We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Accomdations!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Shaken not Stirred!
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Location and Accomdations!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

This will be our new rest spot when in Santa Barbara. Very nice room, just a few feet from the ocean, and across the street from a large park. Spanish styling, and appears to be relatively new or freshly remodeled.Great pricing...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank El-Guapo-de-La-Noche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    282
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
189
487
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2hounddogs
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in mid-November for 4 nights. Our room was quite nice and a good size. We were in room 30 directly above the office. This hotel is right on a fairly major street, but we didn't feel like it was loud at all even though our room was right above the road. It was nice having a balcony to sit outside and eat our breakfast. Because it was mid-November it was quite cool at night and our room got really chilly. Apparently there's no heater. It took a while for us to figure this out and I wish we would have known so we could have requested a space heater or something. The room was clean and comfortable except that the pillows on the bed were small and not soft at all. They offer a small continental breakfast with muffins, fruit, juice, coffee and that was nice to have. The absolute best thing about this hotel is the location. It's just a block and half from the edge of the harbor and just a few more minutes walk to the wharf or to State St. So I was able to walk everywhere I wanted to go while my husband was at his conference during the day. The price we paid was also very reasonable. Not sure what prices would be like during peak tourist season though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2hounddogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed in room 12 for three nights. Loved the size of the room, the layout (window in bathroom) with rows of windows that are double glazed facing the balcony, the very comfortable bed, and the free wifi and parking. Best coffee we have ever had in any hotel for breakfast. Period. We would ask for room 12 again if we stay in Santa Barbara in the future. Lovely little spot outside, framed with gorgeous flowers. Great value.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaM08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Clean, room to move around, lovely décor, great location, parking and an easy walk to the beach, State Street and the Wharf. Room #18 is a great room off the street and very quiet. A great sleep and good value for the money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia2077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The inn is in a good location, only a block from the harbour. The front desk clerk was very helpful and we enjoyed the continental breakfast. The only thing missing was a pool. There are quite a few similar inns along the same road.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, CA
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I was in SB on business for one night and stayed at Castillo based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was very reasonably priced, the rooms are average size, parking and wifi are free. There are three rooms that are a short distance from the street, # 10, 11 and 12. I was in 12 and it was a little too noisy for me. Other than that, the room was clean and had a small refrigerator. Bathroom updated. They advertise a continental breakfast which consists of muffins, fruit, coffee and juices. Staff was friendly.

Room Tip: Something away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveDanvilleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Inexpensive stay for one night. It was nice to be able to park right outside your room with no charge, the room was satisfactory, the bathroom was updated but small, I was hitting my elbow just trying to blow dry my hair, a short walk to the wharf, the owner was helpful and gave us a map, it was quiet until about 5:30 am when the trucks from the main road started getting noisy. I saw they were putting out some afternoon scones, which is a nice touch. We had booked 2 queen beds with a patio, the patio was laughable, you open up a door to reveal 2 chairs sitting on stones with 3 walls of fence around you, very tiny basically almost in the parking lot of the business next door, talk about feeling trapped, they would have been better off leaving the fence down so you could see something. Basically for our group it was just a bed to sleep in for one night, if I was looking to spend more than one night in town I would prefer to pay extra and have something more modern.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillydonut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
946 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing