is obviously very touristy but it’s nice to walk down and there is a good seafood restaurant (see separate review) at the end. The main strip in town goes on forever, I spent around three hours just walking up one side and then walking down the other, it was very pleasant. We hired a tandem bike which was hilarious and rode up to the old courthouse where you can go up to the top of the tower and offers stunning views. The first day we arrived it was blazing sunshine; it was a Sunday so there were lots of people on the beach and standing on the pier looking back towards SB it looked so pretty! The next day we woke up to heavy grey cloud. I’m not sure I can entirely blame the weather but Santa Barbara didn’t seem quite so glorious the next morning! The pretty park opposite the hotel seems to be a meeting point for the local homeless people, and once you get into town you actually see there are homeless people everywhere. I live in London so it’s not like I’m not used to this and I don’t want to sound unsympathetic but I was just surprised to see so many, on nearly every bench and rooting through every bin. It was quite sad. I think if we had a bit more time perhaps we would have done more exploring of the surrounding areas and it would’ve been great if the weather was a little better so we could have enjoyed some of the beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Loo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,051 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing