We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lovely large room with view of the yachts. Able to do our laundry easily. Convenient having a free breakfast and an extra bonus of wine and cheese provided in the evenings. When I left something of value in the safe and phoned them they were very willing to post it to me at no charge. Also located next to the super Italian restaurant "Tomos". Free parking too.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    223
    53
    12
    13
See reviews for
117
267
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, England, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We spent one night here on a road trip around California - arrived via the road through Los Olivos and past Lake Cachuma on a beautiful day - so we were sold on Santa Barbara even before arriving! But the West Beach Inn was a real find and somewhere we would love to come back to on our next trip - in fact, as the basis for our next trip!!

We arrived a couple of hours before check-in but sorted all the paperwork ready for the moment the room was ready (earlier than the published check-in time). Our check-in host was really helpful, and gave us a fantastic recommendation for lunch which we sampled and adored! Once into the room, it was very spacious for 4 with a great view across to the Harbour and beach, and a lovely balcony where we spent the evening watching the moon dance over the sea. The beds were extremely comfortable and all of the accommodation was spotlessly clean and well cared for.

My only point for improvement would be on value for money as we stayed at better resort-type hotels than this on our trip for less money - but this may be down to the deals that were available on the day, and I hope future travellers find good deals! It is a great place to stay with reliable service, wifi and free parking in a beautiful location - I'd love to return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Great location. Free continental breakfast. Free wifi. Free wine and cheese daily from 5p-7p by the pool. Free parking. Spacious room. Very clean and updated. Awesome staff. Friendly and helpful! I would def recommend!!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank klg122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy to provide excellent service without nickel and diming our guests at every turn - complimentary everything - it has a nice ring to it, doesn't it! Thanks again and I will be sharing with our team your positive remarks to keep the inspiration going!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel and asked at the last minute if our son could join us. They were able to give us a room that had a small room off of it for him to sleep in. The bed was comfortable, the room large and very quiet. The next morning we woke and took a walk on the pier, which was only a couple blocks away. and then returned to find that we were at the start of the Fiesta Parade and had a perfect view from just outside our room. It was also almost next door to Toma the # 1 ranked restaurant in Trip Adviser for Santa Barbara and we were able to easily make a reservation, relax in our room and walk to and from the restaurant

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danchel465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I visit Santa Barbara a couple of times a year and have stayed at a few hotels in this price range. Nothing compares to the West Beach Inn. Was renovated a few years back, is very tidy, and the hotel staff is always welcoming and responsive. A good value in SB.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NW_Fresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I must start by saying that Santa Barbara is a really expensive city (higher than SF), so it was extremely difficult to find a hotel very close to the beach for a decent price. My AAA discount made this a reasonable price, compared to others in the neighborhood. I have conflicting feelings about this property- the bedroom area was large, but the bathroom tiny; the bedroom nicely decorated & clean, the bathroom had broken bits, little place for toiletries and a tacky plastic blind; our ground floor room had chairs in the garden patio, but beyond the hedge we faced was a very busy street; the room was soundproofed well, but the air conditioner was noisy (we didn't feel safe leaving the sliding glass door to the patio open all night & the street would have been noisier). Still, this hotel has some real advantages- the convenience of an on-site laundry, free wifi, complimentary evening cheese & wine, a simple breakfast buffet, a warm outdoor pool and an incredibly helpful, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I am very picky about my hotels,but not OCD or anal about tile. When I go to an oceanfront property, I want an oceanfront room. These rooms are good size, clean, soundproof, with very comfy and clean beds. The big balcony overlooks the marina and beach. It also overlooks the street which is busy and noisy in the morning if you are like me, and want the slider OPEN. At night, there are birds that roost across the street and can be noisy. I tell you this to give you a heads up, that if you have issues with nature noises, bring earplugs, don't complain about it. Because other than that, it's so peaceful and relaxing here! The grounds are beautiful, 24 hr coffee and fruit, full continental breakfast, happy hour daily, wonderful pool and huge spa. The staff was accomodating. There were a few families there but I think it's better suited for adults.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms will be noisy in the morning,but worth it. I prefer 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsFoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
959 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#29 of 52 in Santa Barbara
387 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing