We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We stayed for two nights as part of our honeymoon. The accommodation was to a very high standard and was great value for money. We thought the breakfast offered was a nice touch. I would highly recommend the Castillo Inn and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vazamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    283
    49
    9
    10
See reviews for
190
488
26
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Perfect for a stop over during a road trip. We stayed for one night and had a really great nights sleep at Castillo Inn at the Beach. It's in a good location and we took a lovely walk along the beach in the evening until we found somewhere for dinner.

We had 2 large double beds in our room so had a bed each which was a nice surprise! The bathroom was lovely and very quiet at night.

Had a problem with our room key and the guy at reception seemed a little grumpy when we requested help, but all was resolved quickly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband & I stayed for one night here, and were pleased with our choice. The rate was reasonable and we felt lucky to get a reservation. It's only a block away from the beach, and a few blocks from restaurants. The room is lovely, with lots of nice touches such as beautiful tiles and lovely landscaping. The room was quiet, although the louvres let in too much light for my sister's taste. The bed was a little small for my tastes (again a queen) so next time I'll probably upgrade to a king size. The breakfast was scones/muffins and coffee, with some fruit. The parking lot is rather tight, so park early or drive a small car.

Room Tip: They put us in the ADA room, I don't know why, but no one parked in the handicap parking spot ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for four nights in August 2013. The location is great, the main street is only ten minutes away. Decent sized rooms with great bathrooms. The area is so beautiful and there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. The beach is just down the road and is fab. The only thing I wish it had was a pool! I was very happy with my stay and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

If you love great service, enjoy a comfy bed and walking distance to food and entertainment then you won't be disappointed. Top it off with reasonable rates and easy on off freeway and you have an exceptional experience. The only thing they don't have is an ocean view. Everything else is top notch. highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

After reading all the good reviews for this place, we decided to book it. For the price we couldnt refuse. Place was really cute and room was a good size. We had 2 adults and 2 kids. Kids had a pull out couch bed. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom was a good size. Nice little balcony with table and 2 chairs. We stayed in room #30 which was upstairs and over the lobby facing the street. The only complaint we had was the noise from the street. When I checked in, I asked about the noise and was told it wasnt bad. Wrong.... That street is busy! If we came back to this hotel, we wouldnt stay in the same room. Also, parking lot spaces are tight! Good place for the money and it a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerncaligirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojai, California
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The property has only 20 rooms, is very modern with nice furnishings, clean and comfortable. They say they are at the beach but really it is located at the harbor so getting to a swim able beach takes a little walking/driving. Being in this location really requires a car for visiting State Street and downtown as well as most of Santa Barbara’s better restaurants. Parking is a little tight as it looks like there is one car space for each room. There did appear to be street parking if necessary however. You could walk to the pier but I expect it would take 20-30 minutes.

The two persons we experienced at the registration desk were anything but friendly. We had to engage them to get any comment from them. The complimentary breakfast was a little disappointing but adequate if you needed something to eat as soon as waking up. It included coffee, bottled juices and some bananas and muffins.

We had the second floor king bed room which was very quiet with a nice layout including a couch. Bathroom was a decent size with a tub & shower combination. Bed was very comfortable. The night we were there it was very cool but I could not find the heater controls. A sign on the wall indicated they had one in the room.

We were happy with our choice of motel and would probably chose it again given it is a good if not great value for Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlOjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
700 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,050 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Property: Castillo Inn at the Beach
Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing