We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Beach Inn, a Coast Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marina Beach Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Beachside Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mason Beach Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ala Mar Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (546)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveller rating
225
240
56
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
240
56
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseacross the streetcontinental breakfastfree parkinggreat locationstate streetpool and hot tubmaster suiteharbor view roomevery eveningbagelsstay there againcrackersgarden patiothird floorwithin walking distanceturn down service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 546 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The hotel is well situated for beach walks and is a 15 minute walk to State Street.
We stayed for three nights and so chose a king room wit harbour view
The hotel is motel style and has a pool and Jacuzzi at ground level.
We were really pleased with our large and bright room. It made a great place to relax for three nights.
Glass doors opened up onto a large balcony with seats and a table. With the main road right in front and then views across to the harbour and to the pier. Its a good spot for sunset watching
The bed was one of the most comfortable on our trip. Though small the bathroom was well equipped with bath and shower and a console for holding all of your products.
There was a coffee maker and a lounge are with sofa for relaxing
The pool area seats around 10 on loungers with partial sun on late afternoon. From 5 the hotel offers cheese and wine
Car parking is free too
From this location you can hear the railroad
Breakfast offer is cakes and bagels, fruit and yogurt and I wished there was more space. You could choose to eat inside the lobby, in your room or on a couple of tables by the pool

Room Tip: Upper level gives the best Ocean views we stayed in 319
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Wonderful location directly opposite the beach and yachts but also just a nice distance away from the jetty and the hustle and bustle. Walking distance to everything! Room was adquate although nothing special. Tea, coffee, fruit available all day in reception was brilliant! Self-serve included breakfast was great with good choice and lovely to sit beside the pool. 5pm biscuits, cheese, fruit, wines, juice, tea or coffee was an extra very acceptable treat and again very relaxing enjoying by the pool and spa. Chocolates each evening on your bed also lovely. Free WiFi was good reception. Staff very welcoming and friendly and happy to assist with anything. Would stay again although cost was fairly high but may have been due to Summer Vacation time and extra inclusions made the cost acceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DreamsComeTrue2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I really loved it here. From the location, to the relaxed vibe, to the clean & comfortable room, I was really impressed & would definitely return. We were fortunate to get a free upgrade to a more spacious room with a balcony overlooking the pool & Santa Barbara's beautiful coastline but we'd have been happy enough without that. The complimentary breakfast was a nice touch. Free wifi always pleasing. Do check out the Italian restaurant next door too. Just a few steps away. For such a reasonable price this hotel was everything we wanted & more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beewestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, a Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your kind remarks! Guests do tend to mention our relaxed vibe - it's true, when you are on vacation we want you to be able to sit back, enjoy the property and surrounding areas and leave the housekeeping to us. Toma's, the restaurant you mentioned, is truly fantastic and we are thrilled that it is just steps away from our hotel. We look forward to your return visit when travelling through Santa Barbara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Our stay at this hotel was fabulous. The rooms, gardens, pool and hotel are so clean and beautiful. They have a welcoming wine and cheese at 5:00 everyday by the pool. They have coffee, tea and water out all day for your convenience. The continental breakfast is very good. This hotel is conveniently located across from the beach and walking distance to Stearns Wharf and to amazing restaurants. As well you can walk to State Street for all sorts of shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank all_I_want_is_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Lovely large room with view of the yachts. Able to do our laundry easily. Convenient having a free breakfast and an extra bonus of wine and cheese provided in the evenings. When I left something of value in the safe and phoned them they were very willing to post it to me at no charge. Also located next to the super Italian restaurant "Tomos". Free parking too.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Judi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews