We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place good location RUDE staff!”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
tahoe
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice place good location RUDE staff!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

If it weren't for the rude staff I would have recommended this place. It was a small room but nicely remodeled. Nice little courtyard with pool, hot tub. Great location across from beach and not noisy at all. Unfortunately they had painters working on the place when I woke up in the morning. They even taped up and had tarped up my car without informing me!! I went to the office to talk with the staff and was told first thing, "if you aren't happy you can leave.". No apology, no I am sorry for the inconvenience. Just an abrupt, you can leAve if you want to. Then they offered me a 30% discount but when I went to check out they said they could only give me %10 because I already had received a discount and they claimed I had received knowledge of this hotel work when I called on the phone. (I booked via the Internet and had no such knowledge of paintwork going on!). Very absurd interaction and never an apology for the noisy disruptions or the fact thAt they taped up my car!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 11thchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
264
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a lovely stay.

We had a renovated/updated room by the sounds of it, as other people have mentioned that their rooms could have been more updated. Our room was on the small side but bright, modern and clean with lovely crisp linens on the bed and flat screen tv,

Breakfast is pretty decent, bagels, toast, pastries, muffins, scones, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices etc, There is also free tea/coffee/hot chocolate and fresh fruit available all day in the front reception and the free wine and cheese in the evening is a nice touch.

There's free WiFi in the hotel, a laundry downstairs and heated pool and a nice hot tub to relax in the evening. The hotel is in a great location, right opposite the beach and a short walk/drive to the pier or main street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Stayed on the second floor with a sea view and balcony. The hotel is across the road from the beach. The road was not busy and crossing was very easy and safe. The room could have done with a little updating but was adequate. Didn't get the chance to use the pool but it appeared clean and well maintained. Breakfast was basic with a selection of cereals, pastries and juice. Plastic cutlery and paper crockery are not to my liking but appear to be the norm in these hotels. That gives it a cheap feel as I prefer metal cutlery and ceramic plates. Overall the hotel was clean with parking and wi-fi available.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Levelheaded32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buellton, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed overnight; arrived late and left early. The room was clean, bed was comfortable.
room was quiet. Other people in our group stayed at comparable hotel one block removed from the beach for 35% less. Breakfast was coffee, yogurt, fruit,bagel basics. Overall OK but basic
for the price.

Room Tip: 201 is larger and has a king size bed, no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Pros: Nicely updated rooms, comfortable beds, large bathroom, short walk to State Street and very close to the Wharf, almost half the cost of other places we have stayed in SB for almost the same amenities

Cons: Had a room located on the first level---would hear wheeling of housekeeping carts and people's luggage during the earl morning. Wall unit AC/Heat---woke up very uncomfortable many times the first night since it struggle to regulate the room temperature.

Room Tip: Be cautious about the lower levels, lot of foot traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacy1259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Great location, nice rooms! Have breakfast in the am and wine and cheese in the evening. Have stayed there many times, always enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ester32446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We choose this hotel for a stopover on our way from San Francisco to Los Angeles. Check in went ok, the staff provided us with information and maps for Santa Barbara which were useful for finding somewhere to eat that evening. The room was basic and an alright size, which was ok for us as we were only there for one night. The hotel is in a motel style and we were on the top floor up one flight of stairs. There was a small lift but this was only really big enough for one person with our two big bags. The bed was comfy and very welcoming after a long day in the car. The breakfast in the morning was ok, with a limited selection of food. We missed out on the cheese and wine and didn't get chance to use the pool. If you're looking for somewhere to sleep for one night on your way along the coast then the West Beach Inn is ok.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing