We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Castillo Inn at the Beach
Ranked #9 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Really comfortable rooms. We slept very well. Great location really close to the beach and all the restaurants. We really enjoyed our stay here. Quick easy check in, perfect for us as we didn't have a lot of time

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elle_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 859 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Decided to book last minute, found this online, for 4 adults. Room was very nice, clean, everything was new. Beds were super comfortable and the bathroom was huge. To top it off, the gentleman who runs the front desk provided outstanding customer service. Highly recommend The Castillo Inn at the Beach!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SZava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Castillo Inn for one night when we drove up the West Coast in July. The location to the main street, beach and the harbour is spot on!

Check-in was really quick and easy and the staff were quite friendly. Parking is right outside your door, there is free wi-fi and a light breakfast (pastries, coffee and juice) is available in the foyer each morning.

Our room was quite spacious and the bed was really comfortable. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JaquelineS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I usually stay at chain hotels (Marriott, Loew's, etc.), but they don't have a presence in Santa Barbara. We stayed at Castillo Inn based solely on the rave reviews from Tripadvisor.

Castillo Inn is essentially an old-fashioned motel, like the kind you stayed at with your parents when you were a kid. You park outside of your room and enter your room from the parking lot. There, the similarities end. The rooms have luxurious, soft beds, easily on a par with Westin. The television is well-placed over the bed and the decor is California/Spanish with touches that make it feel like a home rather than a hotel.

It is located one block from the beach. Every morning, we grabbed some free breakfast from the office (juice, coffee, tea, apples, bananas, muffins) and walked to the beach. The area around the motel is safe, pedestrian-friendly, and pretty quiet, especially at night. We had no trouble with noise at night.

It was refreshing not to have to pay a resort fee, parking fee, or Wi-fi charge. The room even had a DVD player!

You might not like the Castillo Inn if you are looking for a resort experience with restaurants and a swimming pool. We wanted to see Santa Barbara and spend time at the beach, so that wasn't an issue for us. We told ourselves we would barely even be in our room. Yet, somehow, after a morning of sightseeing, we would find ourselves crashing on that soft bed in our cozy room. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe King. This gave us a little extra space, with a sofa, coffee table, and refrig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RoadWeary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the Castillo Inn during our first night in CA on a trek from LA to SF. We were tired and weary from our long flight but we were thrilled by the Castillo Inn. It was exactly what we were looking for. Exceptionally clean, friendly, great location, wonderful town, comfortable rooms. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRoyalFish5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on drive up Pacific Coast Highway. Definitely stay here again. Hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Left camera charger contacted manager who sent it to our next stop. Great location close to harbour. Rooms spotlessly clean

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights in SB. We were able to go car free. took the Amtrak, the hotel is close to the train station, the beach, good restaurants, etc. It's clean, staff is helpful, and the room is nice. Recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BillMadison_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Pepper Tree Inn
0.9 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#27 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castillo Inn at the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Inn at the Beach

Address: 22 Castillo St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3809
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Barbara
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £86 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Castillo Inn at the Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Castillo Inn at the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Inn At The Beach Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing