We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hint to management: Upgrade your wine, please”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Hint to management: Upgrade your wine, please”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

Sorry everyone - this is an OK property, really, but I left here with a bad taste in my mouth. I know SB is pricey, so was not put off by the high room rate here due to it's location near the harbor/beach. I had a two-night stay in March while visiting friends. At first I liked it, but by the time I left, I knew I would not return - there are nicer properties in this price range. At first, I was impressed by the nicely rennovated room, with its generous size and near-new furnishings and decor. I paid top dollar for a harborview room, and was not disappointed by the view or location at the top floor of a 3-story structure (there is an elevator). It's an easy walk to the Harbor and Stearn's wharf. The hot tub was nicely maintained and HOT, which is nice. Now comes the bad: there was no refrierator in my room, although this was advertised as an amenity (there was a space for it, but I guess I would have to call to request one?) The breakfast was OK, but the lobby area cannot possibly accomodate the number of guests staying here. If the two tables inside are taken, you have to sit outdoors (it can be quite chilly in the AM). They only had whole milk for cereal, no low or non-fat. What dissappointed me the most (which is ironic, as I am not a wine enthusiast) was their wine and cheese hour, which I decided to try. Hint to management: if you're going to offer food and wine to your guests, it should be something you'd be willing to serve in your own home. The wine they served was so bad it nearly made me gag. Two-buck Chuck would have been a HUGE improvement. Offering free swill is a tremendous insult to your guests-- you'd really be better off not offering wine at all. Here's an idea - put out an honor jar for $$, buy some cheap drinkable wine, and let people serve themselves on an honor system.

  • Liked — Location near harbor
  • Disliked — d'uh, the wine
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2008

Excellent location across the road from the beech and marina in Santa Barbara. The bedroom was lovely but the bathroom was very small and did not have any extractor fan. There is a small pool and jacuzzi but the water in the pool was dirty. The breakfast was very poor and in all we felt that this hotel was overpriced.

  • Liked — View from bedroom
  • Disliked — Bathroom and breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbeyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

We visited Santa Barbara for Spring Break and when searching for a nice place to stay The West Beach Inn was recommended to us. We stayed in a suite that was very spacious and offered a separate bedroom as well as a kitchen. Our family looked forward to the cheese and wine reception each night by the pool. The beach was right across the street with easy access. We have friends that live in nearby Carpinteria and Santa Barbara. They said that the beach is very safe as well as nearby State Street. We had teenage girls with us and so that was very important. They walked on the beach, rode bikes and always felt safe. Because of the location of The West Beach Inn we walked to most of the restaurants nearby both on the pier and at the wharf.
Overall we had a great time and enjoyed our vacation in Santa Barbara.

  • Liked — The size of the room with the separate bedroom and pull out bed in livingroom. The kitchen and diningroom. Perfect for a family of 4 and big enough to have friends visit.
  • Disliked — The room had 1 bathroom.
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonCountrygrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This is a great little hotel across from the beach in Santa Barbara. It is within walking distance to the Pier and the Wharf where there are lots of restaurants. A little far to walk to shopping on State Street but that was easily accessible by car. We arrived on Sunday and enjoyed a walk down the beach where the locals were pedaling their wares. The exterior of the hotel is older and at first, I thought “oh no”. But the rooms were very nicely appointed (albeit a bit small). The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They have a nice continental breakfast spread that included fruit, cereal, various pastries coffee and juice. There is also an evening reception with wine (not too bad!) and a variety of cheese and crackers. The pool and hot tub were nice and enclosed by glass to keep out the wind blowing in off the water. A very nice, laid back, relaxing retreat overall!!
Thanks for a great stay!

  • Liked — Friendly and accomodating staff
  • Disliked — Older exterior, room size
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaik8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2008

We stayed here for one night while driving up the coast on our "babymoon." It was perfect for our trip. The room was nice, with a less outdated look than most hotels. The location of the hotel was good; just a couple blocks from State Street and Stearn's Wharf. The staff was pleasant and helpful as well.

Our room (115) was located on the bottom floor of this 3-story Inn. Our view would have been better on one of the upper floors, but due to availability, we were stuck here. We were still pleasantly surprised. There was a nice seating area on the patio with a little garden. Even though our room was right next to Cabrillo Ave., it was surprisingly quiet. There was also access to a wireless internet connection--which came in handy when trying to choose from the plethora of dining choices. There was a heated pool and a spa as well...both clean. The continental breakfast was adequate. It included mostly cereal, muffins, pastries, and fruit. The staff was on-hand to make sure that items did not run out.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the West Beach Inn; we'd go back again.

  • Liked — Well-decorated, clean room w/ internet access, fridge, and nice bathroom (2 sinks!)
  • Disliked — Proximity to street, parking
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank A_A_Swerge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

We booked this on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews. Santa Barbara is an expensive place to stay. We needed a room that could accomodate 4 people in 2 queens.

This hotel had that accomodation and the room was beautiful. It faced out onto the main street along the ocean and it was lovely having the breeze float through the room. The room decor was very tasteful, free internet wireless and comfy beds.

The elevator was very small, but we had no problems getting the bags up in 2 trips. The hotel has been remodeled from it's original incarnation and that is part of the charm. The grounds are very lush and the pool was very clean and neatly tucked in.

The morning breakfast was minimal and I just got coffee, but went down the street for something more to our taste.

We loved walking across the street to the Boardwalk along the ocean. The location was GREAT.

  • Liked — Lovely room, location, grounds
  • Disliked — Below average continental breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank happytrailsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
150 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed at the West Beach Inn as part of a 2 1/2 week trip along the California coast. Our room was on the third floor with ocean view and king bed. The room was very nice -- absolutely no complaints! Continental breakfast also was good, although it was served in the hotel office. There are several tables, but it was a bit difficult (even in February) to find a place to eat. There are also table outside by the swimming pool, and they are used in warmer weather.
We booked our room on the hotel's "Anniversary" rate, with a one percent discount for every year married. You have to provide a copy of your wedding certificate to get that rate, but if you have been married for a long time, it's a good discount.
On the negative side, I don't think that I would like to stay in the interior rooms facing the parking lot (and some backing up to an alley). In fact, although our third floor premium ocean view room was very nice, the ocean view aspect was not that impressive. The view is across a busy street (traffic, noise included) and also a large municipal parking lot to a municipal marina and then the ocean. So, it's not a nice ocean view as much as it is the view of a lot of things (street, parking lot, marina) in front of the ocean. If that is what you want, then this is a good deal. If I stay in Santa Barbara again, I would probably choose a motel/inn near the beach, but would skip the view and seek a nicer overall setting.
While in Santa Barbara, we had several good meals -- a very nice dinner at the Enterprise Fish Company, and good lunches (on day trips) at Boccali's in Ojai and the Solvang Restaurant in Solvang (especially the dessert pastry, AEbleskiver).

  • Liked — Very nice room
  • Disliked — Ocean view wasn't great.
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbiaTrekkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#21 of 52 in Santa Barbara
332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing