We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice independent hotel”
Review of West Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Beach Inn
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

A comfortable 2&3 story hotel right across from the beach, bike path, and a walk to State Street shops. Some rooms have water views, others enter from the courtyard and pool. Breakfast in the lobby won't fill you up, but afternoon wine and cheese are a nice offering if you aren't out enjoying all that Santa Barbara has to offer. Weekends require a 2-night stay in the summer, but West Beach Inn is a good place to enjoy Santa Barbara and worth the drive from LA.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view if you want it. There is a master suite with it's own entrance area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location, room and staff was excellent. We had a room facing the harbor and we really enjoyed our stay here. Big plus that they offer free continental breakfast, wine and cheese hour as well as free parking.

The hotel is also located right next to Toma Restaurant & Bar which is a great restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marius R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a great place. Beautifully comfortable bed, plenty of room, lovely toiletries in the bathroom and quiet. Loved the wine and cheese hour and free breakfast. And loved that it wasn't too far a walk to pier etc. this hotel is great value and I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground floor garden are quiet but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gundagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tstiff, General Manager at West Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review of our lovely Inn. We pride ourselves on keeping our property quaint and comfortable with all the added amenities free of charge, it's rare to find in this day and age. We hope you return to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed our final night in Santa Barbara at the West Beach Inn because we wanted to enjoy one night close to the beach. We had a garden view room with a queen bed on the ground floor. The bedroom and bathroom were both quite spacious, the chairs outside our unit were comfortable and we were fine with the garden view. The pool and hot tub were just a few steps away and we especially loved the cross the street proximity to the beach and shoreline walking trail. Other perks included complimentary parking, continental breakfast, wine and cheese reception. Enjoyed dinner in easy walking distance at The Lark (reservations needed) and many of the urban wineries. Staff members were nice. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed staying here since a 5 minute walk to whale watching cruises which were a daily event during the stay. Nice Happy Hour free wine plus cheese and crackers, refreshingly tasty lemon water in the lobby, free water bottles provided daily when room cleaned and mints at night. Light sleeper had no early bird or train noise problems unlike other reviewers mentioned. Luckily stayed here in Apr/May where prices were reasonable, whereas refused to pay the outrageously overpriced July 2014 rates when plan to return for the humpback whales-unjustifiable prices based on the fact the property is an Inn/motel not an upscale hotel, size of rooms, and amenities provided; so found another property further from the ocean but a very reasonable high season price. Free wifi provided consistent Internet access-no slow speed or connectivity problems and decent sized bathroom. Nice creature comfort-bathrobe hook on the back of the bathroom door so when one finishes with a bath or shower your robe is easily accessible. Continental breakfast was very basic but free. Spacious hot tub. Very poorly designed window A/C unit located directly in front of the drapes/blinds so forced to leave curtains open in the middle of the window while running A/C or the blinds would block air flow into the room. Would stay here again outside of the high season Ritz Carlton rates.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachandSail4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The West Beach Inn in Santa Barbara is a well kept secret. It is on the
ocean and just down from the pier. On the weekends there is an art
sidewalk sale. It's great fun. My husband and I have been going to the
West Beach Inn since 2000. It is so quiet. A light breakfast comes with
your room and you can eat at the glassed-in pool area with a view of
the beach. You have to stay there once and you will be hooked too.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel and every room is darling. They have thought of everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We loved this hotel. The harbour view from our room was sensational. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast choice was very good, the only thing missing was yogurt. The pool and hot tub were relaxing. I would highly recommend this hotel for R & R. The wine and cheese late in the PM is a great touch. We couldn't have asked for a better location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank SuzieQ333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
478 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#24 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
850 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Beach Inn

Address: 306 W Cabrillo Blvd, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3855
Region: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
#18 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: £135 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Beach Inn is nestled in between the beautiful Santa Barbara Yacht Harbor and historic Stearn’s Wharf along Cabrillo Boulevard. The hotel is centrally located, only a few blocks from downtown Santa Barbara and steps away from the many beaches, restaurants and shopping areas. Complimentary wine and cheese and a deluxe continental breakfast are offered daily in our sunny lobby alongside the heated pool and large luxurious spa. Guest laundry facilities and Complimentary parking are available to all guests. All rooms and suites are air-conditioned and include in-room safes, refrigerators, high quality bathrobes, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards, hairdryers, cable TV including HBO, desks and telephones equipped with voicemail and automated wake-up call services. Complementary High-Speed Internet is available property-wide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your West Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Beach Hotel Santa Barbara
West Beach Motel
West Beach Inn Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing