We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Aurora, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This is a great little hotel across from the beach in Santa Barbara. It is within walking distance to the Pier and the Wharf where there are lots of restaurants. A little far to walk to shopping on State Street but that was easily accessible by car. We arrived on Sunday and enjoyed a walk down the beach where the locals were pedaling their wares. The exterior of the hotel is older and at first, I thought “oh no”. But the rooms were very nicely appointed (albeit a bit small). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have a nice continental breakfast spread that included fruit, cereal, various pastries coffee and juice. There is also an evening reception with wine (not too bad!) and a variety of cheese and crackers. The pool and hot tub were nice and enclosed by glass to keep out the wind blowing in off the water. A very nice, laid back, relaxing retreat overall!!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Liked — Friendly and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Older exterior, room size
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
264
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed here for one night while driving up the coast on our "babymoon." It was perfect for our trip. The room was nice, with a less outdated look than most hotels. The location of the hotel was good; just a couple blocks from State Street and Stearn's Wharf. The staff was pleasant and helpful as well.

Our room (115) was located on the bottom floor of this 3-story Inn. Our view would have been better on one of the upper floors, but due to availability, we were stuck here. We were still pleasantly surprised. There was a nice seating area on the patio with a little garden. Even though our room was right next to Cabrillo Ave., it was surprisingly quiet. There was also access to a wireless internet connection--which came in handy when trying to choose from the plethora of dining choices. There was a heated pool and a spa as well...both clean. The continental breakfast was adequate. It included mostly cereal, muffins, pastries, and fruit. The staff was on-hand to make sure that items did not run out.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the West Beach Inn; we'd go back again.

  • Liked — Well-decorated, clean room w/ internet access, fridge, and nice bathroom (2 sinks!)
  • Disliked — Proximity to street, parking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A_A_Swerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We booked this on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. Santa Barbara is an expensive place to stay. We needed a room that could accomodate 4 people in 2 queens.

This hotel had that accomodation and the room was beautiful. It faced out onto the main street along the ocean and it was lovely having the breeze float through the room. The room decor was very tasteful, free internet wireless and comfy beds.

The elevator was very small, but we had no problems getting the bags up in 2 trips. The hotel has been remodeled from it's original incarnation and that is part of the charm. The grounds are very lush and the pool was very clean and neatly tucked in.

The morning breakfast was minimal and I just got coffee, but went down the street for something more to our taste.

We loved walking across the street to the Boardwalk along the ocean. The location was GREAT.

  • Liked — Lovely room, location, grounds
  • Disliked — Below average continental breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank happytrailsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed at the West Beach Inn as part of a 2 1/2 week trip along the California coast. Our room was on the third floor with ocean view and king bed. The room was very nice -- absolutely no complaints! Continental breakfast also was good, although it was served in the hotel office. There are several tables, but it was a bit difficult (even in February) to find a place to eat. There are also table outside by the swimming pool, and they are used in warmer weather.
We booked our room on the hotel's "Anniversary" rate, with a one percent discount for every year married. You have to provide a copy of your wedding certificate to get that rate, but if you have been married for a long time, it's a good discount.
On the negative side, I don't think that I would like to stay in the interior rooms facing the parking lot (and some backing up to an alley). In fact, although our third floor premium ocean view room was very nice, the ocean view aspect was not that impressive. The view is across a busy street (traffic, noise included) and also a large municipal parking lot to a municipal marina and then the ocean. So, it's not a nice ocean view as much as it is the view of a lot of things (street, parking lot, marina) in front of the ocean. If that is what you want, then this is a good deal. If I stay in Santa Barbara again, I would probably choose a motel/inn near the beach, but would skip the view and seek a nicer overall setting.
While in Santa Barbara, we had several good meals -- a very nice dinner at the Enterprise Fish Company, and good lunches (on day trips) at Boccali's in Ojai and the Solvang Restaurant in Solvang (especially the dessert pastry, AEbleskiver).

  • Liked — Very nice room
  • Disliked — Ocean view wasn't great.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2008

We stayed at the West Beach Inn over President's Day weekend and we were lucky enough to be able to book just one night .

The location is terrific. Don't miss breakfast at Sambo's! Best coffee I've ever had. Staff was wonderful. Room was fabulous. From the outside, you think it will be a typical beach motel room but upon entering, it's a complete suprise. Our room was modern but comfortable with fabulous ammenities, including a LCD T.V.; MP3 hook up; marble and granite bathroom ...

will be coming back as soon as we can!

P.S. The rates on the weekends are a little pricey but not by much. Better than the other hotels nearby that weren't as nice.

we have stayed at other Coast Hotel locations and have always been pleased.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank caraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2008

My wife and I stayed at the West Beach Inn on February 11, 2008. The weather during our stay in Santa Barbara and California in general was outstanding with warm breezes and bright blue skies.

The hotel property is in a nice location, right across from the marina/harbor. The hotel reminds me of an older apartment building that was rehabbed and turned into a hotel. All guests enter their rooms from the rear of the hotel facing the parking lot. Parking is free, which is a plus considering you're in California.

The rooms are well decorated and quite comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and we had a LG flat screen TV with lots of cable channels. The bathrooms have double sinks. The rooms also have a small refrigerator.

Our room was on the second floor and had a nice balcony, facing Cabrillo Street and the harbor/marina and also overlooked the pool/hot tub. The hotel property is also surroundered by large, skinny palm trees, flowers and fruit trees.

The main drag, which is State Street is about 2 blocks from the hotel and you can walk to downtown, or you can take the trolley. State Street is where the majority of the shops, galleries and restaurants are located.

The hotel offers a nice complimentary breakfast with coffee, juices, cereal, muffins and bagels etc. We did not take advantage of the nightly wine and cheese tasting, which is also offered.

The only problem that we encountered is that the hotel didn't have my reservation, which I had for 4 months. Evidently, this hotel and many others now use a 3rd party reservation web service for booking their reservations and the web service the hotel uses simply lost my reservation and didn't forward it to the West Beach Inn.

Fortunately, there was plenty of vacancies, so we still got our room, but make sure that you confirm your reservations directly with the hotel front desk before arriving.

Santa Barbara is a very beautiful, laid back part of California with lots of shops, galleries, wineries etc. to explore not to mention all of the ocean adventures that are available. It's very easy to see why they call Santa Barbara the 'American Riveria", with it 's gorgeous mountains, ocean vistas and warm temperatures.

We truly enjoyed our stay at the West Beach Inn and would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

  • Liked — Location, Cleanliness, comfort of the rooms.
  • Disliked — They lost my reservation
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank racer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

We had a King, Oceanview room on the third floor, with a balcony overlooking the harbor, beach, and Stearn's Wharf. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, everything was clean and well-maintained, and staff was always pleasant and helpful.

Decor was fresh and attractive, there was a desk/table that had enough room for us to have our breakfast and our wine and cheese, which we preferred to bring back to our room. The pool area was very clean and was sheilded from the wind, and the water temerature in the pool was nice and warm. The hot tub was spacious and comfortable.

We enjoyed the terry-cloth robes that were provided, and the little evening mints.

Housekeeping was very good, and we appreciated that they didn't come knocking early in the morning.

The grounds were attractive and well-maintained.

We were easily able to walk to some good restaurants,(especially liked Santa Barbara Shellfish Co.), the harbor and the wharf, and State St. is just a few minutes drive away. Even the attractions further away (Natural History Museum, Mission, and Botanic Gardens) were easily accessible by car.

We had a very nice, relaxing time at the West Beach Inn and would definitely return.

  • Liked — Waterfront location with easy access to restaurnats, movies, cultural attractions
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurseni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
367 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
677 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing