We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The West Beach Inn in Santa Barbara is a well kept secret. It is on the
ocean and just down from the pier. On the weekends there is an art
sidewalk sale. It's great fun. My husband and I have been going to the
West Beach Inn since 2000. It is so quiet. A light breakfast comes with
your room and you can eat at the glassed-in pool area with a view of
the beach. You have to stay there once and you will be hooked too.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel and every room is darling. They have thought of everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    219
    53
    10
    13
See reviews for
114
262
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved this hotel. The harbour view from our room was sensational. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was very good, the only thing missing was yogurt. The pool and hot tub were relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel for R & R. The wine and cheese late in the PM is a great touch. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank SuzieQ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on route to San Francisco. We were upgraded to a larger room with a terrace on the ground floor.The bathroom is small but not a problem. They have everything you need and is extremely clean. Location is a 10 minute walk to the pier and 10 minutes to the harbour. There is a shuttle from the pier to state street and another which runs along the seafront. 50 cents per journey. The complimentary bfast was fine good, toast, boiled eggs, pastries, cereal. There is cheese and wine at 5pm which was a nice touch. The pool and hot tub area is lovely and well maintained. Parking was good right outside the room door for us. We used the coin operated laundry on site which was great as we had been travelling for more than a week and saved us trying to do bits of washing in the room. The staff are really helpful and pleasant. Love to go back.

Room Tip: A seafront room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallij2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Having travelled from the UK to LA we were ready to have a relaxing few days to get over our jet lag before traveling further. I had booked the West Beach Inn some months ago & I was happy with my choice. But as time drew nearer & the fact I had booked for friends as well as my husband & I, I was having some doubts. I needn't of had any concerns; the place is a haven, peaceful, even though on a main road. We had garden view rooms, immaculately kept gardens! Rooms very clean, modern, large, wonderfully comfortable beds. Nice pool, though small. Not too keen on the self service breakfast but there are plenty of places to eat close by. The hotel is situated across the road from the beach & the harbour, makes for nice early morning walks. Santa Barbara is a lovely tasteful seaside town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

The room was lovely , 2 huge queen beds , and we had a harbour view room .
The beds were sooooooo comfy.
The bathroom was strange , it had the coffee machine in the toilet ! Very strange .
The free wine and cheese was lovely , free tea and coffee too.
I wouldn't recommend the breakfast , as was dried and only toast or dried cakes .
The best place is 2 buildings to the left called Sambos the food is amazing and open at 6am.
Would I stay again , yes .

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseAhmadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Located across from the harbor, West Beach Inn is within easy access to much of Santa Barbara. Though they are an older property, like many others in SB, they demonstrate an attention to detail to maintenance and housekeeping: daily pool cleaning, not a blade of grass or flower out of place, and a second round by housekeeping to check bath linens and to leave chocolates on the pillows. Even in California, one must appreciate the almost instant hot water at the faucet and shower, even on the third floor. Though numerous travelers have expressed some sticker shock with Santa Barbara lodging, the West Beach Inn appears to be a value. If walking or cylcing around are not, the 50 meter Los Banos public pool is located across the street(open year for the non-SOCAL residents) for lap swimming.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
401 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We always stay here when we are in Santa Barbara. It has been getting a little dated, but they are making some improvements. YAY We were not able to use the pool and hot tub this time, so we were a little disappointed, but it is fixed by now. They did a resurface of the cement and it looks very nice.
We had great service and they offer Breakfast and a wine and cheese time in the evening. Very nice!!
They also offer an anniversary special with can save you some money. Ask them about it.
WE will stay here again. WE like it there. Close to the shuttles, Piers, Restaurants etc. You can take a shuttle up town. Very nice shopping area.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Harbor ,you will need to ask for a view room. Garden room is nice too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
734 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mason Beach Inn
Mason Beach Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Property: West Beach Inn
Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing