We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Montecito Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Inn At East Beach(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pacific Crest Hotel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Barbara Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Sands Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
405
30
22
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
405
30
22
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone housestonehouse restaurantoutdoor showerplow and angelthe cottagescreekside cottageroom serviceget away from it allgrounds are stunninglounge chairsfour seasonsprivate patiofitness centerromantic weekendthe pacific oceanturn down servicethe entire staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 480 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The SYR offers private cottages with wonderful outdoor showers and hot tubs. The grounds are beautiful with citrus trees and gardens set agains mountains with challenging hiking trails. The on property restaurants are very good dining options, and the location near Montecito and the Central Coast wine region is superb.

Room Tip: All the cottages are private and quiet. Citrus and Tangerine cottages offer a front porch with a view overlooking the gardens and the ocean and channel islands.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your wonderful description of our treasured property!

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

One of the most amazing hotels I've ever visited. My fiancee and I stayed in the Tangerine cottage which offers an amazing view of the ocean from the breakfast nook. The hotel and its clearly took pride in offering an intimate and serene experience. The king size bed was neither too soft nor too hard. The bathroom offers a deep soaking tub perfect for my fiancee. Despite being located adjacent to another cottage, the foliage surrounding the cottage offers complete privacy for us to take dips in the outdoor Jacuzzi. The service was impeccable even though the front desk mistakenly charged us for an extra in-room massage session and rose petals. I'd recommend hiking in the trails behind the property; the panoramic view from the peak is breathtaking. Wifi and in room snacks are complimentary.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Tangerine Cottage and were able to relax in comfort. We are fully committed to offering an unparalleled experience and always do our utmost to ensure customer satisfaction in every way.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The most lovely, luxurious accommodations I've ever had the pleasure of experiencing. I couldn't call it a hotel or a resort. San Ysidro Ranch goes beyond that. It is own animal in the world of hotels and resorts. Beautifully appointed rooms. Canopy beds and beautiful linnens. The most pleasant, efficient staff I have ever dealt with while staying away. The most beautiful property you could ever imagine, tucked away in the shade of beautiful oaks and ferns. Flowers, vegetable and herb gardens. Pergolas to sit under amongst the hydrangeas. More hummingbirds that I have ever seen in one place. This only partially describes the San Ysidro Ranch.

Room Tip: Any room you would be given would be lovely. The property is spread out so that you hardly see any other guests. Most likely, the rooms farther back on the property are quieter. They are certainly closer to that pool. There are rooms that face the creek and are in a shadier location, with fern lined paths. Also dreamy. You can't go wrong with any of the accommodations.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evely J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

The description of your recent stay at San Ysidro Ranch is an absolute pleasure to read. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are honored by the same. Our Gardens bloom year round, offering something new and beautiful at the turn of each season; we hope to have the opportunity to share more with you in the near future.

On behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The San Ysidro Ranch was on my bucket list; and our experience was everything I expected and more. My brother and I stayed in adjoining cottages (upgraded as we had booked through the Travel Office)) in August 2012 for 4 nights. One should not expect some of the amenities that have become standard at many hotels such as a fitness center that could accommodate a professional sports team, or 24 hour room service, or a seemingly instantaneous response to every request, etc. The hotel is spread out, covering a number of acres, most of them uphill from reception and the restaurants. If hummingbirds, butterflies, honeybees, masses and masses of every flower imaginable, quiet corners in which to sit and read or simply relax, adorable cozy cottages with private terraces housing Jacuzzis and showers just outside marble bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, delicious food in three venues, a sparkling pool, serenity and, certainly, a staff who demonstrated over and over again its commitment to service and to preserving the reputation of this legendary hotel, the San Ysidro Ranch should be on your bucket list as well. Everyone we encountered from the front desk staff, the gardeners, the valets, the housekeepers, waitstaff at the restaurants, pool attendants, etc. helped to make this a truly memorable stay, for all the right reasons. It was very reminiscent of the Hotel Bel-Air pre-evisceration. We loved very moment and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grania30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

We are honored you've taken the time to share the many highlights of your stay at San Ysidro Ranch. It is the common goal of the entire SYR Team to offer a memorable and wonderful experience each and every day. May we have pleasure of welcoming you back for yet another super experience in the near future!

On behalf of the entire SYR Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

After an exhausting night drive from pebble beach we arrived in the dark and couldn't appreciate what a beautiful place this was until the morning. However the morning came too soon when we were woken by construction work !! Breakfast is only served in the room but was really fabulous. It is a stunning property. We had to leave for LA early so we didn't get to see what else was on offer around the hotel. I think it's a wonderful honeymoon location and couple retreat and not entirely suitable for teenagers.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bkemsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanysidroranch, General Manager at San Ysidro Ranch, a Ty Warner Property, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

It is wonderful to learn of your decision to stay at San Ysidro Ranch during your recent travels through California. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a longer, more fulfilling stay in the future.

On Behalf of the San Ysidro Ranch Team

Seamus McManus
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews